A Proper Introduction - Steemit Day 4

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

So, I know this isn't really an introduceyourself post in the traditional sense... but I was so excited by this platform that I couldn't help but immediately start posting things upon my arrival here. 4 days later, and here I am, My #introduceyourself post!!

Who Am I?

I'd like to start by saying that my name is Matt, not "Gnoc". I know my user name can be a little confusing (looking a lot like Gnoc DePatat would be my name) but I assure you it's not. Its actually derived from an inside joke between some of my friends, buts thats a story for another time!

I'm a finance student from Toronto with a passion for marketing. I turn 22 this upcoming weekend and couldn't be happier with how things have been going lately... I mean, I did just find steemit! I enjoy travelling, and later this summer I will complete a road trip to every single Canadian province! Perhaps most importantly, I LOVE food... I am Italian after all!!

received_10158142527030403.jpeg
(I'm on the left)

Why Am I Here?

A few years ago I injured myself during a Tough Mudder obstacle course race. I was left with an infection that very nearly lead to the amputation of my left leg from the knee down. I ended up confined to my wheelchair and then my crutches for a few weeks, and fell into a sort of depression. I had been an athlete my whole life, and now that was taken away from me.

Screenshot_20170620-123018.jpg
(Me, my wheelchair, my gross leg, and my wheelchair-driving sister)

Since then I've been what many would call a "wantrepreneur". I've got many ideas and plans of attack, but havent really had the confidence to jump into anything like I used to. Well, that was until I found Steemit. A quick look at my post history will show this is my 4th post in 4 days (5 if you count the introduceyourself post that I messed up and now labelled "spam"...oops).

Steemit has helped me to regain my drive for improvement, and I really don't see it slowing down. The support groups are just incredible, and the community is active and determined to produce value to other users. I love this place!

I can't wait to see this platform grow, I have every bit of confidence that this will continue to grow into a social media giant. Until next time, Matt!

Ps.. On reddit there is what we call a "doggo tax", an obligatory photo of your dog or cat and the end of the post. I've noticed that here on steemit it seems to be popular to add a picture of you holding a sign with the date of this Introduction post.. So below I present to you a creation of mine... The Doggo-Date Tax, enjoy!!!

20170620_122659.jpg
(1 of my 2 dogs, Beau)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @gnocdepatat :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steem @gnocdepatat I have sent you a tip

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

wanna to see the other dog, so cute. followed!

Thank you! She will be making an appearance soon :)

Hey @gnocdepatat!! Happy to have found your post. See you on Discord! :)

Please read my welcome message! SteemOn! :)

You look like a little bugger lol j/k. Welcome man.

You know it man! Thanks for the warm welcome!

Welcome to Steemit, I know you will have lots opportunities here. :)
Nice to meet you :D I believe that steemit needs more cool people who could bring quality content. I am also new about 4 days.

PDT I love your dog. Show the other please, :D.

thanks for being so kind :) nice to see new people learning about the platform as well! The other dog will be in a later post haha

:D O.k I am looking forward for it :) there is so much going on here today with hard fork and other things lol

Welcome to steemit Matt and not @gnocdepatat :) steemit is a great community and I am sure you will love it here. As you said steemit is awesome and so hard to resist posting. Looking forward to your posts. Cute dog :)

thank you for the welcome! lets help this community grow :)

I'm also new to steemit, but you can check my posts and you'll see why I have been writing madly.

Welcome to steemit and invest your time on writing quality content! Everything will follow.

And of course find something to write about - travel! Then tell us how we can learn from your experiences. :)

thank you for the tips :) i hope to reach your level of success one day!

Happy early birthday Matt!

The community here is second to none. So supportive and encouraging. I honestly cannot say I have ever felt proud to be a member of any social media platform. Until now. I am proud to be a part of this wonderful community :)

Welcome!

Thank you!

I couldn't agree more. This community has been so welcoming and supporting. I can't wait to be able to give back :)

Oh, me too!

I am excited to take this journey with you, and look forward to reading your work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55