Sort:  

Welcome! Gave you a follow!
tenor.gif

Welcome to Steem @gentlesoul I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome, always good to have more programmers on board. What languages do you program in?

I have been programming in Omnis my whole life. It is a crossware solution working on all platforms (win, mac, linux) with all major databases (mysql, sql server, oracle,...), a very good language to make nice looking stuff very quickly, also very fast and nice to do web apps but not very scalable.
I don't consider myself very language-bound, i am quite attracted to python now, are you programming blockchain? Warning: If you say yes, i will have some questions :-)

I'm not programming blockchain. I'm a (front-end) web developer, and I have been working on some apps that get their data from steemit, but all data is simply fetched from the public API's. No real blockchain technology involved there, just the results of it.

If you ever have any javascript questions let me know though :P

Hey @pilcrow, does that mean i can access steemit data from Javascript? That would be cool to make some little project immediately...

Yes, that's right. You can use SteemJS to fetch and post data, it's not a very practical API and badly documented, but there's some articles out there that can help you out. I wrote some tutorials for it, but those by @jfollas are the best.

Also the #steemjs and #dev channels on steemit.chat can be very helpful.

Welcome aboard from another old had that has been at the code face just as long :)

Ha, you must be as old as your reputation then :-)
I got quite some response on my first post contrary to what people told me, nice, thanks! I am just following everybody commenting, i guess that's ok, my feed is quite empty if not :-)

lol, almost. Cross the 50 boundary later in the year. Started coding on ZX81 and Commodore Pet as a kid and never looked back :)

Yep, follow people. It is easy to unfollow if they produce a lot of noise lol

Takes a little while to find you feet here and initially posts might not get much voting. You either have to post at the right time or have a follower base but keep plugging away and things pick up.

Welcome to Steemit @gentlesoul, hope you master python fast and make us more beautiful apps or get the Steemit experience better

Oops, thank you for the upvote @bubke, hope i can fullfill the expectations

Hey denis,

welcome here into this wonderful community.
We are glad that you join us.
May this platform be a big success for you.

I am excited to see your useful apps.

Hi!! Nice to see people like you around. A developer over here - there are already many developing groups for steemit, I am pretty sure you will easily find more around. They are mostly in chat with Discord

Ok, thank you for the information, will have a look there!

Good to meet you @gentlesoul.

Good to meet you too @bigpanda lovely name, i am very happy to get some reactions on my first post, didn't expect that, great start, thanks!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome dude. Follow me @codero . I like posting programming articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57