From New Zealand to Spain

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

DSC_0220.JPG

Found a friend to wait with while I wait for my coffee

A bit about me:
Hello Steemians! I am new to Steem and after doing some reading I found that the first thing to do is introduce yourself to the community. My name is Conrad and I am 30 years old (just! My birthday was last week….). I am originally from New Zealand but have recently moved to Spain with my wife to embark on new adventures teaching English and exploring the big wide world!

13754562_10154361699682743_885684137955918347_n.jpg

Christchurch, New Zealand - such a beutiful place!

Moving to Spain has been eye-opening as New Zealand is very secluded and I haven’t been able to travel a lot before this. Since moving to Spain about 4 months ago we have visited Morocco (Sahara desert trip!), Denmark for new years, England and done some travel around Spain. We bought a van here and have had fun learning to drive on the right side of the road (in New Zealand we drive on the left side!). Any recommendations for places to visit in Europe would be appreciated!

DSC_0099.JPG

Although we came to Spain with very little Spanish we are picking it up quickly through language exchange with some of the locals. It has been a very testing time trying to set ourselves up without speaking the local language (especially because we are in a small village in Galicia where not a lot of people know English).

21762502_10155806883947743_9050850983645841747_o.jpg

Home away from home, Galicia, Spain

My career
Before moving to Spain I studied marketing for around 6 years and completed my Masters. Upon finishing and looking for a real job I realised that sitting behind a desk all day didn’t suit my personality. After around 6 months of not being happy and uncertain what I wanted to do with my life I decided I wanted to retrain and become an Early childhood teacher (ECE) (being a male ECE teacher in New Zealand is very rare with around 2% of the working population being male). I was lucky to find a great supportive centre to work in after graduating and enjoyed every moment of it, working there for just over two years. It is a privilege to be a male ECE teacher and I feel lucky that I have found a career that I really a passionate about.

Music I’m listening to right now – Wilkinson, Parov Stelar, Grammatik, Black Label Society
Next live gig I will attend – Black Label Society, Spain, March
Book I’m currently reading – A delusion of Satan: The full story of the Salem witch trials by Frances Hill
Podcasts I listen to – Reply All, Note to Self, Criminal, Weekly poker hand with Jonathan Little, Dirty John
TV Shows I enjoy – Orphan Black, Grace and Frankie, The end of the F**king world, Black Mirror, Grimm, True Blood, Friends

13221445_10154204315377743_6875976776716435252_n.jpg

Being a bit of a bogan in my youth it was a sad day when my Ozzy Ozbourne shirt finally ripped after 10 years. RIP

What will I post?
Through Steemit I aim to share a variety of posts about my variety of interests which include music, podcasts, reading, healthy lifestyle (gym, healthy eating), cryptocurrency, travelling and culture. I want to generate and create discussions about these topics through content creation.

As I mentioned I have keen interest in technology and cryptocurrency (although not invested currently as all my spare money goes towards travel!) and this led me to stumble upon Steemit. I also introduced and inspired my brother @ronanmason to learn more about crytpocurrency and start investing so I can keenly follow his investments and future fortunes 😀😀.

Sort:  

Hi there @conradt welcome to steemit and belated happy birthday, I wish that you had a great time during your birthday. =)
Welcome to steemit and I heard Spain is a nice place to visit. =)

Thanks for dropping by :) Yes Spain is wonderful we are here for atleast 2 years so we will get to see alot of the country

Welcome to Steemit @conradt!
I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have. @bycoleman

Thanks ! So far I am finding it very informative and interesting 🙂🙂

I've have always been fascinated by NZ. It just looks so incredibly beautiful. Not sure about the earthquakes though.

Check out my blog, I have some great pointers for getting started.

Yeah it is a very beutiful place lost of mountains and lovely beaches - so much to see in such a small country! I have just followed your blog!

Someday I'm going to take this kind of trip. NZ is on the list.
Thanks for the follow!

There is a contest on our site that ends in a few hours. It is for real and no strings attached. All proceeds are donated back to the contestants.

https://steemit.com/steem/@bycoleman/marketing-experiment-for-business-sector-resteem-this-post-for-a-chance-to-win-100-sbd-all-upvote-proceeds-donated

Welcome!

I wish you all the best.

Feel free to check out my blog for crypto news. Follow @maxdigi.
This way we can support each other in the future.

Cheers
maxidigi

Thanks! I am still new to this so just getting my feet wet and learning what its all about. It seems like a nice community and has some excellent content :) I will check out your page

GREAT first post Conrad! And thank you for getting me into Crypto it's been a fascinating journey and I've only made small amount (so far!).

Well, as I don't know where you're living in spain, I recommend visiting Valencia. I was there two weeks ago and it was so beautiful!

Germany: Berlin, Munich, Hamburg – maybe also Cologne, Düsseldorf
Belgium: Brussels, Liège
Netherlands: Amsterdam
France: Paris (though I haven't been there yet)
Czech Rep.: Prague
Italy: Venice, Rome

I could add many more cities but I hope this is some starting inspiration for you to get to know Europe.

By the way: Do you already know Ryanair? They have really cheap flights in Europe! :) And for finding accommodations I use Booking.com (This is a referral link. If you use it, we both get 15€ discount on our next trip) :)

Awesome thanks!!! We are in galicia which is the opposite side of Spain from Valencia but we have family nearby so we plan on visiting at some point.

We are planning a trip to prague and poland for easter and were off this Sunday to Tenirefe for carnival!

Yeah we have been using Ryanair they certainly are cheap.

Oh, that sounds great :) I finally want to visit poland this year. Where do you plan to go? Warsaw?

Sometimes when Ryanair is too expensive, I use momondo to compare prices with other airlines, I can recommend that website, too. :)

Ok great thanks. Yeah we are going to Warsaw we are going to the concert of Parov Stelar in Warsaw its going to be brilliant

Oh, cool. Have fun! :)

Welcome to the community! New Zealand is one of the most beautiful places on earth in my opinion really hope to get to go their in the near future. I just joined Steemit myself about 2 weeks ago. Make sure to check out Steemfollower since it is a great way to get upvotes which could be difficult at the start since you don't have that many followers!
Followed! Wish you all the best luck!

Thanks!! Yes I feel privileged to call it home. We are planning on staying in Europe for 2 years and then heading back to New Zealand. Thanks again and any other tips would be appreciated 😃

My niece was working in early childhood education down in ChCh up till about 9 months ago. She's also into healthy lifestyle (gym, healthy eating). I wonder if you might have met her - Laura Gully?

I dont know the name. I wasn't working in Christchurch that photo was just from a visit there. I lived in Wanganui

Oh I see. (It would have been quite a coincidence.)

Yeah although New Zealand is a small country so you never know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73