Introducing myself

steemit 1.PNG

Thanks for visiting my new steemit page. Before I start putting out content, I’d like to spend my first post introducing myself and the blog. Currently I teach social justice to high school students; I have been teaching (and coaching/moderating – soccer, gay-straight alliance, diversity club, outdoors club, reading discussion group, fair trade club, etc.) for the past 17 years. I am fortunate to love and be loved by a wife, three kids, an extended family, and many great friends. With the support of so many wonderful people, I was able to self-publish a book on inter-religious spirituality and justice called "I am not God: Searching for a Path toward Personal and Global Well-Being" in June of 2017.

Over the upcoming months, I intend to post the book as well as other original reflections on this page. My book was an effort to encourage thought and conversation on how to deal with our personal and communal problems by sharing insights from various wisdom traditions (both theistic and nontheistic) and contributing my own thoughts. I spend a great deal of time reading and thinking about two questions:

  • (1) How do I (and others) find personal peace and contentment in spite of the suffering, insecurity, uncertainty, disappointment, and anxiety that are part of life?
  • (2) How do we improve a world filled with oppression, exploitation, poverty, hopelessness, violence, hate, prejudice, ignorance, environmental degradation, and injustice?

Put in a simpler way, how do individuals find personal well-being, and how do we help the world to become a better place? In the book, I explore common threads shared in various wisdom traditions, many of which point to our tendency to operate as though we are the center of the universe as a significant source of our personal and social problems, but I do not claim to have simple or final answers to these questions. Regardless, I believe they are critical questions that we need to think about if we hope to do better.

Additional topics and themes that I plan to reflect on include: contemporary & historical social justice issues, personal wellness, the search for wisdom, special interests in politics/education, science, the confirmation bias, the de-regulation movement, and prejudice. Questions I might grapple with, include, “Does religion teach people to seek righteousness or reassure them that they are right?” and “Are rights often invoked in a one-dimensional way that ignores how promoting one group’s rights & interests might involve undermining another group’s rights & freedom?” Most importantly, I hope to engage the thoughts and interests of those who read these writings. So, if you have any topics or questions you would like to propose I would be happy to hear and address your thoughts on them.

Before I begin to post the book, I’ll include a few general reflections to let you get a better sense of whether you’d like to engage my writing further.

peace,
Dave

Sort:  

Hi  @david-laguardia 

Welcome to Steemit :)

I hope you have already started exploring the platform. To help you further with that I have the following two guides for you that will give you a good idea about Steemit:

The Beginner's Guide to Steemit

How to Transfer STEEM From Bittrex to Steemit

Moreover, I would also suggest to join @greetersguild, which is a community for Stemians, especially the newcomers. Here you can get different type of support from the community, including an upvote support, and of course, learning from experienced Steemians. It is created by @terminallyill, and I would like to invite you to join us :) Here is the link to our discord server

If you have any question, feel free to reply to this comment and I will try to guide you :)


Thanks, I'll definitely check out "the beginner's guide to steemit." I am new to social media, so I can use the help:) One question: by joining the greetersguild do you mean following it? Have a great day!

enjoy the community. :)

Thanks Jim,
Wow! I feel bad about eating cereal for breakfast after viewing your last post.

I am very happy with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thanks, I appreciate the kind words.

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!
I will be posting an article on how steemit works soon so follow along as it may be quite useful to you!

Greetings...
Happy to see you join Steemit 👍, I follow you and Let's be friends by following each other 😊 , if any questions about this platform, please click www.steemithelp.net, I hope can help you to know about Steemit
Kind regards

I appreciate the kind words.
peace

@david-laguardia, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Sounds like some good content is incoming!

Thanks, I'll do my best. I appreciated your reflections on tea and nighttime.

Thanks for checking out my blog :)

Welcome to steemit @david-laguardia if you have any questions, I am at your disposal, I am part of a school that teaches how to be successful in steemit..

STEEMSCHOOLS

We are here to help you grow, we have live classes every day by DISCORD.

Join here https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

WE WIN TOGETHER

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Thanks, I respect your work and may need to look into steemit school in the future.
peace

Hey David .. welcome to our great community and best of luck to you.

Thanks, your posts on India and Hinduism look great. I'm really interested in Eastern cultures and spiritualities.
peace

Thanks fir being my guest at y blog. I love Indian diverse culture and rituals so much and it can not be described in one life.

I look forward to your discussions on social justice! I am sure you have some great thoughts :)

Thanks Brandi! I've always enjoyed hearing your social justice thoughts as well. I appreciate your help getting this account going.
peace,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99