Hello!! Steemians! This is my introductory post

Greetings!

I have been checking out steemit for the last week and finally decided to create an account. I am an American male, age 52 this year. I have a wonderful wife that I have had the pleasure to be married too for the last thirty three years. We have raised four kids in that time. They are all grown up and now on their own doing their own thing.

I have always been pretty much self-employed, I have always had that drive to work for myself and make my own way in life. Every once in a while I would need to work for someone else's company to get my next venture off the ground. But I have always did what was necessary to make sure my family was taken care of before I started chasing the self-employment train again.

My blog will mostly be about carpentry,....I'll try to stay away from politics as much as possible, and them pesky conspiracies that seem to be blatantly in your face now-a-days. But No Promises!

Hmm, Not sure if you want to know this or not but I'll tell you anyway. I have been a paperboy 4- 8 routes at age 10, Lawn mowing business from age 10 to 15 seasonal and snow removal during that same time for the winter months mostly by hand shovel and hand spread salt. I learned to use wood and metal hand tools from age 5 started using power tools at age 10 or so. I was always building something or taking stuff apart (which sometimes got me into hot water with my father). I have learned to use heavy equipment farm tractor, bulldozer, skid steer, track hoe, and many others, I was an over the road truck driver for a few years, that did not agree with me one bit. but forging on I am always looking for new stuff to learn and do. Aside from high school and a bit of community collage I am self tought in most things that where not covered in public schools.

Hobbies include but not limited too: Bee Keeping (this one might get me in trouble with the city council we will see once I get some bees. :-)) Hunting, fishing, trapping, camping, target shooting (steel, paper and sometimes live, NO! NO! NOT them, the four legged ones that climb trees and taste like chicken that are knee high to a grass hopper! SQUIRRELS! very tasty critters! ), horse back riding, Gun smiting, machining, wood turning, carpentry, metal casting!, OK maybe I should have just said everything? Well I hope you find my blog entertaining as well as informative. Be sure to follow @carpenterbee to stay notified of my next post.

Peace to all and have a great day!


@carpenterbee

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to Steemit ^_^

Welcome to steemit! I look forward to future posts about some of the topics you mentioned above, like bee keeping.

Thank you, I look forward to posting them :)

Very well written and informative post. Through experience the enjoyment and self satisfaction realized is worth all the hard work. Congratulations and welcome to the crowd. I'm sure you will have much to contribute. Good luck! Upped and followed.

I love that you're bring carpentry to the Steemit community. The more diversity here, the better. As a newbie myself, I intend to post about my journey as I begin developing documentaries on the empowerment of women around the world with the belief that men and women can stand strong together, but I'll also be posting fiction and topics of personal interest, like my family's connection to an infamous serial killer and a royal family. Lots of love, @aescholer

Thank you, I wish you all the best in your endeavors as well, did you have to go to a film school to do documentaries?

Very well written! I always like people who small like sawdust and raw honey. Makes me feel I'm among friends.

Will

Hi @carpenterbee . Carpentry is such an interesting and useful skill. i have followed you and am looking forward to seeing your future content. good luck here on #steemit

Thank you! and thanks for the follow, Followed back, steemit is so much better and easier then ....oh what is that popular bloging software ...Oh Wordpress! :)

you are most welcome:). definitely ! . wordpress is no where near as good as #steemit to use

Hello there @carpenterbee and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Which county are you in in which state that would have an issue with beekeeping?

Regardless, you're of a dying breed here in the states, and I'll bet that I'm gonna learn some great tricks from following your posts. So you are followed. Also, a resteem, since I think the skills you're going to share with us need to be spread around.

It is the township I live in that seems to have a problem with me, very clickish sort of like if your family name is not six generations from living in the township then your always treated with suspicion and sometimes outright hostility. first summer I lived in this town the council sent me a notice that the town ordinance requires the grass to be cut once a week. My thought was ???? Did i sign some kind of housing association contract? Im pretty sure i did not. . Thanks for the follow

Feel free to rant about your troubles here! Catharsis is good for the soul!
On that note, yeah. I've lived in those areas. It's weird, sometimes they're only a block or two large.

Anyway, if you've got pricks to worry about, maybe check out the youtube channel of Cody's Lab. Where he builds a stealth beehive!

I am subscribed to cody's channel he has all sorts of good information, the beehive inside the flower pot is a good one

Welcome to steemit! I'm looking forward to you posting some of your photos from your hobbies, especially the bees. Bees are super awesome. Honestly I'm a big fan of a lot of your hobbies so I'm sure you are going to have plenty of good photos and articles to post, I look forward to it.

Thanks! I'll post some photos soon im working on the profile photo, logo and sig photo at the moment, projects im working on at the moment is turning my basement into a wood shop that will be an on going series over time until it is complete. I hope you find it enjoyable.

I'm sure I will. I myself am a guy with a ton of projects going at the same time, it's the only time I feel alive. I think if I only had one thing to do I would be too bored to ever do it, so much easier to do a dozen things and barely ever have time! It's more fun that way.

LOL, yeah i seem to have way too many projects unfinished that need completing, so I made a priority list its a lot bigger then the hunny do list which is at the bottom of the priority list ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75