Hello Steemit! I'm gurudeva, and I guess this is customarysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

It seems like I'm almost obligated to do an introduction around here, like I'm not really a part of the community until I have- so this is it!

0U9A0415.JPG
photo by: Trever Precht

I'm Guru, short for gurudeva, pronounced goo-roo-day-vuh. Can you guess what my name is a reference to?

To be honest- I'm not normally comfortable talking about myself. I tend to avoid most social media except as a source of news, in general it kind of wierds me out and I find it pretty narcissistic. I know I'm in the minority there, and I'm glad social media exists.

Steemit on the other hand is a platform that interests me greatly. I recently woke up to cryptocurrency along with quite a few other people. The activity in the markets and promises of new tech on the horizon are super exciting. For the first time I feel like I have the ability to make worthwhile investments with small amounts of money. By providing the opportunity to create content and be compensated directly based on community feedback Steemit quickly grabbed my attention as not only one of the most promising new companies emergent in the cryptospace, but also as one of the best ways to generate crytocurrency without a warehouse full of ASIC miners.

I guess I'd describe myself as a video game junkie, burnout artist, musician, and drug addled wanderer.

I was born in San Diego, CA. I move around a lot, I get restless every few years any find myself in another state. I recently moved from Minnesota back to CA. MN was a wonderful state full of some amazing people.

I love video games, been playing them my whole life, starting with an NES. Lately I've been playing Final Fantasy XV and only partially enjoying it. I feel like for the most part great games are few and quite far in between. Some of my favorite games are Resident Evil 1-4, the FF series, Arma, StarCraft, Fallout 2, I could go on forever. I love all kinds of games, played a ton of WoW for many years. I think the most fun I've had gaming in the last decade was playing early DayZ mod for Arma 2, and I'm very much looking forward to the future of Star Citizen.
I do run a Twitch stream although it's pretty off and on. When I am in a streaming mood I stream quite often, all kinds of stuff. I'm thinking of streaming some day trading on Poloniex soon, and most likely some Star Citizen after the release of 3.0 next month.

I love music almost as much, sometimes more. I started playing in my early 20's and I'm fair to midland at quite a few instruments. I like to write and record original stuff, and then criticize it for years without showing anyone. Maybe I'll post some music sometime, but probably not. In terms of listening, my taste in music is about as eclectic as my taste in games. I like everything from the earliest lo fi folk recordings to modern gangster rap (actually I think these genres are fundamentally very similar) and all the stuff in between.

I studied music for a few years in college, majoring in theory, but I feel like it did more harm than good in terms of musical creativity. I also studied physics for about a year before ultimately dropping out. I've had tons of jobs: pizza delivery, courier, cook, waiter, sound guy, R&D analyst, UI designer, grocery bagger, weed delivery, bartender. My resume is a fucking disaster. I always find it real easy to get hired and become proficient at a new job fast, but I get bored even faster and things never stick too long. The best jobs I've had always end too soon for the lamest unforeseen reasons.

I also have an interest in photography and film making. I work with friends on video projects and write short films. Nothing substantial yet but I've put in some good work and hope to have something to share here on Steem in this regard in the near future.

I already feel like CTRL+A deleting this whole post and never looking back, so I think it's time to tag this up and hit POST before I change my mind.

I'm happy to be a part of Steemit as it grows, and I look forward to creating some good content for you all as I get my footing here. Check out my most recent article and thanks for taking the time to read all this crap!

Sort:  

Hello Guru, welcome to steemit community. Your home of excellent information. It might be difficult for you to cope with our system in the begining but when you are persistant you will succeed. Welcome once again..

I'm sure your advise will hold true, it seems like getting yourself out there and backing it with consistent quality content is the key around here. Thank you!

hey mister guru :-)
welcome to Steemit hope you're gonna have a lot of fun over here :-)

nice to meet you, looking forward to see you around

keep going, have fun and most of all... steem on

please have my friendly welcome upvote
@chrisx aka MelonMan ^^

Appreciate it, thank you!

Welcome to Steemit @gurudeva,
interesting - thanks for sharing !

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you :)

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

If you like to see a funny coconut photo, please have a look at my account, just posted some a nice one !

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & Cheers

thanks much :)

Sorry for late reply - i was very exhausted
The reason why, you will find in my new Post:

..How I made 1200 USD+ in my FIRST WEEK...

If you like my post, please RESTEEM !
Thanks for your reply ! Very appreciated !

Welcome! Do you have any relation to India??

Nope, but I get that a lot because of my name!

Haha, I would assume!

Welcome to Steem @gurudeva I have sent you a tip

I'll take it, robot.

For a hesitant intro it's very interesting. Welcome!

I appreciate that, thanks!

Welcome to Steemit! Played FF15 as well, best part in my opinion was the friendship between the four and some of the best punches to the gut were tied to that near the end. Sent you a follow if you wish to do the same, thanks and keep up the posts!

I enjoy the illusion of depth that they gave the world. For the first time it really feels like I'm exploring the worlds envisioned in Amano's classic FF concept art. I'm not enjoying the overall mediocrity of the new open world gameplay, or the pacing.

I was also at a bit of a disadvantage because I didn't watch Kingsglaive either so had to read up on some of the backstory. And the pacing was way off too, the most interesting parts were never really explored more. I would have loved to learn more about Ardyn and his story but I'm sure we'll get that in some paid DLC later :/

Yeah, I'm about 25 hours in and I feel like much of what made older FF games great has been excluded and saved for DLC. There's very little exposition outside of what your character does. Such a shame, I mean for fuck's sake, party members leaving to go off on their own, only to come back with zero explanation of what they did? Pretty sad to see the state of DLC holding games back in such a significant way.
At least I could load up my save and go fetch beans or someshit for a generic npc.

Haha are you referring to when Gladio went off for a while? Yea...I was like okay so no one is going to interject about where he is going and especially with such important things going on at that point. And agree once again, DLC is making game companies put out unfinished games or even withhold content and do day one DLC. It's no good for the industry. Thanks for the good convo sir, look forward to seeing more posts!

Same to you bud :)

Welcome @gurudeva ! Good to know that you have interest in photography and film making.. I have too. :-) I am a Brazilian journalist living in London. Have a look at my profile and if you like it follow me. Upvoted yours :-)

Thanks, will do!

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprised you on August 1 ;)

You got it bud, thanks!

Welcome to steemit community

Thank you, glad to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50