You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mikearound Is Joining Steemit -- Stories From the Path Less Traveled

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Congratulations on the great start here on Steemit! Traveling blogs do really well since they are interesting to many different people. You write very well too, so that certain helps!

You wrote that you've been on the road since 2017. That's a long time to be away from your homeland. What are your travel goals or do you have any? Where do you plan to go from India?

My father was a machinist and mechanic, and we always had motorcycles around when I was a child. My first motorcycle was a 90 Kawasaki. It was a blast, and I had countless hours of fun riding it. Riding definitely gives you a sense of freedom, but the adrenaline rush you get is also wonderful.

I have four children, and them knowing how to ride a motorcycle is a requirement. They need to learn how to ride a bike, horse, and motorcycle, or I feel I will have failed them as a father. haha What was the first motorcycle you rode? Have you done much off roading?

Taking a dirt bike into the woods is an amazing way to go camping!

Edit: The fastest I've ever ridden a motorcycle was going 165 miles an hour up hill on the back of a V65 Magna with my dad driving it. That was insane. As a kid I would ride on the gas tank with no helmet too. It is a miracle I survived to adulthood.

Sort:  

Hey Finnian, thanks a lot!
Yeah, it's a long time indeed. I had taken two amazing months to reach India, where I spent another four. To me, it's a really fascinating country and also pretty huge!
Last summer, I took a small break, to consider where next from India. I have been continuing the journey since September, heading all over South-East Asia, and now in Malaysia.
I have always been hesitant on setting a fixed goal, knowingly that you both can reach great things with a goal in mind, but possibility is always there you are becoming a bit neglecting for the way. So my intention is just to enjoy the travel experience as fully as I can. It certainly motivates me to hear and read all the positive feedback both from home and from the locals I meet on an everyday basis, and some tell me that they are feeling themselves more open-minded when I am telling them how I go about my travels. I wouldn't say this is my primary goal, though. I primarily want to get to know myself better through my travels, so I can share a sense of positivity and happiness with others, if that makes sense.
Yeah I have ridden quite a few bikes, also a motocross one. The bike I am traveling with is a BMW R100R, a road bike, but as long as its not muddy, I am quite amazed how far it goes when off-roading.
My first bike was a 125-cc two-stroke, a Honda NSR that I really loved and that taught me a lot about motorcycle maintenance.
The fastest I've went was with an S1000RR BMW, as I was lucky to work with BMW Motorrad during my engineering studies. I checked out its max speed on a test track, which was around 305 kph or 180-something mph. It felt like riding a cannon ball.

180! Wow. I'd rather have a dirt bike in the woods than a sport bike on a track. Speed is fun and all, but getting dirty and jumping are more fun to me. :) Yes, I agree that most people are good and interact voluntarily and peacefully. We are programmed to believe otherwise though since that favors rulers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50