The funny life of a Creative Nihilist

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

So I have been around on Steemit for about three months now. Hence, this is more of what you'd call a late introduction. Initially, I didn't pay much attention to it because no one gives a fuck on other Social Media. But Steemit has proven to be different, time and again. Plus, I hit a 100 Followers on Steemit, even though about 30 of them seem to be Bots. So, without further ado, here is the life of @grimfangs AKA Somnath Roy, who is essentially a living oxymoron by choosing to live as a creative Nihilist.

Introduction


Hello Steemit! My name is Somnath Roy. I'm currently a 21-year-old Programmer who likes Martial Arts and Adventure. I am currently a student pursuing my Post Graduate Degree in Computer Science. I found my spiritual and philosophical ideas at quite an early age, and have been abiding by my moral code, or my Bushido for quite some time now. I've more of an Inclination towards an artistic approach to life, rather than cold statistical comparisons and data. Oh, and I also like to think. Did I mention that I'm also weird?

But what led me to the place where I am now? That is a good question. Let me share a few founding experiences of my journey with you. These experiences not only shaped what I do, but they also shaped the way I think and moulded me into what I am today.

Current Me
This is the most recent picture of me which I could find.

Birth of a Numbskull


Talking about things that shape one, we need to address the phenomenon which gave me shape. Without getting into the particulars of it, stuff happened between my mother and my father and nine months later, I popped out. Even though they never dropped me on my head as a child, I turned out to be quite the masochist and would, quite often, fall head first onto different stuff. A few of them were the floors. Others were the teakwood furniture which we owned. However, that led me to the first discovery which I made in my life! I am a Numbskull!

I don't know whether a toddler posses the concept of deriving pleasure from pain, but I seemed to pretty much enjoy getting hurt. Just to clarify, I have no recollection whether I got off from that. Anyhow, my childhood was pretty much riddled with instances of me putting my hands where they don't belong. I have often burned my hand on the stove, put them in boiling water, put them on a fire, and stuck my fingers into a wall socket three times in a row among other 'scientific' experiments. It's amazing that my hands are still fully functional and completely unscathed. Perhaps hands truly are man's best friends. Or perhaps that title belongs to Dogs. I'll let you figure that one out.

Warning Sign
This is ideally where I would be as a child. Image courtesy of Safety Sign

However, thinking back on all these 'experiments' which I conducted, I realised that I was by birth, a curious soul. My curiosity overpowered my fear most of the times, and they still do! I have recently tazed myself and sprayed Pepper Spray into my eyes just to see how that feels. For the record, they weren't painful, although they surely were uncomfortable. My curiosity in these cases led me to conclude that they were indeed viable weapons for self-defence. I did tell you that I was weird. Curious, or just a masochist? You decide. Even as a child, my curiosity was pretty strong. I was quite the Kleptomaniac, stealing keys from people's houses and giving my parents all sorts of trouble when they had to go back and return them.

As fate would have it, I was born a rebel. The doctors professed that I was underdeveloped, and would never be able to grow into a good physical stature. I'm 6'2" right now and I weigh 100 Kg, but I still can't find the doctor who told me about my prophecy.

A Dominating Lover


Ever had that time in your life when you like someone so much that you practically flip everything you are and conform to something else just to be with someone that you really like? I had that time in my life when I was four years old. In my defence, I wasn't all that wise yet. Not saying that I regret doing that, or changed myself back completely, but let's just say that things are the way they are.

So, the four-year-old boy has a crush on a 22-year-old beauty and does everything to impress her, including grooming and social manners, when he can't even eat without dropping half the food on the ground. Sounds like a recipe for disaster? Perhaps. But needless to say, this wasn't enough to get her attention. I had to step up my game. And so I did.

