Full Steem Ahead!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Pleased to meet you!

Yours truly doing research in
Port Penn, Delaware
I’m Cynthia Heider, a student in the Public History M.A. program at Temple University in Philadelphia. I’m gearing up to #explore1918 on Steemit for the next few months in conjunction with other historians in my #philly5151 graduate course. I’m interested in urban history, the Progressive Era, and digital initiatives in history and the humanities- so using Steemit as a platform to explore these topics is right up my alley.

I only recently came up to Philadelphia after living about a decade in Baltimore, where I earned my B.A. in history from Goucher College. Sometimes I feel like I’m still getting to know the city, and I’m looking forward to sharing some of the bits and pieces of Philly’s rich history that I unearth along the way.

Broadly, I’m interested in issues of access and inclusion, and I believe that public history is a public service. I think that technology has great potential to change the way we think about and create history. Previously, I’ve applied this theory in work experience in a number of public archives and history non-profits. I currently do fun things with data as a digital projects assistant at the American Philosophical Society’s Center for Digital Scholarship.

Digitizing postal records for an
open data project at APS

My thesis research centers around the settlement house movement in Philadelphia, and will feature a history project in partnership with the Lutheran Settlement House in the Fishtown neighborhood. In my free time I enjoy things like including craft beer, cats, skee ball, hiking, and British crime television, and I blog sporadically at cynthiaheider.com.

100% of the SBD rewards from this #philly5151 post will support the Philadelphia History initiative @phillyhistory. This crypto-experiment is part of a graduate course at Temple University's Center for Public History and is exploring history and empowering education to endow meaning. To learn more click here.

Sort:  

Good luck on your project and welcome to steemit :)

It's so beautiful to have you here on steemit. I took time to come welcome you and I know you will love it here. Welcome to our family. @greatness96

Welcome! Looking forward to all you come up with given your interest in the Gilded Age!

Thanks! You know what I always say: All 1918, all the time!!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

intresting background! Welcome to our world

Hello @cheider welcome to the world of steemit :)

Nice to meet you @cheider🙃
Welcome to Steemit!
Try to get a profile picture!
Take one from Instagram using my post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@heiner/how-to-use-a-steemit-profile-picture-from-instagram

Nice to see you found your way to Steemit! So, welcome aboard and enjoy your stay! Already waiting for your next story!

And for your information, we made a dedicated notification app, called Steemify, we as @blockbrothers build this app. Just download it for free and never miss out on any notification!

Download Steemify Here:

And while you're on it, me and my fellow blockbrothers are also a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71