#introduceyourself Hello Steemit

Hello fellow steemians, this being my first post I thought I should introduce myself and talk a little about the content I plan to upload. My name is Huw and I live with my beautiful family in the equally beautiful rural and rainy mid Wales.

I suppose my main interests lie broadly in sustainability and self sufficiency, I love the idea of having the knowledge to be able to produce most of what is needed for life from the basic raw materials from scratch, learning new skills and methods along the way and a lot of trial and error. I am constantly fascinated by nature and it’s great efficiency and connectivity and try to channel that in my projects.

We have recently moved and after several years trying to squeeze as much out of a small, steep and stony town garden we now have a whole acre to play with. A lot of the hard work we put in in our old garden was lost, either because we were not physically able to bring some plants with us, they died along the way or were mistaken for rubbish when we were setting up at our new property and taken away by some over eager bin men! But with our glass half full view on the situation it provides an opportunity for a fresh start and a rethink of our goals.

At the moment we have a few happy chickens and three very noisy ducks who have the run of the whole acre and we plan to increase our poultry flock over the course of this year. I am also a very keen beekeeper and we have 4 colonies of honeybees holding on at the end of a very wet Welsh winter and waiting eagerly for spring to bring its many colourful blooms and hopefully some better weather. We plan to dedicate a large part of our land to the production of fruit, vegetables, salads and herbs as well as a range of native wildflowers to bring in a wide range of insects and wildlife as well as providing a delicious meal for our bees.

All of these plans and projects will form the bulk of the material that I plan to post about as well as some other related interests such as cooking, and craft. I am very much new to a lot of this so I will be learning as I go and I hope you will enjoy watching the process and progress. I am always open to hints and advice so please pitch in with any information you think may be helpful and I can test things out to see what works best.

I would like to post a video soon showing the land as it is now and outlining our plans and how we hope to achieve them.

Thanks for reading and showing interest in our projects, if you like the sound of what you have read please follow me to keep up to date on the latest updates.

Sort:  

Welcome! I look forward to your future posts. I love to see what others are doing when it comes to self sufficiency. My husband and I have a small lot of only .3 acre to do our own micro homesteading on. We are dreaming of more land. So excited for you. Can’t wait to see where you go with it.

Thanks for your comment, we are really lucky to have what we have. Hope you follow to see how it works out.

Welcome to Steemit! Awesome pictures! I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube, Dsound, and DLive as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Hey @captainbob, glad you like the pictures and thanks for the tips, I will be checking them out, particularly as I plan to post video content. I will be checking your blog out for sure!

Welcome! We have been here just under a month and have found the homesteaders community so welcoming. It looks like we have a lot of things in common and I look forward to your future posts!!!

Thanks for your kind words, there is some really interesting stuff on here, including your own content 😀. I hope to keep you up to date with our work.

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit @h-perkins :) !

Thanks @cryptocariad (love the name!), feels great to be here.

Lots of us in garden category. Support. @keyss

Welcome to Steemit h-perkins, very nice to meet you! Everyone is very helpful here. Enjoy your journey! My name is Gail

Hi Gail, nice to meet you too! Steemit looks like a lot of fun and everyone seems really nice.

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Welcome! Those are really nice photos. Will be watching for future posts.

Thanks @goldenoakfarm, hope to keep you updated on any progress.

welcome to steemit where all the interesting writing will be get the rewads

Thanks @lopezdacruz, interesting writing is the aim of the game, hope you can continue to follow my content, I will be checking out yours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71