Hi, I'm Gabby – business administration student, languages enthusiast, Venezuelan.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I’ve always felt the urge to communicate, so I’ve always esteemed bloggers.

(I love puns, babes. Just to let you know early on, haha!).

People all around the globe have been blogging for years, that takes so much determination. They literally put themselves and their thoughts out there (or here), opening up to the whole world, making themselves as approachable and vulnerable as possible, always hoping for the best but expecting the worst, and facing different niches bravely, amazingly; only to be able to witness the myriad of reactions people all over the web have. Only to get to know about people.

Well, we all know for sure that we cannot really enjoy something if we don’t understand it, if we don’t feel it. And there’s where communication takes place.

We communicate between each other in order to get to know us, to find harmony in our lifes, to survive, to feel accepted, to love. The power of communication is undeniable, and I’ve been attracted to that since I was on Elementary School. So, now that I’ve found this amazing tool called Steemit, Imma use itttttt.

A quick introduction about me:

I’m Gabriela A. Martínez, a born and raised in Venezuela girl who enjoys singing, and a lot. I’m a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a student and, most important, a learner. I love spending my evenings learning ephemeral things. However, the entities I’m most proud of can’t be learned, and those are my siblings, my family, my dogs and my friends.

I’m currently studying Business Administration, and I will hopefully also study Economics. So, wish me luck.

I’m so freaking excited about joining this community. Like, for real.

I really like communication, to the extent of annoyance. My friends always ask me to shut up while laughing, and then, when I finally doze off the expression of my thoughts, they ask me why I’m so quiet, they miss my voice. Decídanse.
As a gabby human (annoyingly talkative, sorry not sorry), I enjoy telling tales, writing stories, listening to people talking on the street and hearing betas (Venezuelan for a strong issue, a gossip, something remark-worthy); so I may from time to time post some of my original stories, always hoping you give them a few minutes of your precious time. And heavily relying on you, intellect, smart, well-read humans, to not make fun of it, hahaha! I’m just a beginner, so I’ll love to read your opinions about it all. I’d love to also get to read your advices on how to reach a good storytelling skill; and, most importantly, I’d specially love to read your own stories!

These are my dogs, Bianca, the white one, and Cookie, the black one. Because every good post needs to have puppies, doesn't it?
As most teens, I enjoy listening to music on a daily basis. A lot. I also love to watch movies and series. But we all do, don’t we? Those are the most common topics my friends want to talk about (and politics, we are Venezuelans, after all); but I also have a huge interest on languages, and nobody cares about it.

So, this is the part of the blog where I tell you what I am here for, to be precise: Everytime I try to talk about languages, nobody cares. That’s simple.

My acquaintances like to hear about the university, about my inexistent diet, about the hyperoverrated factor of a love interest (that seems to be pretty important in every 18 y/o girl’s life, would you believe that?); about it all, but not about my learning journey.

In fact, whenever somebody new finds out that I can magically-somehow-someway gesticulate a few words in other languages, they usually go “say something in French”, “insult me in Italian”, “oh, English is pretty important, my nephew speaks it very well, he’s married to an American and they are living in…” and, as I’m always singing, “can you sing something in German?”; and everything is okay, up until I point out that the first time I was introduced to the word “黑色” (“black” in Mandarin) I couldn’t actually pronounce it as “Hēisè” (as written in pinyin), because I was so freaking used to pronounce EI differently in German, so, as “Hēisè” resembles “Heiße” (“hot” in German), I would always say [xáise] or “Hāisè”; or that I once (or twice, or thrice or frice or fick!) skipped going to a party because I felt like I needed to learn a rap in Italian and couldn’t do it on beat; or that I’d rather be called “Cheri” than “Schnuckiputzi” (and the reasons behind it); or that… well… so many other stories…; they just curve out all of my attempts to tell them about my journey learning.

So, I’d like to share with you’ll all of those little things that happen in the way when learning something new, especially languages.

And, I really really really really hope there’s somebody out there who would like to get to know about it. Because, if sometimes when I read some thoughts people have had, experiences they’d like to share, they brighten up my day; there’s maybe somebody out there who can actually enjoy my anecdotes and maybe it’ll help them face their days with smile on mode ON. Who knows? I’ll take the chance.

Thank you all for reading, for being here, for giving my thoughts a few seconds of your day. I really appreciate it. Peace.

Sort:  

Hello gabrielalentes! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to this great community Gabriela, good luck in your first steps.

Hey nice to meet you.

Greetings, gabrielalentes! I wish you make many new friends here in this awesome community :) Cheers

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

@gabrielalentes, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Привет!!! Добро пожаловать!
Я тоже в данном проекте недавно. Очень надеюсь на то, что нам свами здесь понравится)))
animashki-zvezdy-111.gif

Bienvenido a la gran familia Steemit, tienes la oportunidad de crecer, recibiendo clases de Negocios, Liderazgo, arte, poesía y comunicación, por eso te invito a participar en esta importante escuela.
Únete aquí
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G
Welcome to the great Steemit family, you have the opportunity to grow, receiving business classes, Leadership, art, poetry and communication, so I invite you to participate in this important school.
Join here
https://discord.gg/hrjxG4G

Enlace: https://steemit.com/@nellita66Steemit_Schools_LOGO.gif

https://discord.gg/Kkbkewk

Welcome to Steem, @gabrielalentes!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2679 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.15 : Signatures.

Welcome To Steemit! :)

Welcome to Steemit ! Nice to see most of Venezuela joining.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50