TWO IS BETTER THAN ONE: a friendship across the distance

#IntroduceYourself.jpg

I always imagined that in my 20´s my life would be similar to unnamed.png , living in a new country with many roommates, learning from each other, studying something that I was passionate about and earning enough money to travel the world. Instead the second decade of my life has been involved in political protests and lots of goodbyes.
Can you imagine changing hang outs for farewell parties? Watch your friends leave to another country or be one of those friends to whom they say goodbye? Leaving with a lot of good memories of your friends without knowing if you will see them again?

Welcome to our blog, a joint work of two friends who share stories and experiences from the distance!

I doubt that any person who has never been restricted by their basic rights can understand the emotion and importance of leaving a country under dictatorship.
How do you explain to someone who knows your history, your skills and professional achievements that you are now a nanny, a waitress... that you have to clean floors and tables and if there's a shortage in staff you must become an octopus so you can wash the dishes, be the bartender and cashier at the same time for only $ 2.68 an hour? I didn’t know how to explain it, so for a while I walked away from the friends I left behind and dedicated myself to establish myself in the place I chose as my new country, Panama.

PTY.jpg

Most of my friends now understand it because they have gone through similar situations in other countries. David is now in Chile and I don’t need to explain what it feels like to emigrate because he, like many, is part of a group of returnees, who had to leave the country that saw them born and make their parents' country their own as much as they can.

My story is a little different, since I was a child I was always curious about things that differ from my reality, discovering social classes, trying different foods, meeting forbidden places and knowing new people is the essence that moves me and I have had the fortune to have all of that from very early age.

I remember that when I was little I didn’t like my name because in my family I have always been called Tutu affectionately, and my first name was synonymous with immediate scolding; However today I feel more identified than ever because it represents the duality of what I am, a first-generation Latin descendant of Europeans

Sort:  

Hello davidanielg! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Thanks for the tips, we will definitely check your post, seems very useful for beginners like us!!

Hello @davidanielg. Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!

Thank you :)
We are excited about this!
Hope you like our stories!

Thank you :)
We are excited about this!
Hope you like our stories!

Welcome to Steem, @davidanielg!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3058 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

Hello back atcha

Welcome to Steemit davidanielg. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Thank you so much!
We appreciate all this info, as beginner there's a lot of things we need to learn yet!

You are welcome to steem community..

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

We'll check it out, thanks!

hello and welcome Fulvia and daniel i think, is very pretty that idea to make the post by two people, but i lost reading who is who. Hope you enjoy steemit. GBY
P.D: Sorry my bad english i´m practice my english writing . Saludos desde México

Hi Alex, nice to meet you!
it's funny you mentioned about your ¨bad english¨ because that's one of the reasons we decided to start this blog, to practice a little bit our writing.

Also we'll try to be more clear about who is writing each post!

By the way is Fulvia here :)

Saludos desde Panamá!

Congratulations @davidanielg! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64