From Vagabond to Activist to Pioneer of the New World: the Journey that Brought me Here

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Photo on 10-23-17 at 4.14 PM.jpg
Hello Steemians! I joined Steemit about two weeks ago, but have not yet introduced myself. The reason being that I don't know who the fuck I am. So I'll start with a much easier thing: I'll tell you what I've done.

Two years ago, upon graduating from college in Illinois I stubbornly decided that I was going to live the life of a vagabond. In spite of the best efforts of my family and friends, I flew away from my home with no job, little cash, and nary a plan of where I would go.
Becoming Vagabond.jpg

I traversed California living the life of a vagabond. This was an experiment of sorts- or a test if you will. I was operating on the premise that the world is far more kind, generous, and caring than we have been taught to believe. Despite being raised in the insular land of white-privileged suburbia, I longed for something more. I was told I'd be robbed, beaten, or kidnapped if I dared venture into the wilderness of the big, wide world. But I wasn't. Instead, I had people offer me places to sleep, made new friends through hitchhiking, happenstance, or otherwise. What I found was that the world was generously willing to support me and provide guidance.

Until it wasn't.

This continued for two months until it all came to a halt. My money dried up, my girlfriend broke up with me, and I soon found myself broke, homeless, and alone in the foreign land of LA. Stubborn as I was, though, I stuck it out. In addition to adventure, I came to California for a festival. I wasn't going to leave until I attended said event.

Thus I came to live the life of a homeless person. I learned the trades of the homeless: dumpster diving and such. The community supported me and guided me on my path. I continued to be moved by people's generosity. It was just now my standards of giving had dropped.

Long story short, I stuck it out, went to the festival (which was awesome) and returned back home with my tail between my legs. Though defeated, I was not beaten or bruised. As well, I had discovered just how much of my previous life was superfluous and how little I needed to live.

Still, I was aimless and I needed a job. I took work as a Vet Tech (as I had done before) and dedicated my life to meditation, yoga, and occultism for the better part of a year. This period I did little save develop myself spiritually. I was quite content at this time despite my relative isolation. I was so focused on my inner world at that time, what was outside mattered little. That is, until a short-lived romance rattled my cage.

My complacency shattered, I asked what I wanted. It was time to do something and I wondered what I should do. It was at this time that the Lakota, Dakota, and Nakota people's of North Dakota were facing the injustice of an oil pipeline being foisted through their land. I had kept track of these events closely with thoughts of, "I wish I could go." Realizing that I was being ridiculous and in fact I COULD go, I promptly quit my job and headed north to the brutal cold of North Dakota.

Here I found myself embedded on the front lines of a social, political, and environmental struggle of historic proportions. Unbeknownst to be, I had gone from vagabond to activist. Here I made friendships that I know are lifelong. We shed blood, sweat, and tears together in our relentless fight for justice. We faced the horrors of the world together, protecting one another and our Earth as warriors.

FB_IMG_1486651321703.jpg

We traveled from the frigid cold of North Dakota all the way to Washington DC to stand up for human rights, the waters, and the Earth. The months I spent with my Water Protector comrades are among the most precious of my life. Though they were indeed short-lived when my time there was up due to the privileges of being a jew.

Long before I went to Standing Rock, I had signed up for Birthright Israel at the behest of my family. Essentially, it's a program where-as long as you're a jew-an organization will fly you to Israel for free. They bring you on a ten-day tour where they show you sacred sites, teach you of your heritage, brainwash you with Zionism, and urge you to make jewish babies.

The tour was both inspiring and disappointing in equal degrees. But then, I was in Israel. Thus after the tour I took the $300 in my pocket and decided to explore the region for myself. Thus I returned to the vagabond lifestyle: sleeping on beaches, eating from trash. I explored Israel to learn more about my ancestry. Mostly, though, I needed to understand the roots of the geopolitical schism and ceasless violence in the region. Thus, I once again ignored the warnings of my peers and took a bus into Palestine.

Rather than encountering a country of jihadists, ready to behead me at even the SUSPICION that I'm a jew-I discovered the friendliest people ever I have met. I couldn't cross the street without being offered coffee, food, or cigarettes. I was moved by their plight and their humanity too. And despite all the media they said, "We LOVE the jews!"
(if you have questions about this trip, I encourage questions, even challenges. I intend to discuss this topic in-depth down the line)

I returned to the states from that trip this past March. I continued to vagabond for a time, and reunite with some water protectors too. Though I don't feel that that time inspired anything of note. What did happen is circumstance brought me back home to my parents. I now live with my mother in the mind-numbing, soul-crushing, bubble of suburbia. I am presently unemployed, seeking work in the city.

My years of vagabonding and activism have been beautiful, inspiring, and life-changing. And neither is a career. Thus, for the time being, those days are behind me. It's time for me to put down roots in Chicago and apply what I've learned. Using my Psychology degree, I've applied to jobs within the mental health field working with the homeless-since I can relate.

So there it is: my past two years in a nutshell. It's been quite a journey and I still don't know what it means. But it paints quite a picture. Now you all know where I've been and what I've done. Tomorrow begins the more challenging project: to share with you all not what I do- but who I am.

Until then.

Sort:  

Wow!! I love ur story your story man! You are truly living and i respect that!
I was in iraq twice and realized everything we think we know about people is a lie..
I am on my own personal journey as well and hope to meet more people like u on here.. take care and goodluck with ur journey!
Nomeste

Welcome to Steem Community @danno528! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

welcome here and enjoy with steemit

Hey Welcome! I liked your post and stuff, hope to see more so Ill follow up...

But bro...

"Thus I returned to the vagabond lifestyle: sleeping on beaches, eating from trash." !?!?!

You can catch something, be careful...


Ps: Wanna win some $$$? Check my challenges;)

See ya around!

Your post is now promoted, good luck!

Ahahaha yeahhhh. Not my shining hour. To be fair, though, I would only eat things that were PACKAGED in the trash. I may have been a bum, but I did have some discernment. XD

And thanks for promoting!

I dunno how many people put packed things into trash tho :P I would eat in a store and run lolz :P

No prob enjoy your time here:)

You'd be surprised! I certainly was!

Wow, what a story! Life's no fun if you don't take any risks right?
Welcome to steemit mate!

That's sure the truth. And I've taken many

Welcome to steemit!

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @danno528
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Excellent Pictures!
Nice to meet you. :-)

Upvoted and followed!

I hope you have lots of fun here and make many friends! :-)
Thank you for sharing! :-)

WELCOME.gif

A new Steemian ^^ hello @danno528 I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55