IntroduceyourselfsteemCreated with Sketch.

Are you willing to listen to my stories about how I have been able to help thousands of people live longer and healthier lives both with and without medicine? I am Board Certified in both OB/GYN and Preventive Medicine and I am impressed that STEEM allows writers to be rewarded for their work and cuts out the middle men (publishers and lawyers). I was greatly helped by Jerry Banfield (@jerrybanfield) with his 28 day boot camp for Steem newbies in getting started. Day one and two were the best. I had been on Steem for several months but got locked out of my account because I lost my password. Another great help was Chris(@Someguy123) at ANON STEEM cut through the red tape like a hot knife through butter. Many thanks to both. My son, Roger Grimes is a Civil Engineer ([email protected]), got me interested in crypto currency and STEEM. We started by playing Dark Souls on the internet (Steam). I am not sure if it is the same company. I am a medical doctor now semi-retired, I have delivered several thousand babies over 30 years. I quit keeping count at 3,000. Most OBs would describe delivering babies as 90% boredom and 10% sheer panic. Most pregnancies end with a healthy mom and baby and everyone is happy. Some complications can be managed with the same happy result but this has not always been the case. In 1900, one out of every ten babies died before reaching their first birthday and many mothers died in childbirth. My professional story begins at King High School in Tampa, Florida. As a sophomore I took a class in Physiology (with mostly juniors and seniors). Our class was taught by Miss Korte. I must admit I was secretly in love with her and found every excuse I could to stay after class. We dissected a fetal pig during the class and I became the famous “Pig doctor” of King High School. I knew I wanted to become a doctor and would need a strong background in science and math. Mainly due to my intense interest in medicine, I received the highest grade in our class. This made some of the seniors angry that a sophomore got the highest grade. This was a long time before computers so you had to spend a lot of time in the library and reading. I chose the University of Kentucky for Pre Med and undergraduate. Growing up in Florida (SEC) made me a big football fan but I was pretty sure my high school team could have beaten the UK football team (the SEC is a tough place to play). Bear Bryant had coached at UK before going to Alabama. My roommates said just wait until basketball starts. Coach Adolph Rupp had Pat Riley and Louie Dampier and they were like magic on the floor. UK still has the most basketball wins of any college. College was hard but not more than my high school classes, just a lot more work so you had to be studying most of the time and no “spoon feeding” from the faculty. The Vietnam war was in progress and some guys were in college just to avoid the draft. Some of the guys in my dorm never went to a single class. They played poker all day and went to parties (they had all F’s and dropped out after one semester). Dr. Nicholas J. Pisacano was my Pre Med advisor and once told me “the hardest part of medical school is getting in, if they are willing to work hard I can get a monkey through med school”. He was right about the hard work. I received a B.S. in Medical Technology from UK which was an excellent background for medical school. UK had a new medical school and I had planned on going to Emory because they had a better reputation. As an undergraduate, I started hanging out with medical students at UK and had always thought I wanted to dissect my own cadaver. I quickly found out that first year medical students know very little about dissecting and are much more likely to learn anatomy from a dissection done by a professional anatomist. I chose UK and have never been sorry. I have known doctors from Harvard, Yale, and Emory and never felt “second place”. You get out what you put in. I married my college sweetheart (Amy) at UK. UK has the most beautiful women in the world. I was on an Air Force scholarship through medical school and my orders were to just go to medical school. I had the typical long hair of the 70’s and had no idea how to salute. During the summer I was sent to Wright Patterson AFB for a summer “externship”. I quickly found that “new” Second Lieutenants need a haircut and to learn how to salute. I figured if taxi drivers and firemen can deliver babies, then being a new “hot shot” 2nd year medical student should make delivering babies a piece of cake. The doctors and nurses took me under their wings and taught me the difference between “90% boredom and 10% panic”. Under their supervision I assisted in doing 20 deliveries that summer and was trained to assist in surgery. Having Rheumatic Fever in the second grade led me