Goode To Meet You

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I set up @goode as a place to share house music and hopefully bring like-minded people to the steemit platform. Here are some of my raving highlights from over the years..

Whirl-Y-Gig

My own clubbing history started in 1989 at around 15 years old when I went with my older cousin to a place called 'Whirl-Y-Gig' in Leicester Square, London. 'Whirly' was a hippy club night with crazy lights and 'world music' where they let you smoke weed and generally mess about. It became a popular destination during the early nineties for ravers because it had such a good atmosphere while the rest of the rave scene was getting more hardcore.

Kebabs & Brown Burgers

But I still hadn't been to a 'rave' and about a year later my buddy Phil persuaded me to come to an event underneath a kebab shop on Edgware Road, called 'Band On The Run', with Dj's Danny Rampling and Nick Dare, It was a small room and everyone was high, the music was great and I had an amazing time until the cops raided at about 4am.

I felt someone pushing past me and turned round to see police flooding into the place, they went straight to the decks and threw them on the ground, the lights went up and I looked down to see drugs scattered all over the floor. The police told us all to stand against the wall and began to search us, a cop picked up a lump of hash from the floor and asked if it was mine, 'um, no' I said and he moved on to the next guy who had a sheet of acid and a bundle of cash in his pockets, he was arrested. It was pretty exciting and I was hooked.

RAGE

By 1991 I was a regular at 'Rage' which was every Thursday night at Heaven nightclub, this was a seminal club where Dj's Fabio & Grooverider turned 'acid-house' and 'rave' into 'jungle' and eventually to 'Drum & Bass', it has gone down in legend. The Heaven sound-system was excellent and a huge laser would turn on at about 4am and people would go crazy, I mean crazy.

Goa Goa Gone

In 1992 some friends invited me to a 'Goa trance party', I had heard of them but had never been to one, this was run by T.I.P. and was in a gym in Clapham. I walked in and was amazed at the trippy decor and in the corner of the room was a guy with a bowl of acid punch! I had a couple of cups and had a mad night.

One of best parties I went to was in the English countryside at Longleat. I had missed all of the classic illegal raves in the countryside during '88 and '89 which are now legend, such as Energy, Sunrise and Biology, so it was great to go to something similar and dance under the stars.

13913844_10153652206651536_625486888248738497_o.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 10.27.41.png

At that point in time the music at Goa parties was closer to acid house but soon got much more intense as the years went by, I went to a few great trance parties in London (and India!) but soon grew out of the music as it was too crazy and fast!

House Music

From the mid-ninties on I was more inclined towards quality NY house music and deep house going to parties by D.I.Y., Smokescreen, Sancho Panza and loads more!..

Sort:  

It was pretty exciting and i was hooked.

Lol, that reaction is pure gold I tell ye XD

It was mad!

Sounds it. I think police became much more relaxed about "illegal" parties as time went on. Weve had some parties in random places in Edinburgh, one in a slaughterhouse, some in a quarry or two, some in a field, as you do :)

Each time the police came along and either stood there while fucked people went up and chatted to them, other times they just ushered everyone out (parties over, nothing to see here, move along) but then maybe thats just police in Edinburgh, I dont know.

Now THAT is an introduction - excellent...resteemed.

Raver in the house! goo on!

reach for the laser, reach for the laser...

Hello @goode and welcome to steemit:) excelent post!!!

goode to meet you!

:) thank you !! nice to meet you too!!

Congratulations @goode! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54