Dear Community -

My name is Heather Cobb - I am 32 years old, born and raised in Texas, and currently a thankful resident of the great state of California. I was diagnosed with Type-1 Diabetes at the age of 19, and made a promise to myself that I would not let my diagnosis hold me back. So I joined the Peace Corps and went down to the beautiful country of El Salvador for my two years of service. Living and working in a rural pueblo those two years changed my life and ignited in me a passion for global health and travel. I have had the privilege of traveling to 26 countries in a mix of work and pleasure, and look forward to sharing upcoming travel adventures with the Steemit community. As a solo female traveler, I am always looking for insights from fellow travelers who have come before me, so I would like to do my part and share my knowledge and travel experiences as well :)

IMG_5406.jpg

You will also find that all my current posts are poetry. To be honest this past year was a rough one for me - I changed a lot of things about myself in order to keep a long term relationship going - career path, friendships and hobbies falling away, travel plans put on hold....well I finally got wise and broke off that 7 year relationship to my ex-fiance. About three months after ending the relationship I was laid off from my job. I've taken all this chaos as a sign that it is time to start doing things differently. To stop forcing myself into desk jobs that I hate just to pay the bills (and the 6 figure student loan tab-woof!), and to instead explore my passions of writing and travel, and to have enough faith in myself to know that things will work out as they should. So, all that is to say, my posts may be a little all over the place - poetry that has helped me to process all the major life changes I have gone through this past year, travel excerpts and tips (including my experience buying diabetic testing supplies and insulin in the countries I travel to....the United States is the worst for that - but I doubt anyone is surprised by that bit of news!), and some nice photos along the way (the two photos I have included here are from a recent surf trip down to Costa Rica...travel write ups coming soon!)

IMG_5420.JPG

Which leads me to asking this wonderful community a big favor - I am not the most tech savvy and I am operating off an old school MacBook Pro from 2009 - could be because my computer is so old that it will not allow me to download more recent operating systems?? Anywho - I cannot figure out how to upvote posts or leave replies for other Steemers and their posts. Any tips and tricks of the trade you fine people would like to share in the comments section would be much appreciated.

Thank you all for reading, and I hope you find my upcoming posts to be at least entertaining, and hopefully even a little helpful.

Much love!
Heather

Sort:  

hello Heather nice to meet you. welcome to steemit

thank you @sogata - nice to meet you too :)

Good to see a well written #introduceyourself post.
Looking forward to see what else you are writing about in the weeks and months to come.
Giving you a full up vote for this post, keep the quality coming :)
Kindest regards from Norway.

Dear @gyldenhorn - thank you so much :) I appreciate the kind words and the warm welcome. I checked out your page - your macro shots are incredible! And your daughter's ceremony looked lovely - very cool that you were there and able to photograph the event. Thanks again, and looking forward to seeing more of your photography!

You are very welcome. There are too few that take an effort in writing a good intro post.
Also happy to hear that you liked my macro photos :)

Interesting article, you're done! Welcome to Steemit, I wish you successful development. I followed you, I hope you will follow me.

Thank you @veseloff - appreciate the warm welcome and consider yourself followed :)

Welcome to Steemit, @diabeticsurfista! It's ok if your posts are all over the place, as long as there are poetry and travel, i'm fine with it :-D You have a great background and overcome so much that I'm sure you'll be a great inspiration and success here :) Good luck!

thank you @herverisson! really appreciate your kind reply and will most certainly keep the travel and poetry posts coming :)

Great! and remember that it's a marathon, not a sprint: my intro made... 0.03$ back in the day ^^ The most important here is the community :)


Welcome to Steemit @diabeticsurfista!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello Heather, I'm 33, from Oregon, and I eat from my gardens, and was in Hawaii, Vietnam, love travel, love Steemit. I've experienced breakups, employment changes over the years, and it can be tough. We can find people and we can encourage each other through storms towards rainbows.

Hey there @joeyarnoldvn - thank you for the warm welcome and words of encouragement. Oregon is a beautiful state and eating your own homegrown fruits and veggies surely provides a special kind of tasty satisfaction :) And you're so right - change can be tough, but we learn lessons that make life that much sweeter down the line. Sending lots of love through the storms and rainbows!!

It is always better when we prepare for change, for potential change, by preparing, by doing our best in each moment, and not through worrying, but in preparing, in planning, and in visualizing possibilities of what we can do and not in what we cannot do.

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you have fun here :)

welcome @diabeticsurfista to steemit comunitty, a lot of success

Thanks so much @leopenuela18! Thank you for the well wishes - and sending you the same!

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy this platform with everything it has to offer! I will follow you because I am looking forward to the content you will be sharing here!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Wow - thank you @poeticsnake!! I am flattered and honored - appreciate the love :) Just read what "You Got Snekked" is about and I think it's awesome your helping poets get eyes on their work. Thanks again and would love to help out You Got Snekked's efforts in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67