Hello World

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My name is Martin-Ante. Parents couldn't decide on a single name, so they gave me both but we will get to that later.

See the prick that doesn't own a car, looking all deep in thought and shit, on the picture below?

                      

                      Yep. That is me.

I was born in 1993. in Zagreb Croatia as a single child ( at least as far as I know ) to two quite distinct people. You see 93. was the year in which the Yugoslav civil war was still going on.  A war for independence is what they call it. I'm not convinced, but that is a story for another time. 

Anyway, let me just start from the beginning. My, now deceased, father was special recon. operative for, what would today become known as a spec. op. branch of Croatian military (back then, they were just "rebels" fighting for what they believed was right ). He was that type of a mean fucker with a knack for crime who got picked out of a gulag known as "Goli otok" by , at the time general Ante Gotovina. Now there's a name you could swear you read just a moment ago. My father thought it would be a great idea to name me after a guy who recruited him into a fucking war. He even made him his best man. Brilliant. 

Luckily, mom had a brain. Therefore, Martin. 

As its usually the case with wars, they have a tendency to end. So at this  point in the story, we are left with a guy who knows nothing but crime and warfare. I will leave you with a cliffhanger here.

Mom ... a polar opposite. Respected but strict family. A successful father, my grandfather, who achieved allot. An academic, intellectual. With degrees in information sciences and architecture. At a price. Mom paid the price of course. I would run away and marry the "devil" himself too.  Despite, she is the perfect example of just how strong a human being can be and what can one endure. A perfect example at least in my eyes!

What she went trough so far, I swear I would be dead 5 times by now. And that did not change her. Sure it affected her. But she stayed true, just and fair! Way to go ma. 


And then there's me. An offspring of two different worlds. With only a relative sense of direction in life. On a quest to discover my self. The true meaning of what I am, my purpose. But despite everything I do not know, all the flaws in the design that is me, there is one thing I'm a hundred percent sure about; A firm believer in humanity. Of all the potential we all posses, we just have to find it. A believer in a better tomorrow. Brighter world, that evolved above prejudice and oppression. A world of free human beings living the way mother Nature intended for us in all of her glory. 

I'm also a big fan of science, though I never had the patience and persistence to finish college. Animal sciences. I was so happy when they accepted my application, for the first time I felt like somebody. To be honest that day was one of the happiest days of my life. And I blew it. 

And as my eyes are getting slightly wet with tears, I'm realizing I should probably check out. Showing weakness was never something I was comfortable with. I sincerely hope I didn't ruin your day with my introduction, but there was really no other way to go about it. 

Speaking out the truth about ourselves, and everything else, is the first step of accepting who we are. We can achieve so much ( I'm talking to you Martin ), reach far and beyond and accomplish anything we set our minds to.

I hope you have a wonderful day internet user. And remember; you are much stronger than you think!



Sort:  

welcome to steemit

Thank you very much good sir. one big cheers for you!

This introduction post is awesome my man!

Enjoyed every single bit of it... I highly appreciate the fact you spoke your truth and I'm looking forward to read more from you!

This was really nice in my humble opinion, wish you a great day and successful career here on Steemit!

gonna smoke a fat joint for you...

Peace 😎

Man I am glad you liked it! And I'm looking forward to writing more, so you can definitely expect more from me. Enjoy your Big J.
Now that I think about it I might join you in that endeavour!
Peace!

Do you want to? I'm not gonna light it up until you reply.

Waiting... Btw you can reply to me on Fb since I'm heading out now

@originalworks

Please stand by. Construction in progress. :)

I, also, appreciated your dry humour and that you were willing to dig in and give us more truth than most people are comfortable with.

I hope that steemit helps you discover more of your positive aspects and where it is you want to go in life.

Your nik, elythies, sounds very much like the Greek word, alithies, which means 'truths'. Does it mean something else?

I am very glad that you liked it, and appreciate the fact that you took the time out of your day to read my post! This is much more than I hoped for and I'm grateful for your feedback!

As for the nick, it is a nick I chose when creating an a account for a video game when I was 16 years old. It came out of my head. I had no idea if it was even a word or a name I just liked the way it sounds. But there was an intention of making it sound like something out of Greek history.
I was a huge sucker for Greek and Roman history back then!

I'm going to follow, just because I'm curious to see what direction you take....
:)

Nice to meet you. Looking more content from you. followed and upvoted. Wish you best of luck!

Thank you! And best of luck to you as well!

Beautiful! Thanks for sharing your story. Welcome to steemit! I'm already following you. Good luck.

Thank you for the warm welcome! This is just a tip of the iceberg and I'm looking forward to sharing more experiences. If some of them help people, and if they learn from my mistakes and do not make the same ones themselves as a result, It is the best reward I can get!

Hi Martin welcome to steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54