I'm Joshua from Boston. Nice to meet you!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm Joshua Seigler.

I look like this:
Photo of Joshua Seigler
I do web development in Boston. In my free time I like to work on open source projects for the Dash community. I recently made cryptohistory.org which generates price charts for altcoins.

I grew up in Virginia, the oldest of three brothers. We were all homeschooled, which seems to have produced more advantages than disadvantages for me.

I was born at a very early age

When I was a kid my grandfather showed me his home office, which was full of old DOS computers. He told me how he saved his accounting firm some thousands of dollars by writing them a QBASIC form-filling app they could use to print out duplicates of certain forms. He gave me one of these:
TRS-80 PC1
and this delightful book: Getting Started on the PC-2
Cover image

and that was that! I eventually moved to programming my TI-83 calculator, then an engineering friend of mine lovingly built a custom Red Hat Linux PC in an old "portable" computer shell. I was just discovering computer gaming so that quickly became a dual boot Windows 98 box to play games of Need for Speed, Pod Racers, and Descent.

What I do

I ended up getting a degree in math and computer science. Then I got a couple jobs that didn't have anything to do with my degree. 😞 I kept my skills sharp with a tank-fighting programming competition called RoboCode:
Robocode
There were all these crazy strategies like WaveSurfing and PatternMatching and I was wayyy into it. My best one was a collaboration -- I worked with this guy "Rsim" and we added his shoot-bullets-out-of-the-air code to my modular bot code. The result was called GeomancyBS and it's currently ranked #60 out of 1115 participants in the "RoboRumble".

And then..?

In 2011 I got a job doing web development in New England. I friggen love New England! I live in Boston now. Just this past Monday my wife and I watched the fireworks from the Boston Science Museum parking garage:
Boston fireworks

Lately I've been getting really involved in the Dash community. I spend a lot of time on the Dash public slack and some of my friends there encouraged me to check out Steemit. Here I am world!

Sort:  

wellcome

Upvoted you

Hi Joshua, Welcome to Steemit!; very interesting camera angle you have there...

Thanks for bringing back memories of NFS and Decent. I am thinking about a time where me and a friend were playing NFS multiplayer with a dial up modem and an adhoc connection :) - pretty sure it wasn't great but it was working

Great to have you with us!

Thanks! Steemit really has its incentives lined up correctly. I never sweated over post quality like this on Reddit!

Welcome to yet another Dasher! Love it!

Ha, you said the same thing on my other post "Everything seems terrible"!

Welcome on board! ;-)

Thanks @testz. This seems like a really positive community and I'm looking forward to writing more stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81