Post #1 - Hi I'm Christina!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I checked my email every day for two and half weeks to see if Steemit had emailed me. My sister @laurascarborough had told me about it. Actually, she raved about it.

“I’m inspired again Christina, this thing is gonna blow up, it’s such a supportive community, I love it, I mean, I need to post more, but you need to get on there, seriously”

And man she amped me up! Every day I didn’t get the Steemit email I thought,

“When I finally get my account, I’m gonna write about this, and this, and I’m so gonna write about that one time…”

And then, it happened. I got my account up and running, I wrote down my password key in a gazillion different places, and then I -

I froze. Umm.. all that talk, and now it’s time to actually post, and…what was I so excited about again?

You see, our minds can be our greatest enemy. We plan and plan and plan, and we wait for perfection, until the opportunity is gone, and we’ve missed our chance, and all that planning for perfection was a waste of time. I really admire the people that DO more than they THINK. Life is about doing..life doesn’t happen in our paranoid minds.

So here is my less than perfect #introduceyourself Introduction:

Hi :) I’m Christina. I’ve been told that I’m too nice. I’m a girl. I’m American Indonesian, and my accent comes out when I drink. I’m a content creator. Yeahhh that sounds kind of douchey, but it’s so much easier than saying I take pictures, I make videos, I write, I sing, I record, I share. In sum, I create ze content. I live in Austin, TX, and the other half of my heart lives in Indonesia, my home.

To all my Indos, apa kabar! Ternyata banyak juga orang Indonesia di Steemit. Maaf sebelumnya bahasa saya kurang lancar, kelamaan di Amrik hehehe, tapi saya senang bisa ketemu komunitas Indonesia disini.

Back to the content creation stuff - I want to share a realization I’ve had about what it’s like to be a creative.

Sometimes, I don’t now what the fuck I’m doing in life. I’m pretty sure I should be on my second husband and making passive income on several properties by now, but I’m not. I should be helping my family, I should take care of my appearance, I should do..yoga? I guess?

The one thing I do know, is that when I’m taking someones portrait, when I’m sitting down to edit, when I write creatively, and when I sing, I FEEL GOOD. There is a certain zen I feel that doesn’t stem from logical analysis. It’s deeper, it’s spiritual. It’s the root of my purpose in this world, despite not having any reasonable backing. It’s the stuff that bankers and employers and haters don’t want you to believe in, because it has become so ridiculous to think that you can actually survive in this world by doing what makes you happy.

When nothing makes sense, you have to take that plunge and be real with yourself and ask: Does this feel good? The why’s and the how’s come later - those are distractions.

Have you guys experienced something similar? What makes you feel good?

Also, this is me taking a selfie when my friends were getting married >
SI_20170719_224515.jpg
Because, is there ever a wrong time to take a good selfie?

Sort:  

Congratulations ! Welcome to STEEMIT! It's an awesome community. i hope you go enjoy here. keep it up. Best of luck

thank you so much :)

Very warm welcome to you @christina-indino. It's great to see writers with quality content join Steemit. I hope you enjoy it here and I hope we can share quality content together! :)

Alright! Glad it finally came in! Great start! Following you and @laurascarborough now!

Thank God you made it here! Welcome here in Steemit @christina-indo!

Also do I, hahaha Goodluck to both of us!

Hi there!!!
Welcome to Steemit, and enjoy the amazing community that share experience and knowledge.
Hope you bring a plus for steemit and go with the flow!!

Thank you so much, learning so much everyday also by being on the Discord chat :)


Welcome to Steemit @christina-indo!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

welcome and wish you all the best

A very warm welcome to you, @christina-indo! You are exactly the type Steemit needs - a content creator, who loves doing what she's doing. On behalf of all of Steemit - it's great to see you here! :)

Thank you for the kind words @jibspark so glad to be here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64