to think of becoming a heart surgeon (like Dr DeBakey). As a child, I misheard and thought I had “Romantic Fever” and was destined to be a Lady’s Man. Boy did that not work out. Most medical students do not figure out what specialty they want to practice until their 3rd or 4th year when they rotate on the different services. Most of us changed our minds several times. I did not like heart surgery and found my true love in medicine was OB/GYN. Pregnancy was not all “fun” for women but most were happy and thankful after delivery that you were able to keep them and their babies healthy. I enjoyed delivering babies, doing surgery (C sections and hysterectomies), medicine (BCPs and hormone therapy), and psychiatry (sex therapy and marital problems). I could do all of these in OB/GYN. One of my Psychiatry Professors at UK was Dr. Connie Wilbur (Three Faces of Eve and Sybil) and was a world expert on multiple personalities. She also taught us that doctors and medical students know less about sexual dysfunction than your average graduate student, but you can learn. This was the time of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson (most of our “education” had been Hugh Heffner). I received four years of OB/GYN training at Wilford Hall USAF (Lackland AFB) and can truthfully say it was one of the best training programs in the world. Drs. Alvin Brekken, Bob Hill, Fred Massey, and John Hauth made me “the best I can be”. Dr. Brekken allowed me to initiate one of the first Sexual Dysfunction Treatment Centers in the Air Force. After 30 years of 2 AM deliveries, I decided to return to UK and received my Master of Public Health and became board certified in General Preventive Medicine. I now work part time (semi-retired) doing home wellness exams. When I had rheumatic fever doctors still made house calls. Now I am back where they started. I see Medicare patients at their homes and spend an hour going over their medical history and reviewing their meds. I then try to answer any questions they might have and make recommendations based on Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) to help them live longer and healthier lives. I see them once each year and these visits are paid for by Medicare. Please share this journey with me. As always research on the internet and discuss any recommendations I make with your doctor. Future Stories • How to live a longer and healthier life with no medication (the Nurses Health Study) • Understanding Evidence Based Medicine (EBM) • Medicines proven to reduce your chance of dying too early • How to prevent your baby from having a neural tube defect (NTD) and lifetime paralysis • What is the single leading cause of death in the US and what are the best ways to prevent it • Vaccine preventable deaths (VPD) • Which vaccines are important for you and your baby • Tests that can detect pre-malignant changes and prevent cancer • Which vaccines can prevent cancer • Understanding and preventing the deadly complications of osteoporosis (broken hips and spines) • Improving your sex life • Why are we in the middle of a diabetic epidemic in this country and how can diabetes be prevented with no medication • What is the newest and best form of birth control • And more

Sort:  

welcome to steemit, hope you enjoy your time on here

You have a pleasure of speaking, you expose very well your feelings and great stories from different parts of your life. I will follow you with pleasure because i have many things to learn from your sir.

Welcome to Steemit, i am new also and i enjoy reading people stories.

In my country its an old say: " a smart man, learn from mistakes, a wise man learn also from others mistakes".

I wish you all the best sir.

I enjoyed your remarks. May we both enjoy our journey.

Welcome to Steemit, dnagrimes! Wish you a very enriching experience here on Steemit! Life is beautiful

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

@dnagrimes, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit.
images (22).jpeg

Welcome and I can already tell you will be a valuable member of steemit because of your knowledge that's I why I have followed you.

Thank you for your kind reply.

Excellent article, a good start! Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad for new acquaintances and I followed you, I hope you follow me. Good luck to you!

Thank you for the kind review. My main interest is in health but if you have any health questions I would be happy to try and answer them

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad for new acquaintances and I followed you, I hope you follow me. Good luck to you!

Preventive medicine and natural remedies are key in life. I eat raw garlic each day. I eat from my gardens. Nice to meet you. I believe in preventing cancer and many things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59