Introduction post from a wandering multipotentialite

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

17904220_1332933110076211_1609744479702347666_n.jpg
Hello, SteemIt community! I just wanted to start by thanking you and expressing my gratitude of the opportunity I am presented with. When I first found out about SteemIt, I was studying technical analysis for cryptocurrency trading when I stumbled upon this platform. Intrigued, I completely strayed away from what I was studying to look into SteemIt. Get paid to use social media? Wow! Finally a medium I can use to motivate the sharing of my ideas.

Who am I? I'm a small town country boy from the middle of America, Missouri. I spent 22 years there longing for change and adventure. I spent my time there learning as much as I can. My father was an electrical engineer for GE and hence loved science and working on mechanical things such as cars and appliances. I learned as much as I could from my dad and started a love for cars long before I was even able to drive. This longing for obtaining information didn't stop at cars, I have dived into almost every category I can think of and after many years of learning things from all types of categories, I have found passion in fitness, business, investing, environmental movement, cryptocurrency, technology, and theory as to how humans will evolve. As you can probably tell, my interest in SteemIt is related heavily to that last point, as I believe SteemIt will change the way humans interact and totally revolutionize social media platforms, and media in general. I can't wait to see SteemIt replacing Facebook! Put the power back into the people's hands.

I studied at the University of Central Missouri, obtaining my degree in Business Management with minors in both Economics and Criminal Justice. I was very uninterested in the cookie cutter type lessons I was being taught in school. No doubt, I believe education is the most important thing to any human being aside from staying alive, but college didn't exactly tickle my fancy as much as I'd expect something to that I spent $45k on. Instead, I often put off homework to learn about subjects that were interesting to me. For example, I realized I was overweight and unhealthy. I read just about everything I could find on fitness on the internet, and we all know how corrupt and misleading a lot of fitness information is that's available on the internet so, to fix this problem of inaccurate information, I approached the bodybuilding group at my school. It turns out, I was going to school with one of the youngest Pro level bodybuilders in the world. I asked him for advice and it changed my life. I learned all about the body's anatomy. This led to a better understanding of how lifting weights and other physical activity impacts your body. More importantly, I learned how the fuel you put into your body causes changes. With all of this information, I was able to lose 60LBs in college! Not only did I lose weight, I learned so much about the body, food, and exercise that I believe is important for sustaining a healthy lifestyle.

This is just one example of how my curiosity for knowledge has impacted my life. I try to learn about everything I do, use or have any interest in at all. I don't discount information from any topic, as I believe all things in life are connected and knowledge is cross-functional and multi-dimensional.

My life was interesting, but as you can imagine with someone who has a thirst for knowledge, I became bored very quickly with my surroundings. Don't get me wrong, I love the US and living in Missouri is great, but I wanted something new. I decided to begin traveling. First, I traveled to other states in the US but this didn't teach me about other cultures, languages, or variations of lifestyle. Then comes a college pal, JP. JP called me and told me he was working in Taiwan as an English teacher and that he is open to accepting friends to come stay and tour the country with him. I took his offer immediately and come to the end of the current semester, I was on the plane and in Asia before I knew it. Now, this change was immensely different than anything I had ever experienced. It was truly life-changing, even just getting off the plane and taking a walk outside of the airport. After traveling around Taiwan for a while, I met the most beautiful woman I had ever gotten the pleasure of meeting. Her name was Ana, and you probably thought she'd be Asian, right?
23117117_1563807443655442_8442927676675584064_o.jpg
Ana is on scholarship here from Panama and she offered to show me around Taiwan when JP was at work. After several travel dates, I caught a huge case of the feels. So did she. I had to return to finish my degree though and I did. We talked every single day and eventually, I graduated. I quickly realized I had no real plans after college and that the world was mine to decide. I packed my bags, sold my guns, vehicles, and anything else I didn't absolutely need and moved to Taiwan where I now reside until Ana finishes her education here. While here, we are blessed with the opportunity to travel all over Asia! It's been so much fun living on the other side of the world and experiencing how people live in different countries. I believe traveling has brought me more value then college did and I strongly recommend traveling!

I see the world in a very interesting light. I was always ahead in my business classes and always interested in things that far exceeding my peer's interests. While my friends would add the extra a!vocado, I was investing that money. When my classmates were at the bars, I was in chat rooms talking about the future of blockchain technology. (where I'm from isn't exactly interested in the newest and greatest technology). I often go on rants to my girlfriend and roommates about how I would change the world and how I see the world changing in the future. I love speculating about the future as it is so interesting to me. I will never forget hearing Elon Musk's statement on how he wanted to change the world simply because an unchanged future would cause him boredom That statement has really inspired me to create a better future alongside all of the great people we have in society today. Hopefully, I can find my true calling and put into action something that benefits a lot of people.

Currently, I am self-teaching myself skills like Spanish, Chinese, Web development, and trying to understand all of the new technology coming out of the blockchain. I am heavily invested in forex, stocks, and cryptocurrencies and I do day trade to make ends meet. I am trying my best to avoid employment as making someone else rich from my work isnt exactly what I fancy. I believe once I attain enough knowledge and skills, I will be able to make a comfortable living for myself and my family without the need for employment. This blog will detail what I do, my thoughts, my opinions, and how I interpret the world around me. I don't have just one topic I will focus on writing about since I believe all things are connected and affect each other. 18318973_1360630003973188_1370807422354414999_o.jpg

Enough babbling about me, I can't wait to read more content on SteemIt and add to it myself.
Never forget that knowledge is power and the day you stop learning is the day you die.
20157844_1453516824684505_2543145120280845298_o.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @deevo! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome to Steemit! Nice job on the bio!

I can see that you are new here but your posts are already very substantial. I look foreard to more of your posts. Welcome to steemit!

Hey thanks so much! I am very glad to have found Steemit, i'm really excited to see what it will look like once mass adoption of cryptocurrencies begins.

Thank you :) Traveling will almost always result in great photo taking opportunities haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58