My path to wellness

Hi Steemit users,

I am a chronic doer. I have spent the last 10 years of my life busily trying to do things, working so hard at things that I have seriously damaged my health. It may be because I spent some of my earlier years being an escapist and nihilist. I had lost time and desperately wanted to make up for it and so I made myself busy, after finishing a degree in media and cultural studies I got out there in the city, busied myself going out lots, making radio shows about art, music and culture, being involved with music myself as a singer and generally doing LOADS.

001.jpg Me during a busy and creative time in my life, always involved with the local scene in my city

I am a creative person and always found it difficult to exist within the framework provided by society. Getting up at silly o clock to go and work in a job I didn't care about. Sitting at a desk which caused me chronic neck and back pain. Or standing on my feet doing jobs that I didn't realise were wrecking my body. In between I would find solace in music, either singing in bands, recording, or radio presenting and production, really trying to find a way to make my passion pay for itself. My attempts at starting a serious singing career generally were thwarted by my health and wellbeing. Gigging, late nights, and insecure wages were never really enough to keep creeping depression at bay and the feeling that I was worthless because I wasn't making money doing what I loved. As a performer your self image becomes so tied up with your work, it literally can feel like standing naked in a room full of strangers. At times, performing can be a very lonely path.

Frustrated at my lack of any meaningful success in music, I went back to college to learn more skills and studied radio production, business, then music production. It was in the middle of my music production course that crisis came – I was having to support myself through college and was doing 5 jobs, all of them physical, and walking sometimes more than 10 hours per week on concrete, plus doing daily yoga. One day my knee just would not hold me up any more. That was 2.5 years ago, and I have been unable to work a “normal” job since. My knee has slowly got better and I have since realised that it was compensating for my back – I have recently been diagnosed with osteoarthritis and scoliosis. I have been in considerable pain for a long time – so I am having to find ways that I can work for myself, from home, or preferably on a beach somewhere, but the biggest priority is maintaining the health I still have and improving upon my current situation in which I am often feeling too unwell to do most regular activities because of pain.

I am now learning to undo this state of affairs. Luckily, although I felt I had wasted time being a nihilist, I had actually done lots of reading, with the ultimate aim to master the art of happiness. I read hundreds of self help books and spent a lot of time writing diaries which are a useful tool for self analysis. Through these behaviours I have become quite self aware, and see myself as a work in progress, constantly re-evaluating my habits and behaviours. This phase stood me in good stead for uncertain times ahead. The further I go on, the more I realise that all the small things I have done have lead me up to this point, and I have decided to follow the path of mastery, if I can master my own body and become well again then I feel I will have lived up to my potential.

23244100_10155792813576774_4240497285308806249_n.jpg
My heroic stance - it helps me to feel powerful!

I am embarking on the mythical heroic journey. On my way to self mastery I am encountering many challenges and obstacles. I am on my way through the other side, having just experienced a healing crisis: so many things all at once, and on the verge of a nervous breakdown I decided enough was enough, it was time to stop efforting. I have picked up the I Ching again and am using it as a guide. I am studying and reading every day, and currently mastering the law of attraction, by listening to as much Esther Hicks as I can manage. I am writing daily, and because my health has become my primary focus in life, I realise I need to find ways of making money that support my health. I have been keeping a daily health diary – so why not share this with people, the things I am doing to support my healing are many and varied, and I have a lot of information to share. I am in the process of completely changing my life – on every level, physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual – and there will be a lot of awesome topics to cover, from subjects such as psychology, wellbeing therapies, sports and physical disciplines, diet, nutrition, personal development, coaching and sometimes recreational subjects like music and art. The things I am learning are very interesting, and I am excited to share them.

I am at the very beginning of this journey, as I was only fully diagnosed in November, and have only just had this healing crisis. I feel this new year is a great opportunity to turn things around for myself, and had thought about doing a blog already so have discovered Steemit at exactly the right time.

So follow me, keep up to date with my progress and let's share this amazing new world full of inspiration, healing, and fun, would love to hear from others going through similar things and share advice and encouragement!

Sort:  

Dear Frances,

Thanks for being so open about your life from the start :>)

I would love to read content like yours. I feel it would be an added value to this platform. People should talk more about health and their struggles. It's only human. I suppressed that for way too long but I turned around.

