STEEMIT from Cambodia & my message to other developing countries

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


STEEMIT from Cambodia & my message to other developing countries
 

I have taken this picture and written this article on the 14th of July. Unfortunately, my account was hacked, and I had to wait more than a full week to post it. In the meanwhile, I’ve encountered some interesting articles from other people in developing countries. A good example is the article about a person in Africa who was living on 1 dollar a day, and has now earned 41,319 dollars by using STEEMIT. I’m happy to learn how STEEMIT has such a positive impact on some people’s lives in developing countries. This has convinced me even more to post the article.  

So hereby I’d like to greet everyone on STEEMIT from Cambodia. And as to be a real STEEMIAN, I would like to introduce a bit about myself, and then offer a few reasons why I believe STEEMIT is good for Cambodia and other developing countries.   

  Introduction 

My name is Chhay. I have been living for the past 8 years in Cambodia. Before coming to Cambodia I used to live in The Netherlands for 17 years. I like Cambodia in the sense that there’s a lot of freedom and that it’s much easier to start a small business here compared to The Netherlands. A few things I don’t like about the country are the bad traffic and the sometimes reckless driving behavior of the people here.
My two favorite sports are soccer and boxing. I love doing this so much that I’ve set a special goal for myself. My goal is to become one of the best football players in the country this year, and hopefully to be able to join the national boxing team of Cambodia next year.  

  
Reasons why I think STEEMIT is great for Cambodia 

The last few years I have noticed an explosive adoption rate of smartphones in the country. The smartphone usage has gone mainstream and people here too are now using Facebook, YouTube and taking selfies everywhere. I am optimistic about this as I think it allows people to have easier access to information and make them more up to date with the world. And now with STEEMIT, the concept of accessibility to information can be brought to a next level. 

1) STEEMIT GIVES EVERYONE A FAIR CHANCE. A young talented student living in a village located far away from Phnom Penh can join the community and start earning money. A few dollars can mean a lot for some of them. If they are talented enough to produce content that other people like, they can earn relatively big rewards. The playing field at STEEMIT is open for everyone. Anyone, in any environment, and in any location can compete fairly in posting and curating.   

2) STEEMIT INCREASES PEOPLE’S CREATIVITY. The increased connectivity of people will result in more knowledge transfer. The more accessible information is, the higher the rate of creativity. When people get exposed to information it will let them think, play, reflect and reuse it for more creative ideas.   

3) STEEMIT TO HELP BOOST THE LEVEL OF EDUCATION. The increased sharing of content will boost the exchange of knowledge. And when exposed to more diverse information, people think and reflect on issues they formerly never have got into contact with. This will make them more knowledgeable and potentially smarter. They will also be more up to date with social, political, cultural, economic and scientific events. They have a reason to look over articles due to the financial rewards that may be relatively huge for Cambodians.  

THE MOST IMPORTANT REASON:   
4) STEEMIT LETS PEOPLE EXPLOIT THEIR OWN TALENTS. Because of the unique rewarding system, it gives people incentives to exploit their talents and share it around the world. I consider exploiting talents as one of the most important things today. Talents are crucial in offering solutions to humanity’s many problems.  


After being on STEEMIT for just over a week (now over 2 weeks), I have found it very addictive. A huge trend can be easily set and just like Facebook, Cambodian people can adopt it in a very short time. The barrier of entry is very low as people can join it with just a few clicks by using their Facebook account.  

So to other developing countries: “Hop on the road and let the STEEMIT-revolution begin. “    

    

Sort:  

Keep making Cambodia an amazing place. You are the generation that together will make the country great again. More power to you!

Welcome to Steemit @chhayll !

Cambodia is in a really nice position right now, as you said, the rate at which Cambodians are getting connected is through the roof, and business opportunities are also on the rise.

I have a friend living in Siem Reap that opened a coworking space a few years ago that regularely has seminars to help young Cambodians reach their goals up to their potentials and have a space to work and collaborate with others. http://angkorhub.com/ .

Keep up the good work, and good luck with your football and boxing dreams !

Steem on ! :)

Its nice to hear you are familiar with the country. The country is changing in a fast pace. And I hope because of social media people here can learn from other people in the developed countries. Connectivity can have an immense impact.

Social medias and access to news, education materials, and access to online ressources brings alot of hope and possibilities this new generation of future entrepreneurs, as it gives them access to business opportunities that just never had before. The "digital nomads" concept is still in it's infancy, but no doubt in a few years we should see this potential truely explode.

I agree Steem definitely has the ability to empower people in other developing countries. I think over time this is why we need to add a language feature or many various instances of the site so people can interact with their own people and language.

I agree. Different languages would be really great for Cambodia. At the moment it's really hard to find good content in Khmer language

Great post mate :) I hope you get as many upvotes as possible :)

It's wonderful to have people from all over the world. Do spread the message - would love to see more people from Cambodia on Steemit!

I visited a few years ago. Angkor Wat was truly mesmerising. One of the best experiences of my life!


"You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough." -- Mae West

Welcome to steemit! Have been living in Cambodia for the past two​ years, so who know we might bump into each other! Happy steeming :-)

Hello Amy. That's nice to hear. Maybe we might indeed bump into each other. It's a very small world.

I sure is! Def give us a shout if you happen to be in SR!

It's nice for you to join us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71249.51
ETH 3815.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41