BDSM
Time to show her her place. Image courtesy of Buzzfeed

It was now time to unleash the demon. I tried playing nice, but she just wasn't interested. It was now time to force her into submission. Over the course of the next few dates, I used to command her to do things, and when she didn't, I would punish her by slapping her. it seemed to work, and I don't recall whether or not she enjoyed it. But, hey. Four years old me was getting what I wanted, and that was enough for me. I remember a scene from her wedding when she was sitting around with her friends and I ran up to her and sat on her lap. She pushed me off, and I didn't like one tiny bit. I expressed my displeasure to her by slapping her in the middle of the crowd, and walking away, leaving her crying her eyes out. A little cold, yes, but people need to know their place.

I scare myself when I think of it. Damn. Thankfully, I've grown more aware of the rights of others since then, and I've come quite a way in the cultivation of tolerance. Thankfully.

The Way of the Warrior


So this is one of the most major aspects of my personality. Martial Arts has been a key element in shaping who I am as a person and giving me a set of morals and principles to guide myself throughout life. It is a big part of who I am, and it isn't going anywhere anytime soon. Ironic how learning how to utilise and trade violence teaches a person about morals and humanity.

I used to have a broad diversity in my hobbies before I entered Martial Arts at the age of Eight. Not that I used to perform poorly in any of them; I was rather average in all of them. Neither was I utterly satisfied with what I was learning. However, all that changed, when one day my mom signed me up for some Karate classes. I was anxious at first, but finally decided to show up and the first class left me very excited. I wanted to learn more, and I dropped the rest of my hobbies and trained at home when I got the time to do so. I used to practice Shito Ryu Karate back then. I kept getting better and I earned my Green Belt after a year of training.

We soon had to move out of the city owing to my dad's job, and I kept picking up on different arts. I picked up a little bit of Boxing, a little bit of Wrestling, and a little bit of Judo before I finally settled for Taekwondo. After seven years of training in Taekwondo, I finally earned my First Degree Black Belt. I am currently a Second Degree Black Belt.

Post Fight Black Belt
Yours truly after winning the State Gold Medal.

I moved on to training MMA with Dutch Kickboxing, Wrestling, Boxing, and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu now. But my nine years in Taekwondo gave me something to think about and learn. I picked up on its philosophies and learned to control myself in a manner which I desired. It made me more morally conscious, and I finally understood how to proceed in life in my own way. Martial arts is a lifestyle and it certainly helped me forge mine thus far.

The five tenets of Taekwondo are:

  • Courtesy
  • Integrity
  • Perseverance
  • Self Control
  • Indomitable Spirit

And thus far, I can say that I have been living my life in these regards and upholding my standards and actions accordingly.

Perhaps, I do like pain after all. I just graduated to getting beat up by other guys and beating them up. You can check out my fight videos on YouTube.

An Alien in Human Skin


I have always been quite different from the very beginning. Being weird is one thing. Being different is another. I learned to think at quite an early age when I found myself contemplating the existence of God when I was five. I started thinking and thinking and it led me to oepn new horizons which my mind hadn't travelled to before. I kept being more and more open-minded when it came to things. I realised my political alignments when I was twelve, and started slowly and slowly entering the domain of the philosophies. If you read my posts or take a look at my feed, you'll find that it's riddled with abstracts. But that is not what makes me different.

What made me different is the fact that I had original choices, and did not accept or follow anything without thinking it through and figuring out what it stands for and considering the ramifications of it first. I spoke of things which most people did not bother to think about, and did things which people normally wouldn't do. People couldn't understand me, and people don't like what they don't understand. I've also been told that my eyes hold an intense aura to them. Add that to the fact that I know martial arts, and you've got people everywhere, afraid of me and hate me for no apparent sensible reason. Needless to say, making friends was rather difficult. I'm also an INFJ if you understand where this going.

NCC
Back when I tried out voluntary military training called NCC. My friend Bharath here alongside me.

The isolation and bullying led to me strengthen myself and be more reliant. It also made my literal thick skull, a metaphorical one. Until recently. Recently, I've found people worthy of trust with whom, life seems to be easier and more comfortable. But, more about that later.

