A Hello From The Dreamer Wide Awake Now A Steemian

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit World! 

Thanks to @fukumineko I’m now a member of the Steemit community. She’s the one who told me about Steemit and how great it is to be here. 

Let me introduce myself to you all.  

Behind the Name - @dreamerwideawake 

I was born under the Pisces sign. We are known to be dreamers and are prone to be lost in fantasies if not controlled. When I was younger, I dream of so many things realizing later in my adulthood that those dreams are too far from reality. I prefer not to dream myself away into nothing but fantasy. I made a decision to live my dreams which is why I have learned to dream and be wide awake in reality at the same time

Behind the Dreams

I grew up having very loving parents who gave us all–out support for our education. I have so much respect for my parents because they did everything they can to send us, their children, to school. I am proud to say that all four of us are Bachelor’s degree holders. My parents are most proud of what we all have become. They taught us that with hard work and perseverance, everything is achievable. It was their dream to give us lives better than what they had when they were young. My Papa and Mama are the very first people to show us that dreams do come true!

Study First Before Entering the Kingdom of Love

I remember during my elementary and high school days, those autograph notebooks are very popular. We exchanged notebooks and fill in the information asked which include the name of your crush, motto, and other silly things. Haha! It’s funny how I find that very silly now when I enjoyed it as a teener. Anyways, for the motto, I always write “Study first before entering the kingdom of love.” Hahaha! Isn’t that the silliest thing to write as a motto? I sure lived with that motto, though. I never had a boyfriend when I was still in school. Even after I graduated from college, I did not have a boyfriend. Seven months after graduation, I went to Taiwan to work for an electronic company. For two years I have worked there not having a boyfriend still. When I came home, having been away from home since college, my father asked me to find work and stay in our town because he missed his favorite daughter a lot. I was hired in an office of our City Government and after more than two years, finally, I’ve found my prince charming.

First Love

My first love is now my husband. His name is John Marvel. We are exact opposites of each other. He is an extrovert, I am an introvert. He is very talkative, I am the silent type. He loves going out, I am a homebody. But believe it or not, we agree on almost everything. Our relationship is built on friendship. I consider him my best friend and he considers me as his. Being an outgoing person, he was able to bring me to different places inside and outside our province. He was able to show me the world and I am really thankful for that. We love traveling on his motorcycle. Although ours is not a perfect relationship, I am just thankful that we manage to stay faithful to each other until now that we are already married. 

Angel Mom 

After more than two years of being married, I got pregnant. I and my husband, together with my family were really super excited because my parents will be having their very first grandson. It was not an easy pregnancy for me because I have got gestational hypertension. The baby in my womb was slowly growing when he reached six months. Because of the high blood pressure, our baby was born one month earlier. Yes, he was born premature and weighed only 1 kg. We named him Gabriel John. It was love at first sight when I first saw our baby. The feeling is overwhelming. He was incubated in the NICU where he suffered from a hospital–acquired infection. His lungs were severely damaged by certain bacteria. After 17 days of fighting for life, our little one just did not make it. That was my very first heartbreak and it was very painful I cannot put it in words. As of this writing, I feel the pain all over again. How did I survive that tragic moment? Well, for me the only way I was able to cope was to endure the pain. I’d say that it made me stronger because after that incident I was able to smile despite the hurt. They say time heals all wounds. Maybe that’s true but the scar remains and it reminds me of the pain every now and then.   

Heart Warrior 

After almost three years, I got pregnant again. I was extra careful that time. I researched how not to get hypertensive again during that pregnancy. I watched everything I ate. I only ate fish, vegetables, and fruits. Thankfully, I never had a high blood pressure episode for that entire pregnancy. I delivered our second son on schedule. We named him Kobe Marvel. The feeling of love when I first saw him was as overwhelming as when I saw our first son. We were so thankful to God that everything was fine. Ten days after his birth, on his follow–up checkup with his pediatrician, our happiness was cut short. The doctor heard a murmur in his heart. He underwent 2d – echo and was found to have a hole in his heart. I felt so scared that time. For a month or more, I cried every night asking God for a miracle because of the fear of losing our son again. Good thing that as I research about our son’s heart problem, I found support groups – parents who also have heart warriors of their own. I learned not to focus on our son’s heart defect but focus on giving him his needs, most of all, give him the love that he deserves. Thankfully, he is now a very active and happy baby. He just turned seven months last Sunday. In his latest 2d – echo, the hole in his heart got smaller. We could not thank God enough for hearing our prayers. We keep on praying for the total healing of Kobe’s heart. Prayers can move mountains. It sure can close holes, right? We believe in the power of prayers.