Besides that, I'm sure sharing all this will benefit you (and people in general) - as you must have noticed while writing your diaries. And financial benefit is an added bonus.

As one of many creatives on here, I can easily identify with you. Believe me when I say I've also had - and still have - my health issues (problems with my lungs, daily headaches and depression - guess I got rid of the latter) but I'm lucky to not be in chronic pain or anything.

I went through a self help phase myself recently and discovered Taoism and the E Ching. And I should probably do more with that, but it helped me change my thinking. I started to believe/ see that I can shape my life the way I want it to be and I'm starting to listen to my heart more and more instead of listening to my brain and doing what others expect from me. I'm 36 you know ; )

You got yourself a new follower and I'm looking forward to getting to know you better...

Un abrazo,

Vincent, a full time Steemian

Thank you for your lovely reply, I am so glad you appreciated my post and that it meant something to you! I definitely agree that writing about my healing process will help me and hopefully others too. I look forward to sharing more as I get more comfortable with using Steemit!

Hope you get more comfortable with it soon but take your time ;>)

Yes I am taking my time, I need to make sure my content is good quality! I have had a busy week so I haven't given it enough thought yet however I am making daily notes and making it a priority :)

Great! that sound like the right kind of approach.

Thank you - I just posted my first video on dtube, I would love to know what you think of it!

Beautiful content. Keep it going.

Thank you so much! :)

Wow, congrats on so completely re-forming your life ♦♦ It is important to FOCUS on one's health, as I've also learned 'to the Nth degree' this last year.

I realize you are yet SHAPING/Overhauling your existence, so it'll be inspirational to listen in ♦♦ I 've been interested in Psychology since I was 14. Wellness + wellbeing therapies more recently (past 5 years ).

Right now I am using a natural herb to keep my blood sugar healthy - BERBERINE.

I study #Herbs, & things that are #Fitness related -- Think I'll follow you, m'lady, as I see You DO have things to impart.

Isn't it amazing how #FOOD/diet can impact us ♦♦ I am considering keeping a food diary (My sister-in-law gave me a nice log book for Christmas, maybe I'll use that ).

PS - Goal-buddy.com = a Neat site for #goal setting

Hi there, thank you for your reply! It's great to meet like minded people on here and I have followed you too! How is the food diary going have you started? New year is great motivation yet I feel we definitely benefit from mutual encouragement along the way! I don't keep a food diary any more, I used to. But I try to eat organic healthy food and I don't eat wheat or dairy any more, for health reasons and keep sugar to the absolute minimum, using things like maple syrup as an alternative. Thanks for the link I will take a look!

Congratulations @francesmary! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Anybody who is succeeding in the music game and says they aren't hustling 24 hours a day is lying about one or the other. I've had to grind running a recording studio, touring and music production simultaneously with a constantly shifting calendar just to make it happen. I think if you (and me!) are here on Steem you are already forward thinking enough to monetize what you do and not have to get run over the coals 7 days a week to make it happen.

You know, down the road. Back to hustling. = )

Yes you're so right and the hustling is absolutely exhausting and takes the fun out of music! I am concentrating on doing music as therapy now instead and it's working out much better for me! Thanks for your reply it's much appreciated - nice to meet you on here

Thanks for sharing, and Aloha from Hawaii!

Aloha so nice to meet you and thank you for your comment

"Getting up at silly o clock to go and work in a job I didn't care about."

LOL silly o'clock- stuff it I say! -- LOVED this intro- welcome to steemit girl! Followed and upvoted can't wait to see more!

Haha thank you for the encouragement I am so glad you enjoyed my post. I have followed you back, lovely to meet you :)

And you! Welcome to steemit can’t wait for more :)

Thanks for the compliment, I just uploaded my first video to dtube be great to know what you think as I have never done a vlog post before :)

Are you ENTP personality type?

Have you got any tunes though? You did say you did music... Are you going to play them?

Haha of course, anything goes!

And what about you what are you going to use steemit for? Will you be promoting your music?

my friend why not post here sample videos of your singing voice. Will be waiting for it... have your own official tag on which you will always put on your blog. mine is beyonddisability :)

I don't have an official tag yet - but it's a good idea to use Steemit to show my music too! I will think about doing this for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85