How Working At A Wildlife Farm In Africa and Living As Digital Nomad Changed My Life Completely

Hey guys,


Happy to meet you ☺


I’m a wanderlust traveler, digital nomad and entrepreneur and I just love to travel the world. Give me my backpack and I’m the most happy person on the planet – ok, include some animals, adventures and friends and then I’m the most happy person in the universe! 


Life is just too short to stay in one place so I decided to follow my passion and to live my dream. But to be honest, that wasn’t always that way:


I grew up in a small village surrounded by many animals – I think we really had a small zoo in our garden ;)


But after I returned from studying languages abroad I couldn’t imagine living in this small village anymore. But I still didn’t know what to do. 


All my friends chose the well-known way: university, then applying for a job. So I did the same. 


After moving to a big city, studied economics and started working as product manager for international companies like Christian Dior and Shiseido. 


I was flying around Europe for meetings as I developed more than 100 products at a time. That may sound great but it was a combination of getting up very early, cab, airport, cab, office, cab, airport, home. My social life was evaporating and I felt stuck.


I realized that I didn’t choose this life, but life chose me! I was so frustrated and knew I had to change something. 


I remembered that some years ago I saw a documentary about a wildlife farm in Namibia and I was intrigued immediately. But sometimes life gets in the way and so I forgot about it while studying, applying for a proper job and following my career. 


But I needed more. I needed adventure. I wanted to do something meaningful. To give something back.


In between two jobs I grabbed my stuff and went to Namibia for working at the wildlife farm - and it was amazing. 

It was one of the most impressive experiences in my life and these weeks changed everything. 


Working so closely with wild animals, helping them to survive, helping to keep alive whole species being at danger to become extinct…that was just so fulfilling and rewarding. 


And the best part: during that time a German TV station filmed a documentary about the farm. The director asked if I wanted to be a part of it and of course I said yes. So we had a lot of fun filming as the team followed me around, documenting my daily life at the farm. 

Everything was an adventure and I just loved it. I felt alive and very very happy. I had the feeling that I could make this world a little bit better.


When I came back I was alien material. I felt like I didn’t belong into this life anymore. I missed the animals, I missed the freedom, the colors of the African landscape, the sounds, the…everything. I missed everything. 


Something had changed. I had changed. 


Then the first day in my new job. My marketing director greeted me very warmly (not). She glared at me and said:  I will challenge you. Then we will see if your shoulders are strong enough of if you break – and I don’t need that.


Wow, what a motivational speech. I felt sick to the bones as I’m really not a pushy kind of girl. I want work to be fun, having nice colleagues (which I always had) and giving my best. But wow.


So after just 6 months I quit my job. I just couldn’t stand it anymore. I didn’t know what to do and that was extremely frightening sometimes…and sometimes I just felt at ease and knew that amazing things will come my way.


I went back to Africa working at the farm again. 


I enjoyed this time so much that I came back 4 times in total, always working with the film crew and spreading the word about this farm, the animals and the good things you can do in your life. 


One day I learnt about a movement called “Digital Nomads” and I was fascinated. These people and entrepreneurs lived and worked location independent and traveled the world while working. 


So I packed my backpack, canceled my apartment and booked a one-way flight to Bangkok. 


Ever since I’m traveling the world, meeting amazing and inspiring people, working closely with the community of digital nomads to help others taking their first step into their location independent life. 


I love to give back. I love to inspire people. 

Showing them that everybody deserves an amazing life and that we all can help improving the life of others – humans and animals. 


I’d be happy if you joined me on my trips and maybe you are inspired to live the life you really want. And who knows, maybe some day we’ll meet somewhere and drink a coconut together ;)


Love, FlipFlopRebel


Sort:  

I really liked your story! Welcome to Steemit. I'm sure this platform is very nice for digital nomads like yourself :) I'm looking forward to reading your posts in the future!

Thanks for the warm welcome :). I'm so curious about all the amazing people I'll meet here

Welcome to Steem @flipfloprebel I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you so much, glad to be here and meeting you all :)

Hello and welcome :)
thanks for sharing
have a beautiful time here ;)

thank you, I will :)

Waoow ! grrr... great to see you here! Impressive ! Best success for your next adventures.

Haha, thank you and a happy grrrr back to you ;)

that's frightening, I am more in meow crowd :).

Welcome to the Steem community my friend!

Thanks, it's really great to be part of this community

Hi, Flipfloprebel, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Hi there, so let's grow together ;)

Travel blogging is a really popular type of post here on Steemit. I think you'll do well here with your wild animal adventures. Welcome.

Thanks for your warm welcome. There are so many adventures out there so let's go find them :)

Oh, I just saw that you are a film maker - I will check out your posts

Yeah, I'd like to share more about filmmaking - it's one of my deepest passions in life. Mostly lately I'm sharing about various forms of creative expression, since I'm new here, and I'm working to find my voice.

Upvoted! great story love the decisions you made, very brave.
Will keep an eye out for your posts
Travelled for four years and loved it, back in Amsterdam for now but thinking about the next stap, need to travel again!
Enjoy the platform

Wow, you traveled for a pretty long time, too. Amsterdam is just around the corner as I'm originally from cologne. Will check out your posts

But so many more places to go... the travel bug!

@flipfloprebel your killin it! Very nice intro post and welcome to Steemit

Thank you :). Yeah, it's pretty amazing working with wild animals - and always unexpected...

Follow @traxiko , I follow back instantly I promise , just to help each others ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56