My Math World 

Having a Bachelor’s degree in Science majoring in Computer Engineering, I was previously an Engineering Assistant Professor. Looking for a more stable job with a security of tenure, I joined our country’s Department of Education of which I'm now a Senior High School Math teacher. I am happy teaching anything that’s Math. When I was not yet busy being a Mom, I tutored elementary students who enrolled in the tutorial center of the family of @chinitacharmer. Now that my world is revolving around my son, I have a hard time going out of our house aside from work and Church duties, I do online tutorials.   

My Passion for Writing 

Although I am mathematically inclined, I have a passion for writing. I discovered that passion when I was still in high school. I was a part of our school paper’s editorial staff. I have also written online articles before. I even started blogging but due to lack of time, I was not able to pursue my dream to become a blogger. I am very happy now that I am a part of Steemit because my passion for writing is awakened. I plan on writing so many things, but of course, I need to think about what to write best so that I will be able to contribute to the Steemit community. Most probably I would be writing about motherhood, parenting, and CHD (congenital heart disease) awareness.

Well, I guess that’s basically what it’s all about me for now. I hope my introduction did not stress you out. 

And, hey! I heard that Steemit is an amazing community with lots of supportive people. I am anticipating your support for this first post of mine. Thanks and see you around!  

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @dreamerwideawake!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Great welcome message! Thanks @introbot and @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit @dreamerwideawake. I read your intro post and I found myself relating to your experiences that it is surreal. I have three daughters, two of them are here in Steemit. The eldest died at childbirth due to chord coil complications. She was the most beautiful baby I ever saw, all of 9.4 lbs and 24 inches long. My second, @noellesevilla, also had heart murmur detected one week after birth because of a hole in her heart. The youngest, @jacinta.sevilla was born 6 months premature and also weighed 1 kilogram. I know the difficulties you narrated above because I lived through them. I am glad you have survived these trials and I look forward to your success in our community.

Thanks @gems.and.cookies
You're two daughters are all grown up now? God is really good, Sir.

Yes maam G, and they are both great artists. :) I am a follower of this family, the Sevillas! :)

Thank you very much @chinitacharmer. That's very nice of you. God bless you.

Yes, they are both grown up now. Noelle is 26 years old while Jacinta is 24. Yes, God is really good all the time.

I'm so glad to get to know someone like you here Sir @gems.and.cookies. I admire you and your wife for surpassing life's challenges. You serve as an inspiration. Thank you Sir.

Yey Im so happy that you joined us Maam G! Im pretty sure you'll have fun Steeming as you dont just have the passion for writing, you're also really good at it. I welcome you also to Ohana @steemitfamilyph. If you need anything we're here to help.

Moreover, this post has been nominated for Steemit Family PH Daily Featured Articles. Good luck! 😊

Thank you very much Ma'am Maine 😊

THat was a great introduction. Sorry for the loss of your first son. He must be called to do other things. You should do well here, you have some real talents with writing. Math helps too. Blessings on your journey.

welcome to steemit:) upvoted and followed u!!

Welcome to Steemit, @dreamerwideawake! You've already done very well on your Intro post and we're excited to see your next blogs!

Your post is featured in Steemph Davao's Daily Featured Posts for March 7. Great job!

Wow! Thank you very much @steemph.davao

Welcome Maam G.. 😄😊

Thanks Sir Mark :)

Hey there! You were featured in the Daily @steemitfamilyph Featured Posts 60th Edition. Congratulations!!

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and I love your photos and I was home taught by my mother and mothers are the best and I love natural remedies and I eat garlic everyday.

Hi Oatmeal Joey Arnold. It's very good to hear how you admire your mother and all other mothers, at that. I hope everyone can appreciate and recognize mothers like you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68