Starting our Farmstead: The Long and Winding Road pt.1

Our Story Begins...

About two years ago our van broke down in Iowa. We had been on a road trip across America to work on different farms and learn about sustainable agriculture and by the time this happened our funds were pretty much depleted. So we drove back to Chicago where I'm from and decided to make a go to it in the big city. Easier said than done. Chicago is one of the most expensive places to live. We spent the next year with our heads down working 4-5 jobs between us just to keep our heads above water and in the winter of that year we learned we had a little one on the way.
IMG_0122.JPG

Now with all this going on, it may have seemed like an inopportune time to start a farm. But my fear was that if I didn't do it now, it might not ever happen. The flame would dwindle and I would get caught up in trying to make money to support my wife and child and it would just become one of those things that you dream about when you're young. It was also around this time that I stumbled upon the work of Jean-Martin Fortier and Curtis Stone. I started to see there was a way to make money farming on a small-scale, if you focused on certain high-value crops.

It was that Spring that I decided to ask my grandma if I could till up her backyard and plant a garden. She was kind enough to say yes and I jumped in head first. Now I should mention at this time I had never really grown anything. Some microgreens in our spare bedroom and working on other people's farms was the extent of my experience. I was literally basing all my farming knowledge off of YouTube, podcasts, and books. I also had a full-time job and would have to make this work in the little free time that I had.

IMG_2839.JPG

My grandma lives just outside the city on a 1/4 acre lot. I flagged out a 30x100' section and broke ground using an old Troy-Built tiller that she had in her garage. Using a rake I made sixteen raised beds that were each 50ft long by 30" wide. I tarped the lot for a few weeks and after the last frost I began peeling it back two beds at a time, flame-weeding, and hand-scattering seeds. A few weeks later, lo and behold, I had my first crop! Two beds of beautiful arugula. Now I just had to find a way to sell it!

IMG_0285.JPG

I made up some business cards, a price sheet, and about 20 samples in a cooler and set out upon the city. I hit every restaurant I thought might buy and eventually found myself downtown soliciting five star restaurants. At first I thought, 'This is kinda crazy, I mean, I just grew this in my grandma's backyard.' But soon I realized they didn't know that, nor did they need to. All these chefs saw was this young hustler with a bag a some kick-ass greens. The samples seemed well-received and out of those sixteen or so bags I handed out, I got one chef to say yes.

This was the start. Just one person to believe and from there I was able to land a few more chefs in my hometown and by the time our farmer's market started we were selling everything we could grow. This was all still just a side hustle maybe two days a week and I believe this is KEY. That first year you will make mistakes--heck, every year you will make mistakes, but hopefully by the time that first year is up you will have enough knowledge to avoid the big ones.

Having a stable source of income and doing this on the side is the best option for someone who needs to make an income. Otherwise you will find yourself fretting when that first flush of flea beetles moves in and rips your brassica greens to buckshot. Or downy mildew makes your lettuce spotted and unsightly. Or that week when nobody wants to place an order. Or that five-star chef that stiffs you. The biggest lesson I learned that first year was how to better manage stress. How to make peace with uncertainty and have faith that everything will work out just fine.

fullsizeoutput_78.jpeg

So that was last year. Our son was born in late September just as we were wrapping up the season and I was fortunate enough to get a job as a route manager for a snow plow company that winter. By this time we had moved in with my grandma and for the first time since landing in Chicago, were able to save a little money. We began looking for land in North Carolina and creating a plan to take our farm to the next level. We made several investments that have paid huge dividends, such as the Quick-Cut Greens Harvester and the Jang Seeder. Our hope was that we could save up enough to start our farm and have a little bit of money to float us for a while. Unfortunately, mother nature had other plans and we had the first winter in a 146 years without any snow on the ground in January and February.

