INTRODUCE YOURSELF (Alaska Earthquakes, Bitcoin Crashes, and Surviving Medical School)

fullsizeoutput_15d.jpeg

Many of you may have heard this morning that there was a large magnitude earthquake in Alaska that prompted an early tsunami warning. Being as I am Alaska born and raised, I thought this would be a perfect segway to introduce myself to the community. (p.s. everyone is safe, and there is no apocalyptic tsunami tearing for the coast.) The picture above is taken from Wasilla, Alaska, my hometown, and just barely captures the awesome beauty that state beholds.

IMG_0414.JPG

My name is Gavin Nixon and I am a fourth year medical student at Midwestern University in Phoenix, Arizona. I got my bachelors of Science in Chemistry with an emphasis in Biochemistry from Pacific Lutheran University in 2010 and I will be graduating from medical school in May of this year. I am going into a specialty of medicine called PM&R (physical medicine and rehabilitation) which specializes in improving functionality and quality of life for people with disabilities (spinal cord injuries, strokes, traumatic brain injuries, amputations, traumas, etc...) Although I do not know where yet I am going.... (more on that to come.)

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 9.59.37 AM.png

My journey to Steemit has been an interesting one. I started investing in cryptocurrencies in early November 2017 just before the major hype it. I have been studying it as religiously as I have been studying medicine the last 4 years, and I am absolutely blown away with what blockchain technology is going to do for the world. I really enjoy checking out blockchain company platforms to see a real proof of concept for the technology and Steemit is an obvious winner. Right now the mainstream media and anyone who doesn't fundamentally understand what bitcoin and blockchain stand for keep yelling "BITCOIN IS CRASHING! THE BUBBLE IS POPPING." But honestly, I am not worried. Our crypto portfolios have been bleeding in the streets for the last few weeks but once the weak hands have shaken out we will stabilize and continue growing the blockchain revolution. ( and maybe one day I won't be poor.)

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 10.23.21 AM.png

I am very excited to join this community and will hopefully be able to add some real value to future readers. I will be posting a variety of content in the days and weeks to come. There will be medical knowledge, crypto analysis, traveling pictures, and life talk posts. We will take a deep dive and hopefully learn and grow along the journey.

Best,

Gavin

instagram name for verification: https://www.instagram.com/almostdoctorgav/
facebook name: Gavin Nixon

Photo Credit:
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/193303008984686037/
https://www.reddit.com/r/ethtrader/comments/68hkhy/lamboing_on_the_moon_have_fun_and_be_careful/

Sort:  

Congratulations @doctorgavinnixon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit! You’ll surely enjoy this platform😀 Good luck with med school too😀

Thank you! I only have 2 more months left so it is almost done!

Congratulations in advance!

Congratulations @doctorgavinnixon, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75