My Story, Starting A New LIfe, An Introduction Part 1

0828161335.jpg

Time to introduce myself. I was born in Germany and lived my life there until I was fourteen. I should have known it was coming, the big move that is. We, my parents and siblings and I, had applied for a green card 5 years prior and I guess it was finally our turn. We received a letter to appear at the American Consulate in Frankfurt, almost 200 miles away, within 1 weeks time. There we were fingerprinted had our pictures taken and went through a full medical exam. We then went home and waited again. The next letter we received informed us that we had two weeks to check in at the JFK airport in New York. That meant that we had less than 2 weeks to pack up our old life and start anew. Each of us kids were allowed to take 1 suitcase and 1 box (3' x 2' x 2'), that's what my life was reduced too. We left home, the streets were lined with the people from our small town (about 35 or so), it was a somber farewell.

20180410_195412.jpg
(An old photo of my hometown in Germany)

The excitement replaced with the reality that I was leaving everyone I had ever known behind, my extended family and all my friends not to mention my older brother and my older sister including her husband and 3 children. I had a 4-hour drive ahead of me cramped in the back seat of a station wagon with my older sister and my little brother. I was just grateful that the boxes were going by boat. We reached the airport and boarded a Pakistani airline, the seats were tight and the isles were almost non-existing, but it was my first time on a plane, so the excitement started taking over, I was on a plane. After a 16-hour flight we landed at JFK, the long line for immigration seemed to go on forever, once completed we went to our hotel for the night, my head hit the pillow and I was out. Next morning we were up bright and early to catch our next flight from LaGuardia to Chicago OHare then one more flight to Salt Lake City. My parents' friends greeted us at the airport, now one more car ride to our final destination. All I can remember was how hot it was and how bright the sun was so late in the evening. I was used to cloudy skies, we never saw much of the sun back home. We lived out of our suitcase at our friends' house for just over a month before we were able to move into our house. What a happy day that was, our boxes still hadn't arrived, but we had our own space again. Because of some really nice people we had some dishes furniture and an old black and white TV. School had started and it was a completely new experience, not speaking English didn't help that. With the help of our old TV and some hard work, I learned a new language. 2 years later I met my now husband and my life took another turn.

0827161720a.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed part 1 of my introduction. Please follow if you want to see part 2 and an upvote, resteem or comment would be awesome. I'm so excited to start posting here on steem. Thank You!!!

Sort:  

Hallo @dreaded-seeker, herzlich willkommen auf Steemit.

Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen deutschen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schau einfach mal auf unserem Discord-Server https://discord.gg/g6ktN45 vorbei.

Unter dem folgenden Link findest Du einige Anleitungen, die Dir den Einstieg in das Steem-Universum deutlich erleichtern werden: Deutschsprachige Tutorials für Steemit-Neulinge: Ein Überblick

Vielen Dank. Ich werde mir den link anschauen.

Welcome to steemit buddy. Keep steem on and good luck

Thanks so much!

Hello, @dreaded-seeker, and Welcome to Steemit.

That a unique and very interesting intro. (I love the photo of your hometown!)

You did not outline your interests, or what your focus on Steemit might be, but your writing shows that you have some promise.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks so much for the advice, I will definitely make use of it.

One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting.

I will check it out. Thanks again.

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Thank you for the advice, I'm excited to get started.


Welcome to Steem @dreaded-seeker.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks and will do!

Welcome, seeker. Did it take a long time for your profile to be approved? Mine took almost 2 weeks, but it was worth the wait.

I wanted to be one of the first to give you an up-vote too.

Please follow me if you like and we can share posts and up-votes and help build our profiles. Below is an example of a recent one. Please up-vote if you appreciate or find it interesting.

https://steemit.com/sportsphotography/@shauntaemonte/evan-strong-adaptive-action-sports-athlete

Dear @dreaded-seeker, thanks for your beautiful post, in order to support you i showed your picture in my blog. Please feel free to check the link below and if you like my effort then kindly donot forgot to upvote and follow me too. ;). If you donot like your picture there then just message me in that post, i will remove it.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts-page-1

Thanks so much, I appreciate It so much!

Hello Dreaded Seeker! It sounds like you met your husband really young...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-april-10th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Thanks so much, I will check out the links.

You are lovely and smart and I'm German and I love farms and I have gardens. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Nice to meet you Joey. Thanks for your comment.

Welcome to steemit!!!

Thank you glad to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59