I decided to leave BPO industry: Self Introduction of a new Steemian!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Lets begin.

A week ago my younger sister asked me, how I was doing? Muscle memory let my type in the usual reply, “I’m doing great!”

Apparently, I was dumbfounded when I suddenly felt the pang of guilt as soon as I sent the reply to her.

Truth is, I am struggling to function lately.

Hello Steemians! I know I gave you a bit of a cliff hanger but before I tell you the rest of the story I would like to introduce myself and give you bits of me for now.

I’m Geraldine “Geri” Pajal, 30, and I’m from the Philippines. I breathe music with caffeine through my veins. Currently, I developed an interest in photography, radio entertainment and blogging. You may follow my instagram feed to see my recent activities here: https://www.instagram.com/cestlag25/

IMG_1957.JPG

I’m an Associate Computer Technology graduate at STI College General Santos City in 2008 and started my BPO Career as an outbound customer service representative in a small town called Davao City in 2009.

Courage to move.

Came 2010, I decided to brave the capital city and moved to Metro Manila. For a southern girl like me, it is indeed a big leap of faith as I was so used to live in the province. I’m practically born and raised there my whole life, and I don’t know how the big city life would welcome me. Scary, yes! But the said decision turned out to be the best. It took my career unto a higher notch, sent my sister to college and paid the bills. It’s worth the risk!

IMG_5523.JPG
My Dad and sister after the graduation program.

Over time I had the opportunity to work with two of the biggest call center companies namely, IBM Daksh Philippines and TELUS International Philippines. It wasn’t just work for me, it became my passion, my home and my playground that I enjoyed so much. I found a family within the people I work with and I couldn’t be happier without the love and support I get from them. But as the song goes,

"It's not always rainbows and butterflies."

- She Will Be Loved by Maroon 5

IMG_0959.JPG

Turn of events.

Seven years working on a grave yard shift took a toll on me. I’m ailing month on month and taking a week or two of vacation leave is no longer an option. Finally, my physician advised me to quit my job. It broke my heart when I heard him say that. I felt like a kid left by her mother on a kindergarten for the very first time. But I had to let go, I know for a fact that I would have to sooner or later. In November 24, 2017, I officially ended my contract with TELUS.

It’s been a couple of months now, and I am feeling better health wise. I admit there are still nights that I would stay up until the wee hours, just like now as I am writing this blog. And whenever I am thinking, there are times that I didn’t realize how time had pass. Body clock is indeed not that easy to change.


Funny moments with my grandmother and aunts

So far it’s been like an excursion for me. I was able to visit my home town in a very long time and bond with my friends outside work.

I also got the opportunity to join community services that I haven’t been able to do often, since my former work schedule won’t allow it. Idle moments are filled with social media, books, and streaming YouTube videos. I also managed to buy some time to binge watch my favorite shows in Netflix. Cool isn’t it?


Friendnap and chocolate night with my good friend Judy.


Repacking Relief Goods with MCGI - DSWD Volunteers.

Good things come to those who wait.

Although I was able to do more with the amount of availability I have right now, I couldn’t deny the fact that there’s still something missing. I know exactly what’s that is, and that’s what brought me here in Steemit!

Days ago when my sister asked me how I was doing, I felt guilty when I said I was okay. Simply because I am not being 100% honest to her. Apparently, she knows me enough and didn’t buy my response. She’s well aware that I’m somewhat struggling and whenever she sees me in this kind of situation for some reason she has something to offer!


My younger sister Gemma and I while roaming Intramuros, Manila in 2013

As much as the differences we have, we also share a lot of things in common, that’s why she knows exactly what I am going through. She said, “Sis, why don’t you go back in writing?” That hit me right on the spot. She told me about Steemit.com and explained how this platform helped some of her friends in Abu Dhabi.

The moment I found how cool this site is, I didn’t take too much time to think and signed up. The universe was so kind, that within just 5 days I got my Steemit account activated.

Excitement is an understatement that I couldn’t stop smiling to begin with. I don’t expect much, but I look forward for greater things. I’m positive that I would meet a new family here, starting with you who read this humbled entry until the very end.

Thank you and I hope you enjoyed my introduction.

Let me know in the comment section what you would like me to write about on my next entry.

Show me some love and follow me on my journey as I would to yours. Let’s call this our first day together then, Steemians!

Before I go, I would love to leave you with this inspiring message from God's love letter.

Romans 8:28
" And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose."

To God be the glory.

Ces't La G <3

Sort:  

Although I only skimmed through your introduction, the quote really caught my eye.

Good things come to those who wait.

It applies here on Steemit! Just keep on Steeming if after doing everything you can, you haven't got much success. It's a very good introduction by the way. Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for the inspiration and skimming through my introduction. I will surely keep on Steeming po :) Thanks be to God.

I am new here too, check out my intro and follow me please. Nice intro! I also found https://steemfollower.com/?r=12904 today which is an easy way to help you get upvotes.

Hello @byzantinehash, thanks for dropping by. It's fun to know newbies like me here. I will check the link you gave for sure. Appreciate it so much.
By the way I just followed you :)

Welcome to steemit
Awesome post you have the right vibes
There's so much prospect on this platform and so we would like to invite to our rapidly growing community @elitesteemians To Help you grow a follower base and get you up and going. You can also join our whatsapp group where we keep you updated on the best events on steemit. Link to group in bio.
Happy steeming.

Thank you so much, I would love to @elitesteemians

Hello @stevekelly, thanks for the information. I just did follow you and read your posts. I'm super excited that I did all the instruction to win your give away. I hope you can also follow me back :)
Thanks!

Welcome to steemit sis, enjoy posting your blogs and more followers to come.

Thanks be to God Bro. I'm enjoying your posts by the way. Keep on Steeming good content.

Welcome to steemit po sister

Thanks be to God po Bro :) I just followed you and read some of your posts. I'd say they are very interesting :)

welcome to steemit cestlag25

enjoy and happy steemit !!

Thanks for the warm welcome @lopezdecruz. I just followed you to show how appreciate your upvote and comment.

Welcome to ...

My name is @noisse, hopefully we could be good friends.

I've been vote best.

Thanks a lot new friend @cestlag

Thanks @noisse, I am positive we will be very good friends. You dropping by to leave a comment on this humbled post is more than enough. I really do appreciate you upvote.

Hello kabayan! Welcome to steemit! 😊

Kamusta @gwenbyyy, thanks for dropping by and for the warm welcome. Hope we follow each others page and be friends! Love lots :)

Welcome to steemit.. as I can see your a writer this platform is for you and pretty sure your on the right track.. keep steeming and good lack, enjoy your stay here and God bless

Yay! I'm working on it , thanks! It will be one big of ride, but I know I will enjoy it @roselyn028. I just followed your page though :) Thanks be to God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68609.44
ETH 3824.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63