Hello! I am John and I want to teach the Steemit community about the importance of holding your own private keys and the use of hardware wallets.

Hello everyone! I have seen that there is a big crypto community on Steemit, and I think I can play an important role by educating people about holding the private keys in a proper way to prevent theft, lost or confiscation and enhance privacy. I think too many people (especially newbies) are still storing their coins on exchanges, while the ability to own your own money is one of the biggest features of crypto!

hello steemit.jpg
HELLO STEEMIT!

KEEP YOUR OWN KEYS!!

Bitcoin is the first money owned by the people, so people: Own it!

It takes some education to learn how to store your cryptocurrency securely and without a 3rd party involved, but once you learned it you can benefit all the privileges that Bitcoin is designed to give you. Exchanges are actually crypto banks, so when you store your crypto’s on an exchange it is not different than holding your money in a bank, and Bitcoin was created to circumvent the banks. See below the difference between an Exchange VS Storing your own keys:

1: KYC and AML VS Private
2: Can be frozen VS Always ready to use
3: Counterparty risk VS Own responsibility
4: Giant centralised honeypot VS Spread out small amounts

Who can explain it better than Andreas Antonopolus?

A hardware wallet is the easiest way to keep your own keys properly

There are many ways to keep your own keys like an hot wallet, paper wallet, brain wallet and of course a hardware wallet. Generally said: The easiest way to do it is often not secure and the most secure way is often not easy. With a hardware wallet you will get the best of both, it is almost as secure as a paper wallet and as easy as a hot wallet. The only downside is that you have to invest some money.

own bank.jpg

With Bitcoin you can be your own bank, but you have to do it properly.

I use hardware wallets myself

I am a very happy user of hardware wallets, I use the Trezor and Ledger Nano S as well. The Trezor I use for my long term holdings (BTC and LTC) and the Ledger for daily payments and short term alt coin trades. When I want to trade between two coins I normally use Shapeshift so that I don’t need to sign up, deposit and withdrawal etc., when Shapeshift doesn’t support a certain coin the use of an exchange is unavoidable, but I only use it where it is designed to use for: To exchange!

Why Steemit

I think Steemit is a perfect platform for me, it is growing fast, doing amazing things and everyone loves cryptocurrencies. I also like the fact that I can send my earnings directly to my hardware wallet through Blocktrades, no fiat service will be involved. I hope I can add something to this amazing platform, and I am sure this platform can add something for me!

thank you.png

Sort:  

welcome to the huge comiunity . i hope you can improve yourself at it with your original works . thanks

You received a 20.57% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @guidesteemit!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.
Delegate to Bot and Get High Return Fix 100% earning return,
bidders will always win something and it will adapt to distribute all the 100% upvote ,now we reached to 20000 SP and recommend. send the 0.15 to 0.4 sbd or steem.
Banner-Bid-Bot-Steemit--Grande-3.png

Thank you for this very helpful post @hardwarewallet! Warm welcome to Steeemit :) We at @cryptaldash are looking forward to read more content from you.

Thank you very much!

Welcome to Steemit, hardwarewallet! I wish you a very joyful journey here in this culturally diversified yet mostly unified community :) May the force be with you ;)

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thanks for the links!

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Thank you very much! Will try to get as much as possible content out here.

Welcome to the community. By hard wallet, are you talking about something like Coinbase that is directly tied to my fiat source?

Thank you! No, the main subject will be how to store cryptocurrencies when it is in the ecosystem without being dependent on the fiat system.

Ok, looking forward to following you. I have about 60 BitShares (BTS) in BlockTrades but I can't convert BTS to anything. Do you know anything about Steem, SBD, SP, and BlockTrades? What's different about BTS...I've been able to make other exchanges. Thanks!

HIya! Thank you for your post and welcome :-) I am also new here. Following you.

Thank you! I hope you like my content. Welcome here too if you are also new.

Welcome to Steem, @hardwarewallet!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2768 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.


Welcome to Steemit @hardwarewallet!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot

@hardwarewallet, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Hi! I am your greating bot. 🤗
I warmly welcome you to Steemit!
I just upvoted you based on the quality of your introduction.
I wish you a lot of fun and success on Steemit!
Keep on writing nice posts and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news coverage round the clock!
You can also upvote this comment if you enjoy it! 🦄🦄🦄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98