New to Steemit! Introducing myself and some recent pictures I took at Ha Long Bay, Vietnam - An UNESCO World Heritage Site!

Hi Steemit! My name is James. I love travelling and taking pictures of food, nature and all the wonders of the world! I love everything about photography, I'm no expert by any means but it's my passion! I'm trying to improve everyday so if you have feedback, please let me know! I have been fortunate to have traveled to many countries and I would love to share my journey with the community if there's interest! Below are some pictures I took during my Vietnam trip!

This is Ha Long bay, or Vịnh Hạ Long in Vietnamese. It is a UNESCO world heritage site located in Quảng Ninh province in Vietnam. The bay features thousands of limestone karsts and isles in various sizes and shapes

10400929_232989050486_3607188_n.jpg

Local legend has it that long ago, when the Vietnamese were fighting Chinese invaders, the gods sent a family of dragons to help defend the land.

This family of dragons began spitting out jewels and jade. these jewels turned into the islands and islets dotting the bay, linking together to form a great wall against the invaders. the people kept their land safe and formed what later became the country of Vietnam.

After that, dragons were interested in peaceful sightseeing of the earth and decided to live here then. the place where mother dragon flew down was named Hạ Long. Ha Long literally translated means "descending dragons".

10400929_232989065486_2900459_n.jpg

Hang Đầu Gỗ (wooden stakes cave) is the largest grotto in the ha long area. French tourists visited in the late 19th century, and named the cave grotte des merveilles. Here are pictures from the inside, it's just incredible!
10400929_232989035486_8030235_n.jpg
10400929_232989030486_3532351_n.jpg

10400929_232933260486_5873931_n.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit community! Good luck and steem on!

Welcome to steemit. @cryptoaide
i hope you enjoy this community.
following you now. :D

Hi James and welcome. I love that story about the dragons. I've never seen these caves before in my life until today when they've shown up twice in my interwebs travels. Clearly the universe is telling me I should go visit them 🤗

Hey James, welcome to the Steemit community. Hope you have fun posting! If you wanna find out any random facts about anything and everything, check out my blog!

*I follow back too!✌️😊

welcome to the magic that is steemit!

cool pics btw

Welcome yo!

Travelling and food photos are pretty popular here so you should feel at home! :)

Some people even post to be able to make their next travels, or food. :P

Welcome! Great pics, defenitely such an amazing place! I didn't know about the dragon part, interesting! Hope you have a good time on here:D

Congratulations @cryptoaide! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78