I'd always been interested in doing things differently. I found myself more inclined to Metal when I first heard the band Disturbed. I'd always been fascinated with tattoos. I now have five of them. They have different meanings attached to them. I've been more of what you call, a free thinker. And it all began with the ability, or rather the tendency to think before acting, and forming opinions. Truth be told, I'm a judgemental fuck. But I don't form opinions true opinions about anything. They keep changing as soon as new evidence keeps showing, just the way that the world is actually never constant but ever-changing. Not only that, even my perspectives aren't fixed, and I hold the power to see things from another perspective as well as mine. It tends to be a really useful tool everywhere, be it warfare, or love.

Slipknot Tattoo
The Slipknot Tattoo which signifies how a human is merely an object to another.

It is only recently that I found people who were worth trust. These people are now in my close circle, but I have lived so long without any human relationships, that I am recently beginning understand how they work. In other words, I am an alien who is now being humanised by these very amazing life forms which I fell in love with. Typically, my dad has to move places once every three years, and I never got the chance to stay at one place and form my roots. That taught me to let the past be past, live in the present, and let the future play out as it will. However, these creatures are some of the most wonderful creatures I've met, and they make me want to not let go of the past and instead, let it continue on into the future. Is this what a relationship means? I don't know, for I have only recently started being a part of them.

Cliche Couple Picture
The woman who makes life a lot more pleasurable. Check out her account on Steemit at @apriltwelving.

Exploration is Food for The Soul


I had always been a curious child. And it would naturally follow, when you take into account all my travelling once every three years, that I'd be rather fascinated with travel, or perhaps, the adventure of sorts.

I had always been interested in exploring places I'd never been to before and experiencing new things. But I realised that experience when I went on a cycling trip for the first time. It was a difficult journey and not only the destination but the journey itself was so rewarding that I realised my inclination towards the love of journeys and adventures. I've been on countless other adventures besides that, and all of them very satisfying, whether they were successes or failures. You can read more of my travel stories on my blog, Adventure Urge. It is updated quite frequently, so feel free to revisit and check for more.

Bike Ride
Off Roading on a Motor Bike. Verification Link.

And that is how I started Blogging. Since A Web Log is used to store the occurrence of events, I figured, why not just start a blog with all the experiences I have, and reach out to people with them. When I reached Steemit, I saw the whole treasure trove of Ideas just floating around in thin air, and that made me realise this might be the place where I can share my different ideas, and reach out to people in order to connect with them.

As I sit here and take a look at myself, I can confirm that I have come a long way from where I began. However, I still am what I was when I was first born. Even though things may change with time, there are some things that never change, and those are the things that define what you are, and what you stand for. Nothing else matters, and nothing else should ever get in the way of them. They are your soul, and that is your spirituality. Protect it with all costs. My spirituality includes Originality, Curiosity, Perseverance, and a respect for all things in life. This is who I was, and this is who I am.

This is my story and this is how I came to be on Steemit. Thank you for taking the time to read this. Have a great day ahead!

If you want to connect with me on other social media:

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook
In case you wanna use this option, make sure to mention that you're from Steemit.

YouTube

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @grimfangs!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2818 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

The Vote For Your Awesome Post Has Just Arrived!


This post has been voted with the use of SteemiTag. Feel free to upvote this comment if you’d like to express your support for our cause. Conversely, if you don’t want to receive any more votes from SteemiTag, please respond to this comment by writing NOVOTES.

SteemiTag is an innovative program that helps users increase their gains in the curation rewards by voting on posts that are likely to get high payouts. It maximizes the chance of a user to be rewarded through an accurate selection algorithm that works 24/7 and eliminates "no rewards" problem for users with low Steem Power. You can participate in our program by clicking on this link and confirming your 100% SP delegation. Your rewards will be sent to you in the form of dividends. Please read this post should you decide to undelegate your SP (takes 7 days). Thank you and keep up with your great work!

WARNING! If you follow the instructions from @steemitag your account will become completely locked and unusable!

Please flag @steemitag and help move this account to a zero reputation! Or just use this link to send a smaller downvote.

The @steemitag bot is run by @haiyangdeperci who chose to disregard my warnings and continue manipulating the community. Please consider flagging @haiyangdeperci as well.

I do some karate too.

Really? Which style do you learn?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84