Chef - Entrepreneur - Engineer, Teaching a new generation to cook

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Yeah, teaching people to cook. Sounds weird, doesn't it?

Hey, thanks for looking at my 'introduction' post, I appreciate you taking some time out of your day.
I'm Keith, a man on a journey to get people into the kitchen, and cooking from basic ingredients. Somewhere in the last 40 years, we seem to have stopped teaching our children to cook. Feeding them processed food that just needs to be warmed up in the oven, or even the microwave. Unfortunately, those people now have children of their own, and they can't teach their children to cook because they don't know how!

IMG_0575.JPG

I've been cooking since around the age of seven, so getting on for 50 years. I taught all four of my children to cook, bringing them into the kitchen regularly, starting with baking then moving on to proper meals, keeping it fun. I also taught quite a few of their friends that they brought home, and this made me realise how little their own parents were showing them. My children now have children of their own, and they can all cook too.
So I've set up a website to teach people how to cook great food themselves, in their own kitchen. I'm currently filming the content for a membership where I teach the skills needed in the kitchen, and dishes you can cook using the new skills you have just learned. There's a link here if you want to take a look, but that's up to you.

Well, if you've got this far, then you won't be surprised to learn that most of my posts will be about cooking. Not all, but most. There are other subjects that I'm passionate about - I love reading and listening to music, especially the latest chart music. So you might possibly see a book or album review from me too.

Tell me, what experience do YOU have with cooking?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @chefkeith! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Wow, when I was 7 years old I don't even know how to boil water but you during that time knows how to cook different dishes, that's amazing to know! =)
Welcome to steemit more recipes to share and good luck @chefkeith. =)

Welcome to Steemit! What you do is very noble. Teaching people preparing a meal reaches beyond just the full tummy. They will understand that it matters what they eat and will also appreciate food more. When you do something with your own hands and devote time to it you also appreciate it more. In that way also confidence grows. I'm passionate about food and really enjoy discovering new flavours. The photography is my darlings passion and on our travels we combine those two very often. Feel free to check our page maybe you'll get inspired for new recipes 😉

Thanks for stopping by. I will certainly check out your page, I'm always in the market for new recipes and ideas :)

Welcome mate, I look forward to seeing some basic (very basic!) tutorials :-)

Thanks for stopping by Nathen, just posted a simple recipe on dtube :)

Cooking since age 7! Wow that's impressive. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube, Dsound, and DLive as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55