I DIED TWENTY YEARS AGO // INTRODUCE YOURSELF - I'm Roberta Brown and I am Dead

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I am the ghost of Roberta Brown. @gasgiant is very kindly letting me use his @steemit account to speak to y’all from the beyond grave.

Well, I never actually made it to the grave.

Now, you might be disappointed by what I’m about to tell you. But here goes: when you die, your “you” gets jammed into a nearby object -- I’m assuming that’s what happens to everyone because it’s what happened to me. Who knows? Maybe I messed up dying and there actually is a heaven. Maybe there are a bunch of people stuck in cell phones and tubes of chapstick for all I know. Anyway, I got crammed into a bag full of photographs from my life. Don’t ask me how. That’s just what it is.

I had been swirling my ghost mists all around these pictures for twenty years. It’s where I’d been since the moment of my death on May 22nd 1997 until @gasgiant bought a sack full of someone else’s memories from the estate sale my children organized after the death of my Charlie last October.

Now I have access to a computer and the internet and the @steemit community! Don’t ask me how. That’s just what it is.

Anyway, there are like a thousand photos in this sack, so I thought I’d share them here in @gasgiant’s blog from time to time. I was going to start an Instagram, but they have a policy against dead people opening accounts. Seems kinda discriminatory to me, but who am I to say? I died twenty years ago.

So, here’s the first batch of pics I’m gonna share with y’all. It’s from our trip to The Winding Road in the fall of ’76.


The whole neighborhood packed into the Johnson's van--even the Karlssons decided to come along for the journey! It's not every day you get to go to The Winding Road!


We pulled over for a pit stop after driving for 2 hours, and wouldn't you know who we ran into. Jeanie, Sandy and Bertie were at the same highway rest stop! Jeanie and Sandy are my cousins. Bertie was a hanger-on. Bert had just bought that pink bag. She used that thing every day until she died in '79 from dysentery.


Charlie fancied himself a knight. But he's always been a king to me 🤴🏿 I'm sad he's dead. I wonder what kind of object his ghost mists are trapped in?


We finally made it to The Winding Road. We sat on this knoll for the first few hours. There were strangers there, can you imagine that? It was a great sit.


First crash of the day! 🤣


There was a naked white boy taking photos!


Nature's majesty!


Look how Winding that road is! Wow!! I saw my Charlie staring a little too long at those curves, though. Can't blame him I guess, road's got curves for miles! 😍


We all sat down to watch people park their cars over there. This was a highlight!


Gary don't get too close to the edge!!! 😨


You wouldn't know how Winding this road actually is from this photo. 😉 It looks straight, doesn't it?! But it's not! It's very very Winding!!!


We found some hippies under a tree.


As we were packing up, we couldn't believe we found this!!!!


My Charlie and my Teddy posing next to Teddy's FAVORITE LETTER. He loves W! We couldn't believe it was painted on this big car!


Charlie wanted to buy this whip, but I wouldn't let him. I regret it :(

I don't know what y'alls family vacays were like, but this was one to remember for us! We talked about this trip for years. I miss being alive.

Well that's it for now, darlings! I'll post up some more photos soon! Until next time 😘

-Love, Roberta Brown (I'm dead).

Sort:  

What an interesting post, it's weird that people wouldn't take photo's of loved ones to keep to treasure their memory, maybe it was a good thing that they fell into your hands @gasgaint so their photos/memories can touch others lives also.

thank you, @biglipsmama! It was definitely one of the stranger estate sale finds. But it's been so interesting learning about this family through their pictures

I was amused and yet saddened at the same time.

looks like Roberta had her desired effect, @micanne.
thanks for reading!

I adore this post. Im glad she is picking up new lingo now she is dead... like vacay... never too dead to learn.

Creative genius! Just wonderful man, thank you for this 💛✌️

Hi Roberta!!! 👋🏻👋🏻👋🏻 Hi!!! What a winding road...

I love you, @missbellebottoms.
-Roberta

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71