My introduction: Vegan writer and geek from Wales

FB_IMG_1511034675257.jpgHello, my name is Ceri Clark. I've been online for what feels like forever but I only found out about Steemit from a side hustle podcast while walking into my local town in Wales yesterday. So here I am, giving it a go.

According to the signup process I have to do an introduce yourself post. I would fill this post with pictures but let's face it, I'm not a model and I get v-e-e-r-r-y embarrassed taking photos in public and I would have to start doing this in the middle of McDonalds. I hadn't really planned this very well...

Who am I?
Like most people, I am a mixture of things. I started out as a Librarian and then moved into self-publishing too long ago. I have a BA in European Cultural Studies with Italian Studies, (who doesn't love the Italians?) and an MSc In Information Science and Library Studies .

Yeah, but who are you?
You got me, qualifications are a bit of a red herring. They don't define us and neither do our jobs. Am I a mother? Well, yes but I'm not going to define myself by my gorgeous. loving, adorable little boy. He's a part of me but not my identity. What about a wife? Well I did marry a while back (I won't say how many years ago, that just gives you an idea of my age). I am probably the worst wife in history.

"Where's my slippers and smoking jacket wife?"
“Back in the nineteenth century where they belong.”

My husband would never say that though. I absolutely love my husband and he is everything I ever wanted and ever will want. I was lucky to find him.

Since I’m not keen on the whole photograph thing without tons of makeup and probably a filter or two. To prove I am who I say I am, here’sa link to my Facebook author post mentioning I’m trying out Steemit.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1299228596847865&id=180795532024516

What do I like to do
As I mentioned further up the post, I love to write but I also like to read. I am reading, cough, Jack Reacher, cough, at the moment but that is not my usual reading fare. I absolutely love science—fiction and fantasy. That is what I like to read and generally what I write and watch on television.

My favourite shows are Stranger Things, Game of Thrones (later seasons), Star Trek Discovery and Lucifer. I have watched Dexter but the whole death thing gets a bit boring after a while and I kind of already heard how its going to end.
So my question really is, what kind of things do people want to hear about? I was thinking of serializing Accidental Immortal on here. It is the tale of a 20-something transported to a planet colonized by the ancient Egyptians. Would movie reviews play out well here? I found some great ones already and everyone has a different perspective on things. I’m going to ruminate on this some more.

I can’t write about cryptocurrency as to be honest all I have is less than a tenner’s worth of Bitcoin. I thought I’d dip my toes in the crypto waters and then I found about this social network. This sounds like a much more fun way of trying it out.

I digress slightly. I’ve realized I haven’t written anything about my books. What kind of author am I? Shocking. First thing I should have done is listed my books and gone, buy, buy, buy. Yeah, that’s not really me and probably most people will have given up reading at this point anyway so I’m just boring my husband whose going to proofread this for me now!

Fiction
I have written a few fiction books.
Children of the Elementi (Middle grade/YA fantasy novel)
Minkie Monster and the Birthday Surprise (Children’s puzzle/picture book)
Minkie Monster and the Lost Treasure (Children’s puzzle/picture book)
Minkie Monster Saves Christmas (Children’s puzzle/picture book)
Accidental Immortal (not published yet)

Non-fiction
A Simpler Guide to Gmail
A Simpler Guide to Google Drive
A Simpler Guide to Calibre

I’ve also done a few disguised password books. These are just books with spaces to fill usernames and passwords etc. but with covers that are made to look like novels or non-fiction books. There are Look insides on Amazon. For example, I have a Diesel Engine Repair Manual, a book on Secrets of the Freemasons and Meow-nificent Kittens – All password books.
An entrepreneur has to keep trying so I’ve done a couple of blank templated recipe books as well. These are for people to store their favourite recipes.

Anyway this post is me in a nutshell and if you read this far you deserve a medal and possible Steem sainthood (is that a thing?” 😊

For now that’s it, keep on steeming…

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @cericlark upvote :)

Lovely to meet you.

Welcome to steemit @cericlark. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cericlark to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you. This is very helpful.

Welcome to Steemit! Explore + enjoy :)

This is great. Much better than Facebook but don't tell them. ;)

Welcome and nice to meet you :)

Great to meet you too!

Welcome to the community! I look forward to reading your posts ; )

Welcome! You will love Steemit ;)

So far so good. I have a feeling it may become addictive!

Blank templated recipe books is a good idea actually!

Hi- and Welcome!

I never actually thought anyone would read it to the end! :) Thank you.

I read 95% of it jumping backwards and forwards! By the way, you look very pretty in your photo, you shouldn't be so embarrassed about photos, no need to be a model!

There's a tiny bit more to it than that though. I have very sensitive skin. My husband jokes i could burn in moon light! I started jogging a few months ago and that darned sun won't stay behind clouds - so rude. ;). I'm suffering a little from sunburn today (I'm allergic to sun screens). Thank you for the compliment though that picture took ages to do. :)

Ah ha ha - I see - baseball caps all the way I say!

Congratulations @cericlark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43