Why staying at home on weekend nights makes you special?

I wanna tell you a story. I always have been the kind of person who preferred to stay at home rather than go out, and I always felt like I was the only one who enjoyed doing so.

Going to different schools, different jobs, meeting new people and with the years passing by, I discovered that many people enjoyed to stay at home, but despite that, I still felt like a weirdo because, in my own social circle which always was outgoing, I was the only one who stayed at home on a Saturday night to read a book, play video games or to watch a good movie.

That’s the reason why my friends always told me that I was a very old man with a young body…

usar esta.png

One day, being a geek or nerd became something cool. Video games became a huge industry, reading books is now a sort of sophisticated hobby and have a Netflix account turns into a must…

Finally! I won't be the only one who liked those things anymore, I thought, everybody will prefer staying at home instead of going to exhaustive parties, right? Nope, it didn’t happen…

I still was the only one...

Even when my friends started to play video games, read books or watch Netflix, they used to do it during the free time on weekdays, they were always saving the weekend to guess what? Go to a crowded place, pay a ridiculous price to get in, pay for fucking expensive drinks, meet someone who they never will talk to again, drink until they don’t even remember what they did (usually peeing themselves or throwing up is the reference point for that) than putting themselves and others in danger while they took a risk of driving home drunk, and finally sleep (sleep I love swell I confess).

So then the other day they can text each other proudly saying: “WTF yesterday was the craziest night EVER!”

I don’t know about you, but I think -Uaaauu! What a waste of the word crazy…

Crap! Am I old? Or are they immature? Or both? I don’t know. Sometimes I think I should give it a try, seriously, I have been given too many excuses to refuse invitations that I run out of ideas, but then I remember that there are many other good ways to spend my time and precious (scarce) money, then paying to someone step with high heels on my foot (it happened once) and slide in someone's vomit on the restroom ground (it happened twice) or have a hangover that make me feel like a zombie (it happened many times) so I prefer to stay at my home sweet home…By the way, I wanna get a tattoo with that phrase, Am I exaggerating?

Let’s take a minute to think, how many things can you do to enjoy your weekend at home?

The possibilities are infinite. We can start by watching a good movie, it can be a new one or those classics that can make a recent movie look like shit, don’t forget the series, my gosh how many amazing series there are! Gaming, games have become the new form of art if you permit me, the stories are as good as the best movies, the realism is breathtaking and the challenge of the game itself is addictive, and don’t forget the delight of reading a good book, which is something that never gets old and you can accumulate a lot of knowledge which is better than a Lamborghini (Ok, old meme, got it, I’m sorry…) you see, I’m a weirdo.

And there is more, much more…

Nowadays with the internet, there are is an infinite range of tutorials and courses that you can learn a new cool hobby or improve some skills or even get new ones.

If you have someone to stay at home with you it would be nice to play chess, table tennis, foosball table…If you are alone, I don’t even know where to begin, you can learn to cook different or sophisticated meals, for example, learn how to make cakes and cookies, or you can learn a new language, chat on those sites and meet people from around the world, become a puzzle solver, you can maybe draw, paint, write if you have a more artistic personality, damn, learn how to make origami…

My gosh! You can even exercise! The list is infinite, I challenge you to take a minute after reading this post, and do a little research, how many cool things are there to try? I wish I had time to try all of them…

We have all kind of possibilities by staying at home!

So, with all those very fun and cheap things above which can be done alone, with a group of friends or someone special that you might have, why would someone go out and spend a lot just to say "yesterday was crazy”. Yes, it was crazy, it IS crazy because it doesn't make any sense to me.

Am I the only one?

I have no problem of being alone at home at all, but I just wanna meet and connect with people like me, feel that I am a part of a group of people. So I started looking for a youtube channel or blog related to this “Staying at home lifestyle” and I ended up finding nothing, NOTHING!!!

But I knew that there were people like me, so I started digging into those chat sites on a Saturday night and I asked some people (those who didn’t ask to see my dick) if there was a blog or something like related to that…They said there wasn’t, they never saw something like that at least, and many others told me “Man, I wish there was because I can relate to exactly what you are talking about”.

What were those people feeling that they could connect with me?

When I told them, that everything is an excuse for a “lifestyle" like going to gym and work out is considered a lifestyle, being in a very specific diet is a lifestyle, listening to a determined kind of music is a lifestyle, having a business is a lifestyle, traveling is a lifestyle, riding a motorcycle is a lifestyle, going out and drinking a lot is a lifestyle…I think that in the near future just saying the word lifestyle will become a fucking “lifestyle".

But guess what no one considers to be a kind of lifestyle?

Yep. Staying at home. We always were seen as the wrong ones…people who go out are living life and we, who prefer to stay at home, are the weird ones, we are not living life, we are wasting time, we are old, we are boring, they even have the audacity of calling us lazy!

Wait, what? Just because I don’t like to spend my time smelling other peoples’ sweat and paying for that, doesn’t mean I am lazy alright, shut up…(feel free to use that one, it's little aggressive but it’s funny to see your friends reaction!)

So, after failing in my research to find a blog related to that topic, I decided to start one of my own.

I don’t know if you faced some of these sentences that people who prefer to stay at home on weekends have faced many times, but if you had, I wanna give you a warm welcome! Yes, we are a kind! And it is time to spread the word that staying in, is the new cool lifestyle!

If you also like to stay at home and do your things, instead of going to an uncomfortable place to feel like a fish out of water, welcome to this blog! Feel free to join me and together we can show to the world that we have the coolest lifestyle ever!

And don’t forget! We, the ones who prefer to stay at home are on the right human path to evolution since humans put so much effort into improving homes to obviously staying in, or what? We improve our homes just to sleep in it? It doesn’t make any sense. It would be a waste not having a good time in your home sweet home!

Thanks for the company my Steemit friend, see you on the next post.

Stay cozy, Jonatan.

Sort:  

Hello gutzjonatan! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

@gutzjonatan, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Thanks! I am very happy to be here!

Hello, i also had those problems on my youth. But After understanding myself through MBTI the frustrations and guilt has ceased. I know theres a lot of misconceptions about us but if we dont know how to say to others why and how we are all different we will almost always loose, Not just on the argument but on our own self.

Yes, I agree...

You are welcome to steem community keep posting and enjoy this wonderful community..

Thanks! Very happy to be here!


Welcome to Steem @gutzjonatan.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @gutzjonatan!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3162 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.18.2 : Post and Support.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71