Hi Steemit, I'm Kishore, ex-Quora blogger, ex-DAO token holder, jobless dropout, entrepreneur

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

I'm an Indian, from India, of course. I dropped out of my masters degree in Physics, my bachelors degree was Electronics and Communication Engineering.

I could have been a millionaire through bitcoin, in 2009 I downloaded the bitcoin miner and I ran it, but it took a lot of time to sync the blocks because of the low internet speed in India, I uninstalled the program because I didn't understand it fully, I was only 17 then and just bought a computer and ordered for an Ubuntu copy on a CD online and it was for free. It came from the Netherlands. That was my first exposure with Open Source and Free software, I was genuinely happy as a third world guy amazed that something I ordered from the internet came for free.
!()
After which I lost interest on Open Source, until 2013 when I had to do my final year project on Self "Driving" robot. I used ROS(Robot Operating System) and I was amazed again with genuine enthusiasm that there are people who go beyond just work and write programs for devices and release the code with Open Source licenses for others to use. Although my project was not much of a success because I was the only guy doing it, in my team of 3.

I wrote some imperfect blog posts(on Open Source) with my imperfect English on Quora for about less than a year in 2014 and I got a good 250 followers but I deleted my account later as I failing my exams in Physics, I was so confused what I would be doing next. So, I just dropped out. Came back to India from Germany.

And I was following a lot of cryptocurrencies, mainly Ethereum and other smart contract based, recently, my interest spiked and I invested in DAO tokens, for about $200(USD) and I had to sell them at a loss, I was so enthusiastic about DAO because I was working on a project which is based on Ethereum Computer and it had to fail and crash!

So, here is my story. I hope you didn't fall asleep reading this. I hope to improve my style of writing. And some money through upvotes would be very encouraging to me.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! :-)

Thanks, I'm looking forward to write more.

Far from falling asleep, I was fascinated by your story! I think you should tell more, I like your style and India is somewhere I'd like to know more about and what it's like to live there.

The internet is connecting us all and it's great to see that you have truly connected with different communities, which would have been impossible 20 or 30 years ago.

By the way, my little 5 and a half year old daughter is obsessed with India, she loves the clothes, language, dancing; we had to buy her a sari recently to go to a princess themed party. She hasn't got a concept of how far away it is from us, as she keeps insisting we spend a weekend there :-D

Look forward to reading more of your posts.

CG

Wow, thanks for your comment. I don't really know what to say.

Surely, I would like to write more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63