Hi Steemit! My Name Is Gentle Ben. It's A Pleasure To Finally Meet You.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Howdy Steemians! My name is Ben Atkins and I am so f-ing excited to be joining your incredible community!! This is my first ever post, so please allow me to introduce myself.

I am a singer/songwriter from Waco, Texas currently living in Buenos Aires, Argentina. I started playing music about 4 years ago after realizing I wasn't that great at writing stories, and I discovered I had real passion for song writing. I've been composing songs ever since. That's why I'm joining steemit: to share my music!

mus29.jpg

For some reason I had this misconception that to share a song it needed to be recorded in a nice studio with expensive equipment, but screw that. My friend, roommate, and fellow musician and steemian @luisferchav showed me steemit, told me about his experience here, and encouraged me to join. I have a ton of original material and I'm tired of waiting to have the money for studio time, so on this page I'm gonna be posting videos of me and my guitar or ukulele, in my bedroom, playing my tunes. When I have the money to record for real, I will eagerly take that step, but until then I still want to share what I'm creating!

pic2.jpg

My music draws on influences from soul, folk, country, blues, and maybe a little rock and roll 🤘. At this point I do have a few humble live videos posted to my Youtube page, which you can peruse at your leisure. For now, here is a video of my song 'Strawberry Lips' recorded at a Sofar Sounds show I did here in Buenos Aires:

Aside from my solo project I also sing backing vocals and play a little percussion in a rock band called Harm & Ease. You can hear our new album Black Magic Gold here!

mus26.jpg

Before I started playing music, I studied philosophy at Southwestern University and tried my hand at some fiction and poetry. I have shamelessly recycled a lot of the poems into song lyrics haha, but I figure while I'm here I may as well share some of that stuff too.

I guess that's it for now. Big Ups to my roommates @luisferchav and @pechichemena for turning me onto the steemit revolution!! I can't wait to meet all of y'all!

Sort:  

Welcome man ;) Music sounds like you should definitely check out @dsound! They always look for music there! Resteeming you for some extra publicity! Greets!

thanks so much!! i will check them out post haste

Great intro. Welcome to steemit @gentle.ben.

Welcome!
Thanks for introducing yourself on Steemit. Upvoted and Followed!
(If you want to some cool posts to read or contests to participate in, you could follow me back!)

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

We have a music class too

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Luisferchav from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Welcome to the blockchain I love your bluesy gravely voice very nice introduction post thank you for sharing.

thanx for listening gail! if that is your real name... haha

Yes Gail is my real name ....lol true story

hello welcome to this community, be very successful, if you like art, I make realistic art, I am from venezuela, we can be friends, greetings

friends indeed. cant wait to see more of your art :)

welcome to this community ...hopefully you can reach what you want on this community ...

Welcome Ben !
I am sure you going to enjoy this platform.
Looking forward your future posts .

thank you!! its only been about 30 mins and i already feel so welcome haha

Here is my 1st upvote to you, follow me for more upvotes and funny videos!!

I upvote every decent comment on my videos!!

DQmaAZhyJr7Hc8c2Qy55nYJyKrDESUEbPkK6jAEhDDNEN1X_1680x8400.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73