Hey everyone! I'm here to talk cryptocurrency, writing, cooking, and gaming (in that order)steemCreated with Sketch.

Hi everyone! Glad to finally be on Steemit.

I'm C.M. Shigeta but you can call me Chris. I'm based in California where I work as an analyst at a startup. I'm joined by my two best friends, woman and dog.

(that is the dog)

One of my key tenets in life is to have a rounded and fulfilling set of interests in order to say happy. Of course, that means putting some things down in favor of others, but right now I'm focused on what's listed in the title above. I won't put up a wall of text here, just a line or two for each :)

Cryptocurrency

I've been following crypto (beginning with Bitcoin, of course) from a distance since I first heard about it in relation to Silk Road. I wasn't sure it'd stay around but I was definitely curious. I remember trying to see if my laptop would mine any significant amount and the answer was obviously that it wouldn't.

I was fortunate enough to have been taught a good deal about investment by some really smart and capable people. These are people I'd be humbled to be in a room with, and I'm incredibly grateful for the knowledge and wisdom they imparted on me. And so it's from a more traditional equities / hedge fund angle that I've viewed cryptocurrency, and I'm really excited about being in a new asset class.

It feels like the right time for me to get in given the growing interest of "Big Money" and the rapidly increasing presence of regulations. I will be posting analyses of various tokens and cryptocurrencies. I imagine they'll be something of a 3:1 ratio of fundamental to technical analysis.

Writing

I'm working on a dark fantasy novel, but I don't like talking about works-in-progress. It feels narcissistic and counterproductive to me. Plus, until it's finished and polished, you have no reason to care!

Cooking

My grandmother ran a Japanese restaurant for a number of years, but I grew up eating Philadelphia junkfood. David Chang talks about "upscale low-brow" or something like that, and that sums it up pretty nicely. My specialties are gyoza and chicken katsu.

Gaming

I like to challenge myself, I did the Dark Souls things for a while. Lately it's been a lot of PUBG (mostly duos with a synergetic childhood friend) and Total War: Warhammer. I don't talk about this quite as much - as I get older I am trying to allocate my time more wisely than playing Halo 3 until that same hour of the morning like I did as a teenager.

Anyway, that's all for now. I promised I'd keep it brief. There'll be more content from me soon, looking forward to talking to everyone!

Sort:  

Hi Chris, and Welcome to Steemit.

Good to read your well-written intro. With posts of similar (or higher) quality, you'll surely find an audience and followers on Steemit.

Also, you various interests will prove to be good resources for your input. As long as you are passionate about what you post, you will be successful ... eventually.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks for the tips, the first is actually surprising. I've always been taught to write concisely, but I suppose longer post = more total value. And value is what brought me here :) Thanks for the awesome welcome and helpful tips. See ya around!

Hey, glad you like them. Yes, I agree the first is surprising, particularly consider the Tweet limit and the emphasis on brevity in other social media.

Here's another surprise.... Short posts can be more lucrative at times. Case in point: Months ago, I made several very long photo diaries, with a decent balance of text and photos, and they earned me minimal rewards. So I stopped posting such.

A few months later, I started posting into photo contests, just one photo at a times. They not only provide more exposure and more followers, they also turned out to earn me more rewards than my longer diaries.

(Of course, I had powered up, and I now have more followers, but it's clearer that, in certain cases, SHORTER posts may be more lucrative.)

Here are some photo contest links;
... @photocontests ... by @juliank

... #tepchallenge ... by @theexplorer


Welcome to Steemit @cmshigeta!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey, thanks, this was super useful.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and cool.

Did you choose the nickname, or did it choose you?

Welcome to Steemit. Always glad to welcome another writer.

Thank you! I'm a bit more in crypto mode until my first draft is finished, but then you'll see a good deal of me (for better or worse!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73