Hello! I'm Russell - Musician, Content Curator, and Blogger

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My name is Russell Matthews.

I'm a Canadian who is passionate about music, blogging, and sharing my experiences to help others.

I recently graduated from the Jazz Performance program at the University of Toronto.  I play saxophone primarily, but I'm proficient in a range of other instruments!

About a year ago I created an instagram account called Instajazzvids.  It highlights some of my favourite moments for famous jazz concerts in history.  It also includes interview snippets, to help inspire and inform anyone who sees the post.

Also, I manage a website called Jazz Traveller.  My goal for this site is to provide music performers and music lovers alike with the tools they need to let their music take them around the world.

*Personal Honesty Alert*

When I first graduated from school for music, I felt nervous about entering the 'real world'.  With so many people struggling to find jobs, and struggling to make ends meet, I started doubting my choices.  I'm sure many recent graduates can relate!

Over the past while, I've tried to shift my perspective.  Instead of worrying about the future, I try to just focus on helping people by creating content I'm passionate about.  That way, even if I struggle, I can take pride in the fact that I've improved at least one person's life.

---

I've just recently developed an interest in cryptocurrency, and I stumbled upon Steemit and the wonderful community that has developed here.  I plan on bringing this mindset to this platform, to connect with and help even more people!

If you know of any established musicians communities here on Steemit, please let me know in the comments!  Help a newbie out, haha!

I look forward to getting to know, and interacting, with all of you.

Talk to you soon,

Sort:  

warm welcome

Thanks so much!

Welcome! I look forward to seeing what you have to post :)

I don't know any established musician communities, I'm afraid, but I do review videogame soundtracks with some frequency, so if those interest you, my reviews are detailed, long-form reads.

Self-promotion out of the way, welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your stay.

Hi Terry,

Thanks for the warm welcome! I'm actually quite interested in video games and video game history, so i've given your blog a follow!

I look forward to more great stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73