Greetings, fellow Steemit users! This is Steemit newbie MK Chan, an ordinary local girl from Hong Kong.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemitizens!

I am thrilled to finally join this big community which @htliao has been nagging me non-stop about (Haha just joking). Big thanks to @htliao for introducing me to Steemit. I am super excited to launch my first post and to start sharing my life and experiences on this platform. My first post is to briefly introduce myself and hopefully get the chance to connect with those of you who are reading this right now. 😊

26167343_10154965609816691_5224838848666207810_n.jpg

My name is MK Chan. I am an ordinary 23-year-old girl from Hong Kong. In case anyone was wondering, ‘MK’ does not mean that I am a fan of the designer brand, rather they stand for the initials of my Chinese first name. ‘MK’ is also a Cantonese slang with a negative connotation, referring to young people who are materialistic and blindly follow the latest trends and tend to hang around in Mong Kok, one of the busiest and most crowded areas in Hong Kong. That’s why some of my friends thought it would be funny to give me this nickname as a joke.

19030555_10154452251326691_7989235032144023010_n.jpg

I majored in psychology and sociology in my undergraduate studies, and I will be starting work as a local English teacher in September. I may teach Visual Arts, Mathematics and General Studies as well in the future.

Photo 21-11-2017, 5 09 37 AM.jpg

I have just stayed in Edinburgh, UK at a homestay for a month and a half for an immersion program a few months ago. I will write more about this travel experience and others in detail in later posts.

20663948_10154630936306691_4743796319846218930_n.jpg

As I said, I am an ordinary local girl who enjoys simple things in life. This will be a platform for me to post about bits and pieces of my daily life, including, restaurant/TV drama and movie recommendations, travel experiences, daily conversations with my siblings (I have 2 brothers and a sister!) and many more. I would also write about topics of my interest like psychology, sociology and education, as well as daily encounters, as I embark on my journey as a teacher.

18765820_10154409944871691_3831281808612495439_n.jpg

Thank you for your patience in reading through my whole introduction. I hope this has helped you learn more about me (maybe just 10% of who I am haha).

Stay tuned and follow me to explore life and culture in Hong Kong through the lens of an ordinary local girl.

Please Upvote and reply so I can get to know you too! :D

Love,
MK Chan <3

Sort:  

Welcome to Chan :)
Nobody is ordinary, everbody is special in some way. I am sure you will have to tell your own story! :)
Resteeming you for some exposure!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Welcome to steemit, hope you find a rewarding and supporting community!

Thank you @raybilson! I will try my best to contribute to this community too!

Welcome ! I hope you have fun on Steemit! :)

Welcome to the platform @chanmk..very nice pictures.have fun and enjoy ur stay!:) I just followed you. Pls follow back.😉

Thank you @annalorin28 for the compliment! :D Nice to meet you and I have just followed you too.

Welcome and good luck here!

Welcome to Steemit @chanmk! I love your photos, thank you for sharing them. I believe you're going to love it here on Steemit. You have many things that you can share with all of us, and I'm looking forward to knowing more about you through your posts.

I would also like to invite you to the join the Discord servers that will further help you grow as a Steemian, as well as help you build relationships with a lot of people. So please click the banner to join:

evlachsblog5.gif

rsz_1rsz_steembulls.jpg

Thank you and I wish you all the best!

Thank you @evlachblog for the warm welcome! I will definitely check out the Discord server you suggested!

You're not ordinary at all! You're a super-special person that I feel will have a lot to offer during your journey on Steemit. I give you a hearty, happy WELCOME! :)


source

Thank you @evernoticethat for the WELCOME mat. Haha I can feel you are humorous and warm too! I will work hard to contribute more to the community!

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Thank you @freebirdkhushboo ! Best wishes to you too! :)

Hi MK, welcome to Steemit. Perhaps you have a lot of questions about Steemit and the best answer is from reading the Steemit Official website - Welcome & FAQ Page.

Hong Kong is a crowded place to live in. We love to see some of your journeys here too especially someone like you who able to write in English sentences so well. 😆

Have fun learning and share your experiences in Steemit. Cheers!

Thank you @legendchew ! I have to admit I do need some time to familiarize myself with Steemit functions. I will definitely check out the FAQ page you suggested.

Also thank you for the kind compliment and encouragements! I hope I can contribute to the Steemit community too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61