Introducing Myself: Hitchhiker / Backpacker / Lawyer / International Man of Mystery and totally @gratefulforitall

Dear STEEMIANS,

Hello! Ciao! Hola!

In case you don’t already know, I’m really excited to join the STEEMIT community!

I’m a backpacking, hitchhiking lawyer. I just got back from an 18 month trip around Europe, the Middle East, and West Africa. I have hitchhiked over 3,000 miles, trainhopped, chased the northern lights, camped in some of the highest mountains in Africa, slept in countless parks and petrol stations, ate so many bizarre foods, and met hundreds of inspiring people, including my soulmate. All thanks to chasing my dream!

Collage 1.jpg

Currently, I’m shifting gears and starting to build a life back in the United States and regularly find myself writing down many thoughts about life, travel, and the world. Since I love sharing, the thought of starting a blog has crossed my mind so many times since returning to the United States a few weeks ago. Recently, I found Steemit. So...it seems it was meant to be!

Why Steemit?

I believe in it. Current social media platforms are exploitive. Even if I am not creating content, why should I give away so much privacy as a user? Steemit seems like an amazing alternative. I'm looking forward to becoming a part of the community, learning from others, and sharing my own experiences with people from all over the world. This is only the beginning.

About me:

I was born in New York City--the most diverse (and best) city in the world! I’m a pretty international guy and like to think of myself as very open and compassionate. I believe I owe this to my diverse background.

My father is from Italy and my mother is from Argentina. I grew up speaking Spanish with them, Italian with my grandmother, and English when I was at school. As busy as I was learning languages as a kid, I was even busier teaching English to everyone when I came home at the end of the day :)

As a kid, all of my classmates were from other parts of the world. I had a Chinese friend, an Iraqi one, a Korean, several Cubans. It took a few years of reflecting on my life to realize that this had a profound effect on me. I now realize that this cultivated a deep respect, tolerance and appreciation for other cultures at a very young age.

I enjoy myself the most when I am outside of my element, immersed in a new culture, making a fool out of myself in a new language, or surrounded by expat friends.

I moved down to Florida, graduated from college, took some time off to work in finance, and then went to law school. Those were some of the worst years of my life and I’ll certainly talk about it in my future posts.

After graduating from law school, I bought a backpack and the cheapest international ticket I could find. Paris! My trip evolved many times over the course of the next 18 months and 28 countries.

Collage 11.jpg

I crossed into conflict areas, peaceful areas, mega-cities, and barren wastelands. I experienced some of the best and worst that humanity has to offer. I’m a big believer in positive thinking and pulling a lesson from every “mistake.” I love getting out of my comfort zone. So, there are tons of opportunities to make mistakes and learn from them :)

Collage 4.jpg

What will I be writing about?

I’ll primarily be posting the following:

  • travel stories and pictures
  • thoughts about trending issues in the law that interest me, such as blockchain
  • perhaps some DIY projects

....you’ll just have to follow me to find out the rest ;)

Collage 2.jpg

What do I ask?

I would love to get to know everyone reading this, so please leave a comment! I want to hear from you!

Collage 7.jpg

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome. Came here from the introduction by @gmuxx and can't wait to read about all that you've seen and experienced. If you're looking for a community check out @steemusa. We're always looking for people new to steemit to help out and get them started.

Thank you @gniksivart!

I love the Steemusa community you showed me. The State Wars contest looks really cool and fun. So...now I have to run out to Publix to grab a Pub Sub and make a post about it so that Florida can crush all the other states! haha

Anyways, thank you for the warm welcome. I'm now following both accounts and looking forward to more great content from you!

Welcome to Steem! Great introduction. I wish you much success on the platform.

I have shared your post with my 3200 followers in my new initiative called Introduce a New Steemian. Upon payout in 7 days time, I will send you the SBD earned from it.

https://steemit.com/ians/@gmuxx/introduce-a-new-steemian-week-7

Wow! I really encourage the effort you are putting in this community @gmuxx, keep on doing it, this will be a better source of motivation and encouragement for newbies. I appreciate your good work.

Thanks for sending me this way @gmuxx! Can't wait for all the travel stories and pictures from @gratefulforitall

Awesome @moneyinfant. I loved scrolling through your blog and thanks for making me aware of all those writing contests! This is exactly what I was looking for from the introduction. Steemit just got smaller!

Glad I was able to help you acclimate a bit more easily.
In your extensive travels did you make it to Thailand? I only ask because we lived there for 6 years.

I never made it out to Asia. Where did you live in Thailand? Did you have a chance to explore other nearby countries?

We lived in Bangkok, but also spent time in Tak province. It's my wife's home province and she owns land there. Tak is on the border with Myanmar, so we've been there. We also traveled to Japan and Vietnam as well as extensively in Thailand. I would have loved to go to Cambodia, but my wife had no interest. I've also been to Singapore a long time ago (1999), I'm sure it's changed dramatically since.

I felt that I wasn't ready for Asia. I could easily spend a year there and its just not what I need right now.

Would love to visit those places you mentioned. Yeah I think all of those countries must have changed a lot over the last decade or so. Everyone says Myanmar is the best place to go now because it is changing very rapidly

That's all so kind of you, thank you!!

YAY!!!! Welcome to Steemit! I saw this post in the SteemUSA group and had to come over to say hello. I'm really looking forward to hearing more of your stories — your travels and your attitude make me like you immediately. I love to travel but don't do much these days as I have young kids, but I love learning from different cultures and exploring the world (even if it's virtually right now). Steem on! :)

Aw, you rock! Thank you for the warm welcome and encouraging words.

I hope people can appreciate different cultures and explore the world with me through Steemit. I am finishing up a post about Gambia now.

I loved your Tree Tuesday post from yesterday! We don't have any in South Florida (only palm trees and orange groves lol.)

I'm looking forward to seeing more of your posts!

You are a lawyer? Wow! Welcome to steemit by the way☺

Yes. I started backpacking just days after I took the bar exam.

Thank you for the warm welcome :)

Welcome to Steem @gratefulforitall, I'm sure you're going to be an excellent addition to the community!

Welcome to steemit brother, I hope you will succes and have fun :)

Thanks @akar-rumput !

Looking forward to reading your posts!

Your welcome buddy, Nice to know you, you have amazing background, btw I'm from Indonesia.

Thanks. I've never been to Indonesia, but a friend of mine did a bicycle trip from Indonesia to Thailand and said really good things about Jakarta!

Maybe sometime you need to have vacation to indonesia, many exciting place here, not only jakarta :)

Damn. I definitely look forward to hearing more stories from you in the future. You seem like a very diversified individual, with many stories and pictures to share

Thank you! I look forward to reading your posts as well!

Welcome to steemit @gratefulforitall, steemit is a community were you share and learn from different perspective of the world. I can wait to see your ideas on your next post. Welcome 😊

Awesome @logistick

You've got some skills with the sketchbook. Really cool work!!

Thank you for the warm welcome :)

thanks too @gratefulforitall for your encouragement on my skill, am grateful.

Welcoming is our priority in steemit, we appreciate new people coming into the community. I will be expecting your thoughts about life, travel and the world.

Hello! Have fun.
Feel free to followe me @judicar if you like good photos!

Thanks! Already following and looking forward to going through your posts!

Hello my brother. I'm glad to know you in Steemit. Hope we can meet in the real world. I'm from Indonesia and currently live in Jakarta. Hopefully on one occasion you can go to Indonesia! I waiting you, man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84