Steemit is getting cocktails!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

If you like drinking cocktails, you're going to love this!

submissiondraft.jpg

I'm Lachlan Gunner and I like to mix drinks. So much in fact, that at the start of last year I left my hometown in search for the vibrancy and inspiration that I would need to focus on mixing drinks full time. For me, the answer to this search was sunny Sydney, Australia.

With my girlfriend Zoe, we left with only half a shipping container of our belongings and a little bit of savings. Fast forward one year and I feel like I've lived a whole lifetime. I decided in one moment to enter as many cocktail competitions I could in that one year and see what would happen!

zoe.jpgme and Zoe out apartment hunting

To do this, I needed work. My one friend that already lived in Sydney introduced me to her bar friends at a cocktail bar in Darlinghurst called Della Hyde. I began working there after meeting the team and the bar's mission to create a new cocktail menu every month. In the 7 months I worked there I contributed to a number of cocktails on the menu and developed lots of friendships.

I entered a total of 13 cocktail competitions over the last year and I was lucky enough to make it through a significant portion of a handful of global competitions. Highlights from this were travelling to Amsterdam to compete in the 2017 Libbey Glassware design competition and also winning the Chairman's reserve ultimate Mai Tai competition 2017 (link: http://www.cocktailsandbars.com/the-winner-of-chairmans-reserve-mai-tai-competition-2017/)

chairman.jpg
photo from Chairman's reserve competition, what a happy chappy!

amster.jpg
Me at Schichipol Airport, Amsterdam for the Libbey Glassology design contest.

My life has once again moved in a new direction. My love for mixing drinks has made me look at my future and where I see my passion taking me. The last years' experience has taught me that mixing drinks well is a gateway to pursuing the next logical step – to design and open my very own cocktail bar!

I spent a lot of time researching the methods and requirements to do this and found a whole plethora of business related concepts I'd first need to understand before I could even think of opening my own bar. I understand a lot of these concepts but at the end of the day, beyond finances holding me back, there's formal experience in managing and promoting a brand that I need to prove to myself that I can do.

bar.png
My cocktail bar plans (confidential of course!)

In November last year, I took a new job with a promising group called 8 hospitality. It was my opportunity to jump back into management and my plan would be to become a General Manager for one of their venues. In the meantime, I would work as a roaming manager between there most successful 3 (they have 4).

mixing.png
me and the general manager of Grandmas bar mixing up a good time (I'm on the right)!

Only just a month ago they saw my potential with the group beyond just being a general manager that takes care of the in-house operations and finances, although I would love formal experience in that area. They saw my experience and success in cocktail competitions and have recently discussed with me about becoming a brand ambassador for the company. I would be responsible for getting heads in the venues by pushing my personal brand, and therefore their brand, in the industry. It's a great opportunity and really helps me understand how to promote a brand whilst also giving me options to create a personal audience from which I might be able to work off of when I do decide to open a bar one day.

Working across three venues is great for a number of reasons. One of those reasons is tips. After a few months of saving my tips I found myself depositing $420 in cash into my account. I know I wanted to do something worth investing with this 'free money' and since I genuinely considered it free money, I was willing to be a bit risky with it. That’s how I jumped into the world of crypto currency. Although never having made a single trade up until this point I came across Steemit when watching one of @JerryBanfield informative tutorials on the platform (thanks Jerry!).
I couldn’t resist the temptation of signing up. Actually I haven’t completely signed up yet at the time of writing this! I was so excited to get on board with steemit that I applied for my account then quickly jumped into a word document to get my profile ready ahead of time!

proof.jpg
I still can't believe I got an @cocktail username!

So here we are! I love mixing drinks and I plan on doing this in text and on camera for you as often as I can (hopefully daily). My favourite part about making drinks is creating new ways the incorporating strange flavours into the cocktail, so I'll probably post lots of that! I also like creating new things, I might create posts about brewing a beer with no equipment or making a gin! The possibilities are endless!

If you want to stay up to date, give me a follow and maybe even leave a suggestion below on what can be one of the first things I can make! Your favourite cocktail perhaps?

My username is @cocktail and my Instagram is www.instagram.com/lachiegunner

Until then –

Lachie.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @cocktail!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit, cocktail! Best wishes for a great journey here in this awesome community :) Enjoy the friendship!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @cocktail!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2354 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

@cocktail, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

@introduce.bot do you have a favourite cocktail?

Really digging the bot love! Keep it up!

Thanks for the vote @kingkong1 !

Hello! Welcome. I love cocktails... I invite you to our discord chat. Together we help each other get to the top of steemit. https://discord.gg/JbGbP8D

Hello @cocktail! Welcome and congratulations on making your first post!!

Congratulations @cocktail! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99