45,000 Subscribers on YouTube

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi everyone!

I never actually did an introduceyourself post so let's say this is it.

WhatsApp-Image-2018-02-18-at-18.10.png

That's me. I hate taking photos of myself, I always look fucking stupid as you can obviously see. I'm 25, live in Zagreb, Croatia and I'm a computer engineer, programmer or whatever you wanna call it. That's my real job and I can't complain, I like what I do.
Besides that I have two other big passions - gaming and YouTube. In September 2015 I finally decided to combine those two and start a gaming YouTube channel with my brother @ares86. So thats exactly what we did - we created a new channel, called it GameOfBros and started making videos. Two and a half years later these are our stats - 8 million total views and 45k subscribers.
gob1.PNG

It may not seem much, but for a Croatian speaking channel it's actually quite impressive and I'm very proud of it. We're currently ranked 85 by subscriber count in Croatia (probably around top 50 when you remove all the official music channels).

But being a YouTuber is not nearly as simple and rewarding as most people think, especially if you don't speak English. We've made more than 400 videos and almost none of them "paid off". Ad revenue in the Balkans is practically 0 and making money from views is quite difficult. Our 8 million views have made us a bit less than $600 - yes, it's THAT bad.

pare.PNG

When you add the money we got from an occasional sponsored video the number goes up to around $1500-$2000. Quite obviously not nearly enough to make a living out of it.
Let's put it in perspective. There are exactly 419 videos on our channel. Each took at least 2 hours to film, edit and upload - that's 838 hours for $2000 or $2.38 per hour.
But at the end of the day the whole point to is create content, make people laugh and have fun and that's exactly what we have been doing for the past 30 months. I would love to be able to be a full time YouTube content creator but it is what it is, I can only contiune to work hard and hope for things to get better.

Here on Steemit I'll be mostly posting photography and travel related stuff and I hope you'll like it.
Who knows, maybe one day I'll become a full time Steemian instead ;)

Have a great day people,
frajer

Sort:  

Dobrodošao. Mislio ssm da se s toliko pratitelja može puno više zaraditi. Možda bude lakše nasteemitu. Ali kao što kažeš zabava je najbitnija.

Ma može se nešto više od ovog ako se aktivno traže sponzori, ali kako radim većinu dana pa još snimanje, teško je još nać vremena i volje za slat 20 mailova :). Vidjet ćemo, za sad ide dobro na Steemitu :) pozz!

nice post bro :)

thanks! dont forget to upvote ;)

Welcome @frajer to SteemIt! If you need some help rally Steemians around your project we've started @platforms to help create Steemit related communities around projects . Either way have a great day!

Welcome :-)

thanks! ;)

Congratulations.

45.000 subscribers is definitely a nice number but 50.000 has a nicer ring to it. :) Hope you get there soon. Good luck.

Yep, I agree, hopefully I'll get there soon :)

Thank you so much!

frajeru, pa čestitam! u potpunosti se slažem da je teško biti youtuber u hrvatskoj... pooosebno ako ne govoriš engleski. ovo je stvarno veliki uspjeh imati 45 tisuća subscribera! i uz to, to ti nije full time job. Divim ti se! studentica sam, al mi je totalno teško naći više vremena za youtube-anje i slično... ja mogu samo sanjati o uspjehu kao tvojem :'D

Ej! Hvala ti puno! Da, teško je nać vremena za sve aktivnosti koje su danas na raspolaganju, ali ak se dobro organiziraš vjerujem da možeš! Samo nemoj odustajati i lagano će to doć sve na mjesto. Pozz!

Neću odustati!! 😄😄 hvala!

You got a 1.07% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @frajer!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

fkt jebeno lik! kak sam dolazio kod hrca nisam pretjerano bacio oko na tvoj setup! mogo bi i ja post za setup napravit cini mi se :P

Definitivno napravi! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80