Fighting emotions as a crypto trader

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi,

I'm CryptoGayGuy, and you might know me from the endless FFs on Twitter :-)

I started trading cryptocurrencies back in July 2017. It went so well that I imagined retiring within a year... that didn't happen. Looking back, it was a great adrenaline and dopamine drenched time, but a bad start for any trader. Everything just kept going up, and really, it was too easy. I hodled some coins after they had mooned and learned a few painful lessons from that.  

I believe a healthy mix of fundamental and technical analysis will get you very far in cryptocurrency markets. With the help of amazing video tutorials and many friends on Twitter, I try to teach myself how to use technical indicators, and get a feeling of which one works best for me. 

When I feel like a new trade, I try to gather as much information on the asset as possible, to make a rational decision. Still, too often I find myself panic buying a coin and ending up hodling another bag. Relatable? Decisions are mostly taken based on emotions and not on logic. Especially when it comes to greater financial matters. 

My greatest goal should be to keep fighting those emotions.  

With my articles I hope to offer some insight and entertainment on the sidelines of the market.  Enjoy, and see you hopefully on Twitter! My handle is @CryptoGayGuy

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @cryptogayguy! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to steemit, enjoy your stay!

I hope your knowledge can be tapt in and shared on the platform.

Your welcome

Welcome to Steem, @cryptogayguy!

Hi, cryptogayguy! Wish you a very wonderful journey here in this awesome community :) Cheers!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

thank you! <3

Welcome to Steem, @cryptogayguy!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2831 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Hi! I am your greeting bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

@cryptogayguy, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Hello @cryptogayguy! Welcome to Steemit! CryptoNews 24/7 is launching as a source for daily insights into the CryptoMarkets. Please give us a follow to keep up to date on the latest trends in the major CryptoMarkets. Whether markets are up or down, a wise trader can always find a way to turn a profit!

Welcome to Steemit ; )

Hi @cryptogayguy! Welcome to Steemit and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82