Hello from D.J. Rees

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Stid.jpg

Greetings,
It has taken me quite a while to set up an account. From the first time I stumbled across Steemit, I was intrigued and interested.
Instead of signing up right away, I wanted to learn more about the community, philosophy and expectations. I commend the work and the steady growth I see here. Truly, this is something worth being part of.

Quick Intro
As stated in the title of this post, my name is D.J. Rees (Jonathan really, but have been called D.J. since I was a toddler - long not so interesting story.) My FaceBook

I am 40 yrs old and have spent the later half of my life, the last approximately 20 yrs, supporting the growth and personal success of people wanting more or better for themselves. My primary focus has been towards those experiencing mental health situations, teens and emerging adults, and those craving to get out of the criminal justice systems.

Life and Work
I am not a counselor. Though I have enough college credits to cover a bachelors, I have no major or track of study. I believe everyone should have the right and the motivation to learn as much as possible about that which interests them and/or that which they excel. I believe everyone, regardless of social/economic status should have the right to education and opportunity and will probably be the basis or theme of much that I will write - Especially Opportunity.

I have worked in Crisis Centers, Jails, for the PA Office of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (OMHSAS), Peer Support Centers, Residentials supporting teenagers through those impacted with Alzheimer's. I've enjoyed my fair time in Scrap Yards, Factories, Convenient Stores and Fast Food Joints and was a towel folder at the local YMCA. I have found people of vast inspiration in every realm of employment. I have been a direct care worker, consultant, cashier, manager, program director, laborer, unemployed, self employed, advocate, recipient and provider of mental heath and drug and alcohol services (only as a liaison and referrer of D&A services as I do like to drink and do not believe in hypocrisy), trainer, mindfulness coach, supervisor and director of programs. I have been granted such experience to be able to truly see that people are people no matter economics, employment, education, title, culture or current station in life.

The Power of Personal Experience
With the help and consultation of inmates in the Bradford County Correctional Facility, I developed a curriculum to train people how to offer, "Peer Support with in the Criminal Justice System," which quickly became the PA model and with the hard work and drive of Liz Woodley, Her FaceBook, has become the core of Alaska's, Georgia's, and another state's Forensic Peer Support training curriculum. Together we initiated the ground work with OMHSAS and the Department of Corrections (DoC) to bring the experience and employment opportunity to returning citizens behind the wall of PA's Correctional Institutions with the data backed understanding that providing opportunity to gain value in ones life significantly increases a person's chances of getting out of the criminal justice system permanently.

Together with a team of adults who experienced troubling childhoods, we created the first Teen Drop-In dedicated to those living through addiction, Domestically Violent homes, foster care, residential, juvenile justice involvement, and the culture of poverty in Pennsylvania that offered, free to them, peer support, advocacy, referral, and contact when removed from their homes.

So why am I writing this?
This is not bragging. This will give you an idea of what I will be writing about, my experience, and why I believe what I believe. I believe everyone can thrive, everyone can become more than and experience more than. It takes opportunity, personal responsibility, integrity, and the ability to weather hardship until it's achieved.

Me as a person
I am a nature fanatic. I love gardening, hiking, camping. I love to create, cook, music, festivals, art, and value generating conversation. And most importantly - I love beer, bonfires, and get-togethers.

I look forward to meeting you and contributing to the community!
DJ

Sort:  

Good to have you here, @djrees

Congratulations @djrees! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Look who's here ^^ @Djrees, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome @djrees on Steemit! Nice opinion you have about education. I also think it is really important and should be available​ for everyone!
Looking forward to reading​ articles about your experiences​ from the work at the prison.

I appreciate the welcome. One of my goals is to have an article out by mid October about Forensic Peer Support (FPS.)

FPS is allowing people with prior criminal backgrounds who have been able to stop recidivating (going back to jail/prison over and over) and instead establish a life of value to support, guide, and hold accountable those currently incarcerated or on parole/probation. The Peer Supporter is trained about the criminal justice system and educated about resources and communication skills.

What we are finding, is that the lived experience helps create quick trust and a standard of personal responsibility that is hard to achieve with other paid service providers (primarily because of the ability to call bullshit when a person tries to give up or manipulate the system.) The few states trying this service out are finding it effective on many levels and many prior inmates state they are able to develop friendships with positive role models and gain more motivation, because FPSs don't give up. people can leave the service anytime they want, and re-enter the service when they want to try again, in essence creating an un-burnable bridge of support.

More so, FPS gives those with a criminal background a chance at employment that they would not normally have. So many people that are willing to try give up because they can not earn an income to maintain housing, let alone income high enough to establish oneself in a life they can value or one of which they can be proud.

I look forward to hearing your opinion on the topic once I have all the info put together.

Nice to meet you, @djrees! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Thank you,
I appreciate the welcome!

It's an honor to have you onboard here in Steemit.
May you have good articles to post.
@djrees Followed you. Best regards, @robin-ho

Thank you, @robin-ho

I should have come aboard sooner. I love seeing ingenuity in action. What has been developed here, will be the inspiration to many and could be the seed that produces so many more, "from idea - to concept - to reality," People's Innovations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65