Steemit got me excited--and I am hooked

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemians, this first post of mine would mark the best birthday I have ever had. Lotsa kisses and hugs from hubby and kids, a video call from four months old granddaughter in Jakarta, a warm digital message from my bestie which sent before dawn, a cup of hot java, all adds to the excitement I also got in my email box: at last my Steemit account is approved.
I have called Susoh, Southwest Aceh, as my home, for five years now. We moved to Banda Aceh from Jakarta toward the end of 2007. And then my husband decided to go back living in his hometown by the shore of the Indian Ocean. With a plethora of rich culture and beautiful scenery, I have fell in love with this land and its people, just like I have fallen for my native Susoh-ian husband. (You call natives of New York as New Yorkers, natives of Los Angeles as Angelino and natives of Sparta as Spartans, so what can you call a native from the tiny but sweet town of Susoh? Isn't it "Susohian"? Raise your hand if you agree! :)) )
A lot of my friends had resided in Steemit as permanent residents, @meja @akkadia @ihansunrise @betterperson @kasyubeta243 @yellsaints24 @purchel to name a few. They talked me into checking Steemit, and at long last I am hooked. I sign up, hoping to be one of the dynamic people who are already called Steemit their digital homeland.
Once signing up, I was like a young girl falling in love for the first time: I feverishly checked my email every other day, dying to see that one mail from Steemit, which would announce my legit Steemit citizenship. But alas! Just like Gadih Basanai, the forever-waiting-on-the-door-threshold-girl from West Sumatran legend, I was kept waiting for a whole week. A week that felt like a century.
Earlier this morning, after my significant other delivered his birthday wish for me (ahem), he told me to check my email.
"You will find something that will make you excited," he said. Curiously I opened the G-world, thinking I would find a copy of a booking-receipt of a plane ticket to see my granddaughter. What I found is--boohoohoo (silently wiped a tear)--not a ticket, but something equally exciting: approval from Steemit!
I felt like bursting! You know, that feeling you got at Ramadan, when the muezzin eventually called the Magrib call for praying, and at last you could devour that yummy sugarcane juice you've purchased around Zuhr time? That was it.
Really, my good fellow Steemians, the best part of signing up to Steemit was the excitement of waiting for your account to be approved! :))
Since my account is legit now, I guess I would set my brain on creating a post that could enrich this community. That, I am certain, would also work as a nice brain-booster for my retired-self, too.
Now, I've been staring at this laptop since 8 in the morning, so I guess it's best for me to stop, and call it a day.
Nice to be accepted to your domain, Steemians. Adieu for now.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-05 at 10.09.53 AM.jpeg
That's me circa 2017. I despise taking selfies, so...yeah.

Bahasa Indonesia:

Saleum kawan-kawan Stemian, posting pertama saya ini menandai milad terbaik yang pernah saya alami. Segudang cium dan peluk dari suami dan anak-anak, video call dari cucu di Jakarta yang baru menginjak empat bulan, pesan digital menghangatkan hati dari sahabat saya yang dikirimnya sebelum fajar, secangkir kopi yang sedap, semuanya mendukung kegembiraan yang kemudian saya temukan di inbox email saya: akhirnya akun Steemit saya disetujui.
Saya sudah lima tahun betah di Susoh, Aceh Barat Daya. Kami pindah ke Banda Aceh di akhir tahun 2007. Lantas teman seketiduran saya memutuskan untuk pulang ke kota kelahirannya di tepi Samudera Indonesia, Dengan kekayaan budaya serta pemandangan alamnya yang jelita, saya jatuh cinta pada negeri Barat-Selatan ini, mungkin sama seperti saya jatuh cinta pada ayahnya anak-anak yang Susohian alias asli Susoh. (Penduduk asli New York kita sebut New Yorkers, penduduk asli Los Angeles sebutannya Angelino, penduduk asli Sparta namanya Spartan. Jadi, kita panggil apa penduduk asli Susoh? Susohian, kan? Angkat tangan kalau setuju. 
Sudah banyak kawan saya yang lebih dulu bermukim di Steemit sebagai penduduk tetap, sebut saja @meja @akkadia @ihansunrise @betterperson @kasyubeta243 @yellsaints24 @purchel. Mereka kerap membicarakan Steemit, membagikan link, dan akhirnya saya kena pikat. Saya sign up, berharap dapat bergabung dengan manusia-manusia dinamis yang sudah memanggil Steemit sebagai “tanah air digital” mereka.
Sesudah sign up, saya berubah jadi seperti gadis remaja yang jatuh cinta untuk pertama kalinya: setiap pagi memeriksa email, setengah mati berharap akan melihat satu email khusus itu dari Seteemit, email yang akan melegalkan kewarganegaraan Steemit saya. Tapi, duh! Laksana Gadih Basanai, gadis sedih dalam legenda Sumatra Barat yang seumur hidup menunggu kekasihnya di ambang pintu, saya juga harus menunggu. Sepekan penuh. Satu pekan yang terasa seperti satu abad.
Pagi tadi, sesudah ayah si Buyung mengucapkan doa milad untuk saya di ubun-ubun saya (ahem), disuruhnya saya memeriksa email.
“Ada sesuatu yang akan membuatmu senang,” katanya. Penuh rasa ingin tahu, saya buka Dunia G saya, mengira akan menemukan salinan tanda bukti pesanan tiket pesawat untuk menjenguk si cucu. Yang saya temukan adalah—huhuhuhuuu (diam-diam menghapus air mata)—bukan tiket, tapi sesuatu yang kurang lebih sama membahagiakan: persetujuan akun dari Steemit!
Rasanya seperti mau meletus! Agak mirip perasaan itu, dibulan Ramadan, ketika akhirnya azan Magrib bergema dan kita bisa minum air tebu sejuk sedap yang sudah kita beli sejak Zuhr. Nah, kira-kira begitulah.
Betulan deh, rekan-rekan Steemian, bagian terbaik dari sign up ke Steemit adalah ketegangan menunggu saatnya akun kita disetujui. 
Karena sekarang akun saya sudah legal, maka saya akan menyetel otak ini untuk membuat posting yang (semoga saja) dapat memperkaya komunitas ini. Hal yang, saya yakin betul, akan menjadi booster untuk otak saya yang sudah akan melaju ke pensiun ini.
Nah, saya sudah memelototi laptop ini sejak jam 8 pagi, maka rasanya lebih baik saya berhenti dulu sekarang. Senang rasanya sudah diakui jadi Steemian. Saleum.

Sort:  

Selamat bergabung di steemit. semoga sukses..

Terima kasih, begitu juga Anda.

Welcome kak 😀, met milad juga ya hehehe

Thx Z...thx jg met miladnya. Mohon bimbingan @meja sebagai Suheng di Rimba Persteemitan ini yaaa :D

hahaha, masih newbie juga ni kak

Welcome to Steemit. I hope it is good for you. Invite some friends and build the community

Thank you. I hope this works for me like it works for you. Thank you for your advice, really useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63