Introduceyourself: A New Adventure

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi, I am Essie and I like following straight lines.

When I was much younger, I got lost in the cemetery after mindlessly following a line of pattern on the pavement. *Square inside of a circle, circle inside of a square, square inside of a circle, circle inside of a square * But when I looked up, I can no longer see my Mom and cousins who were with me to visit my Granpa's grave. Amidst the sea of people, I stood within the pattern I was following. I don't actually remember what happened next but I eventually ended up at the cemetery's control center where they blasted over the megaphone the description of what I was wearing and later on my worried Dad, who they contacted when I gave them our home phone number, came to pick me up.

This experience somehow got stuck and now that I am much older, I think I still follow straight lines. Patterns. Well thought ideas. Never taking much risks, and sticking to what I know best. So when my husband, @davinsh started blogging and invited me to join Steemit, I had second thoughts. What's this all about? Yes, I used to blog but never really for an audience, it was more of an online diary really. However, now that I see him devoting time, meeting online friends, and relieving much stress after a hard day's work by posting what he likes, I began to reconsider things. More than what people can earn, I think it's the possibility of actually having fun and enjoying the process is what attracted me to join. Alas, here's my #introduceyourself post.

26937432_1794628233880820_673681312_o.jpg

My handler name @essiehime, is my name (obviously) + hime (like "hee" in heels") which means princess in Nihongo, and by now you might've guessed that I like Japanese culture, and watching anime. I got the nickname way back and never outgrew. I am a beginner in the language but am hoping to get better at it as I am planning to enroll in a local Nihongo class soon. I can share all our daily lessons here and hopefully we can all talk in Nihongo someday!

I am currently working as a software support for an insurance company. On my spare time, I love reading works of Neil Gaiman, Haruki Murakami and Agatha Christie. I am also a Potterhead, a proud Hufflepuff!

@davinsh and I have been trying to conceive our "Baby Anya" (what my niece calls my tummy haha) for 2 years now and hopefully whatever I earn and learn here in the community can help us. I plan to share what we have done so far, as well as the recommendations from our OB Gyne to help those who does not have an idea where to start in their baby journey. Shout out to those trying to have little angels too! Let's not lose hope.

Hi again, my name is Essie and I've begun taking detours. Small at first, but hopefully will create a ripple in our everyday lives.
15676011_1377631128913868_1614897960279615148_o.jpg

WIth the ever supportive @davinsh

Sort:  

Welcome to the steemit community ! Wishing you lots of success in your journey. 1 peace of advice to you is do not give up just keep on posting everyday!

Thank you for the advice, @richard-921. Much appreciated. :)


Congratulations! You are one of our Weekly featured Authors.

Welcome to Steemit Philippines. Check out @steemph and join us in discord to connect with other Filipinos on Steemit.


nice to meet you

Hello, nice to meet you too! @diya28

Hi! It’s nice to meet you.

Hello, @toddcurry! Nice to meet you too!

I have been blogging for some time also using Wordpress, Tumbler and other platforms and just like you it was more of an online diary for my musings, short stories and poetry.

Steemit is a while new animal for me because it is really a social platform wherein I got to create some great relationships.

I hope that you enjoy your stay in Steemit and unleash your creative side.

Thank you @maverickinvictus! I heard so much good things about you from @davinsh. Hoping to start writing again in this platform. Excited to see you around!

Welcome kabayan.
Steem On! Enjoy your stay here.

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Thank you, @steemgigger! See you around!

Hi, nice meeting you! I am also a newbie here ☺️ If I may ask, do you believe in feng shui figurines? I have been researching about their fertility figurines. Try placing trunkdown elephants on both sides of the bed. It might help to attract fertility energy. You could try researching about it. It might help ☺️

Hi @redbarbiegirl! Yes, I have some local fertility figurines somewhere near our headboard but have not heard of trunkdown elephants! Will definitely check it out. Thank you very much!

Hello Welcome to Steemit my friend :)

Thank you @crowolf! See you around!

Welcome to Steemit essiehime. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem/Steemit. The official FAQ can be found here and is quite extensive https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also, Steemit is just one of the sites using Steem the blockchain. We also have Dtube, Dsound and Steepshot if you prefer videos,music or pictures instead of blogging content. And many more of course!

Welcome mahal.. Glad you're in, I am sure you'll love it here being a bookworm and geek.. lol.

Thank you for introducing me to this! Now I can start writing again haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55