Hi everyone, I'm Gandalf

Yes like the wizard. No it's not a common name in Denmark either 😁
This is my informal introduction.

I'm an engineering student at DTU in Denmark. My interests are in machine learning, AI and block chain technology. I studied physics for my BSc degree. I also dance Cuban salsa and swing in my free time. Upon reflection, I feel like a bit of a science hipster:

  1. The Higgs boson and particle physics used to be the hot thing back around ~2011 (where I studied physics).
  2. Machine learning, and AI were the hot buzzwords from ~ 2015 up until now until now (where I started studying machine learning).
  3. Blockchain tech came into the mainstream spotlight in 2017 with bitcoins explosive rise (where I took up my crypto interest again shortly before New Years eve due to in incident I will outline below)


I googled science hipster and found this pimped up Einstein (credits: Mason London)

To be fair, my physics studies does predate the incredible Higgs boson discovery. I have broad interests, and I guess I can't help myself. But a love of mathematics and programming has been a constant throughout. I'm writing my master thesis (in orbital mechanics using AI techniques) this spring, and will graduate sometime in late summer.

I recently recovered some BitShares from the AGS/PTS sale back in 2014. It was a pretty complicated process, and I was lucky to have @robrigo to help me. His 10% bounty was well worth it and I earned a good friend in the process. I naturally regained interest in crypto currencies again after some 2.5 years of idling and dormant interest. Taking advantage of the opportunity to chat with with @robrigo during the recovery process, I immediately identified EOS as my primary currency of interest. I must admit there are many other interesting projects out there, some of which will be successful, and many of which hyped and will not survive in the long run. I don't have enough time on my hands to look into every one of them at this time, so I've settled and EOS, and a few others such as Steem, which brought me here. It's an interesting time to be live! 🤓

I may have been responsible for dragging a few more friends into the crypto fever and Steemit platform, such as @ebager, but I'm sure they will forgive me if it all comes crashing down. While I'm glad to help any friend looking to invest just a little, I always try to stress the risk and volatility of the crypto space.

I'm hoping to see this platform thrive and spend more time on a going forward. Looking forward to interacting with you all 🙂

Sort:  

Hi @gandalfsaxe, welcome to Steem and everything around it!

Welcome to Steemit!

tenor.gif

Gif by Tenor

Welcome to the best community ever which values our hardwork . Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch @sarinakhan
You know here is gathering of good people we are in contectwith and if i couldn't response you more here plz come to my blog and comment there to contect me or upvote.....

Welcome to the best community ever which values our hardwork . Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch @sarinakhan
You know here is gathering of good people we are in contectwith and if i couldn't response you more here plz come to my blog and comment there to contect me or upvote.....

Congratulations @gandalfsaxe, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Two things;
Great picture!
Glad you managed to convince me - the technology never ceases to amaze on a daily basis :D

Congratulations @gandalfsaxe! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gandalfsaxe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67227.10
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76