My introduction to steem. First post. Go easy on me!!

Hi guys.
My names diffraction. I've only just joined the steem network and was introduced to it through steem monsters. I enjoy investing and have been in the crypto space for about two years. At my day job I'm a medical doctor. I think the applications of cryptocurrency can be used for almost everything in the world. I'm fascinated in how it can make all of our lives simpler. However, there is still a long way to go until the average Jo starts to find their way in the space. I think games like steem monsters are going to do a huge service to the crypto community to facilitate the entrance of new faces into the crypto space.

I also love the principle of making money through being in control of your own data. I love the idea of the brave browser and am looking forward to when the rewards come to my country. I love the idea of the steem community and being rewarded for creating content. For years I have been telling my journalist friends that they should be producing content online and creating their own online presence rather than working for other people that restrict what they can say, control their personal lives and then only pass on a small payment of their hard work. I am optimistic a platform like steem can bring opportunity to these people and if I can write something that ends up performing well (being a non-writer that was horrible at English at school) then hopefully that can act as a catalyst to bring more people to the space.

A lot of my interest in investing comes from a deep desire to live life on my own terms. I love my work but it takes a huge emotional toll on both my body and my mind at times. I have almost completed my training after spending 7 years at university and 4 years as a junior doctor. I strive to be able to work the hours I want so that I can give the time to my family that they deserve while still enjoying my profession. With ever rising costs in our society and with the increased demands on healthcare providers (in terms of more work and less financial payment from it) it is a huge priority for me to set myself up financially so that I am not left behind in the dreaded rat race.

I also wanted to make a shout out to my biggest inspiration in the field Nugget from Nuggets news. Not only has he taught me a lot of what I know in the crypto space (without even knowing who I am as I watched his free videos for a long time before subscribing) he has also provided inspiration to work on those goals outside of the day job. He was a pharmacist in his previous life and took a huge risk stepping away from his day job to follow his dreams and now lives, breathes and films videos about crypto on a daily basis. He has also just been offered a spot on the investor news channel on Roku in the US and Canada. That’s a huge achievement mate so well down and keep doing what you’re doing. I would also like to mention that I have absolutely no personal affiliation with nugget and will be getting nothing in return for this mention. I purely want to acknowledge the impact he has had and if anyone else is interested in the crypto space when it comes to investing and trading I would highly recommend his free YouTube channel “Nuggets News" as a way to check him out. If you like that then you can sign up to his subscription service if you wanted.

So that’s pretty much why I am here. To learn more about another crypto platform and broaden my horizon of the application of blockchain technology while playing a few games at the same time.

My other main hobbies are surfing, skating, surf skiing, snowboarding and drinking beer with mates. I enjoy health and fitness however I am currently the most unfit I have ever been as I am just about to sit exams (the irony of the process of becoming a doctor taking a huge toll on your own physical and mental health). I plan to go on a weight loss journey shortly and if things go well on here maybe I will write about it to keep myself accountable.

An article about who I am would not be complete without mentioning my beautiful wife and our dog. She has been there to support me through everything. She was there when I started my training and has seen me through the highs and lows. She has only ever been encouraging when it has come to cryptocurrency and there was a time where I had made some trades that triggered capital gains tax which ended up with me owing more tax than what we even had in crypto and yet she stood by me and believed in me. I wouldn't be where I am right now without her and she truly makes me a better (and likely a lot healthier) person when she is around. She is an extreme sports junkie with a passion for the ocean on the one side whilst on the other is the most honest, hardworking and considerate person I know. She makes everyone’s lives she is in better for having her in them and is the best nurse I have ever met. I am so lucky to have you in my life now and always.

So, I guess that’s enough of an intro. I'm interested to see how this all goes. Please feel free to give any advice you have about your steem journey in the comments to help me out. If you want to hear more of my opinions on things let me know. If not that’s fine too. You never know unless you give things a shot. Maybe see you soon.

Cheers
Diffraction

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thanks so much mate. Sounds great!!

Hi, and Welcome to Steemit, @diffraction.
We are Welcome Wagon, a community founded by @dreemsteem, to find new members, and give them a little helping boost with some Steemit training, and guidance.

for @WelcomeWagon, we are @shadowspub and @bluefinstudios

Emblem - 400px embed - The Welcome Wagon.png

Hello Diffraction,
This is not an automated answer its ME and welcome to Steemit.
You are a Steemian now! And your first blog is online. Better late than never, and I'm sure one day we will say those were the very early days of Steemit, so congrats! Whats essential here is regular posting off good quality blogs. And maybe use a picture next time !
So start writing ! Tell us about your life, passion, animals or your work.
That Will attract possible followers.
Do be carefull with your passwords, they are yours and yours only.
Look up the free Steemify app in the Appstore or read this blog https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote Thats helpfull too.
Next to Steemify I use Appics and Partiko to post.

You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians! Or the account @heyhaveyamet ( a coop with @xcountytravelers ) Where we highlight newcomers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead! Let me know if you have questions,

Love from the Netherlands
Britt

Thank you so much for your thorough and kind reply. To be honest I'm still a bit hesitant posting a picture of myself but I could include other photos I guess. I enjoy taking photos of surf etc. I have to say this looks like it is a lot more hard work than I initially thought but still a great opportunity. I wish I was travelling again and could just write about the adventures. Never the less something will come to mind and I will try and write another post over the next couple of days. Thanks again.
Cheers

Goodmorning well you dont have ho travel to write about your travelling !! Writing stories is whats it all about. Tell us about your adventures !
Oh and pixabay and a few others have free photos to use in your blog but always tell your source a D if they atre yours state that. Its overwhelimng but not hard. Come to discord and we Will help free !
Good Luck steeming

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see you found your way here. Lots of stuff to do on the blockchain, and more coming. Put the time into the social meet and greet aspect and reach out with your comments and upvotes as you find interesting posts. It can be hard getting started, but you can meet some great people and make connections here if you put in the time. Welcome!

Cheers mate. Sounds like a plan

I've hit my initial goal of one cent. Thank you so much. My secondary goal was to hit 10c. I need your help to get there. There is a nice cold beer in the fridge (the last one) to celebrate this momentous occasion. Following this the next goal is $1. I will have to go to the bottlo to pick up another six pack if we get there!.

Hello, Welcome to Steemit 🕊 🕊 🦜

If you like, you are welcome to get FREE SNAX Tokens by following @corenet and commenting the latest post from @corenet 🙏

Link: https://steemit.com/snax/@eos.sweden/get-free-snax-first-1000-followers-of-corenet


Get FREE SNAX Tokens 💰 from Snax BP sweden
Snax-SAMS-Campaign-H10.png

Rules/Conditions:
👉 Step 1: Follow the steemit account @corenet
👉 Step 2: Write a comment to the latest published post by @corenet

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem diffraction! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @diffraction! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steemit diffraction. The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. You should also check out DTube and DSound for starters and if you're a gamer, Steem Monsters! There are many other cool apps but I can't list them all here, there's just too many! But I'd also like to mention Steempeak, it's a better blogging platform that has a lot of cool features. Welcome to the blockchain! :) Oh, and if you're interested in creating your own tokens or smart contracts, check Steem engine!

Hey diffraction! If you would like to make your personal feed contain the top trending media and talking points of the whole internet, consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts - And welcome to Steem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17