This did however give us time to make a trip down to North Carolina and scout out some potential properties. We ended up deciding on a 10 acre plot with an old tobacco barn and rustic general store from the 1890's. We settled on a lease arrangement with the owners for $300/month and began brainstorming ways to make this property a thriving, profitable farmstead.

That's all for Part 1. Stay tuned for Part 2: Putting our Plan into Action. Also, check out the video below to take a tour of our farmstead at the 'square one' stage.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Sounds like the start of a perfect life for your family! Keep following the dream!

@wholesomeroots
true talk and good comment
do you blog on natural roots?

I blog about lots of natural stuff! We are homesteaders so we blog about anything and everything that goes a long with it!

Then u gonna love my last new blog posts

Oh my, lol! I upvoted and reply!

Great dear...tks

Thank you. Ya'll do the same!

Hello @greenshiner ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt! Cool post!

Thank you. The support from the community has been amazing.

300 a month... wow,
that is something we can only dream of here in switzerland
you wouldnt be able to lease 2 square feet with that over here
but good luck and this looks like a dream coming true for you

I was thinking the same thing. That's pretty cheap.

Yeah that was a big reason we chose to move down here. We get the mountains, lots of wilderness, friendly folks, and Asheville's only about 40 minutes away. However, I think there's a lot of people out there that own land and really just want to see it put to use. They'd probably be happy with free veggies and enough to cover their property tax. A great resource is http://www.beginningfarmers.org/finding-land-to-farm/

wow... what an interesting narrative... sorry about the flat tyre but in all...you guys are great! love the spirit dear... keep it up....family first

Thank you. Just gotta roll with the punches and focus on what's really important in life

ok dear... keep doing good stuffs and find time in between to check my blog posts

Hey from a very close neighbor! :-)

I just binge watched your videos on YouTube. Great stuff! Looking forward to reading and learning more on you guys here on Steemit. I dropped a comment in your intro post about our SteemitHomesteaders slack community. If it's your kind of thing, there are about 68 of us like-minded people over there chatting and sharing ideas around homesteading and Steemit.

If not, see you on your next post!

Thanks for checking out our videos! Yeah I'm definitely interested, don't really know anything about slack though. Is there a popular time most people chat?

The majority are US-based, with most being in the Eastern and Central timezones. But, we have members from all over the world, too! You can most always find someone on there. :-) Many of us have the Slack app on our phones and can be reached with a quick mention (like @greenshiner). Here's the link to the "announcement" post to learn more. If nothing else, you can try it out. If you don't like it, there's no harm or harsh feelings. :-)

https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

AMAZING! So glad I found you! Can't wait to follow your story! How awesome to see you doing it ( :

My husband did the van across the country thing working on farms and we are in our "back in the city" phase. Looking for the place to be is next on our agenda ( :

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. I'm planning to put out another part soon on getting prepped for winter and all that entails.

What a wonderful story. Thanks so much for sharing. You believed in yourself and that was enough. You are a true testiment for many other young folks out there with the drive and determination. Upvoted and following

Thank you. It's definitely been a lot of hard work and I have to sometimes pull back the reigns a bit to keep from burning out. But at the end of the day, this is truly what I love. Couldn't imagine doing anything else.

Awesome stuff, living the dream! Look forward to learning more about your adventure. I am doing the homesteading/farming/permaculture thing with my family as well.

Full upvote and following you now.

Thank you, We'll be following your journey as well.

I am a HUGE lover of arugula!!! Yours looks so healthy and delicious!
LOVED the update and blessings on your homestead journey!

Thanks @goldendawne. I always enjoy your postings.

@goldendawne
nice comment dear.. keep steemin hot... which area do you blog

Mostly gardening and herbs, some book reviews and on occasion whatever is on my mind for the day

Wow...I know you love my new post on breast milk

I love to hear success stories and stories of people starting off on their new life in homesteading. This has it all. Following and will be watching! Thanks and best wishes.

Thank you for your enthusiasm! Ill keep ya posted...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60