Dragons, Math, and Writing- WHY am I like this? Well, here.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody! I'm itching to post already, but I figured that it might be a better idea to introduce myself and give a face to my content. A little bit of personality and a miniature step into my world outside of what you'll be finding on my blog. So, here we go. 


I guess that I've dabbled in more than a few categories throughout my life so far. Until 8th grade I was having my mom scoot me around between track, volleyball, and soccer practice. All in one night. Somewhere during that time I was pumping out art for these different art shows at the community college, and during those moments of creativity I thought to myself, this isn't good enough. I want to say more... Once I hit high school, I was well aware of my fascination with science. I obsessed over NASA and I read anything that was remotely related. And I discovered this liiittle game called Dungeons and Dragons. I went from sport-obsessed to hopeless nerd in a span of 2 or 3 years. But all of my life, there was a passion that I kept well hidden from myself for fear of embarrassment and failure. 

But one day I decided to give in to that need for expression. 

So I wrote.

And I didn't stop. 


Today I'm a full-time university student, studying Aerospace Engineering. I've known since I was little that this is the path that I wanted to pave for myself. I wanted to go to college to play soccer and get into engineering. 

My soccer career was stolen from me when I tore my ACL mid-game during May of 2014. I've done that twice by now, and to avoid another surgery I've given up sports. So guess what happened after that? 

Brace yourself. 

I was bored. 

But I was quick to realize how much writing I had stored away, shoved into a little file on my computer and sworn to never be seen by mankind again. Some of it's laughable, and some of it has potential to be something more. So here I am, taking a step out of my comfort zone and hoping to share some polished stories to a mass of strangers. Oh god, help me.


Along with my math and engineering courses, I'm taking part in 2 writing ones(F/NF), in the midst of completing a creative writing minor- because why not? I've got time. I've got time for my stupid obsession with dragons, and time to watch Critical Role, and time to play in my own D&D games, and time to write. Because I don't know what to do with myself when I have spare time. 

What should you expect to be seeing from me? 

  • Plan on a few casual resteems having to do with something in the science/engineering world. 
  • You'll more than likely find a few posts of pretty skies (I have a folder with like 100+ photos- not sorry).
  • But mostly, I'll be sharing old stories and new, fiction and nonfiction. I might word-vomit here and there or throw up a freewrite that I had to crank out for one of my writing classes. I have to write four 10-15 page short stories throughout this semester, too. I'll most likely spit up some chunks of those. 


I'm all about constructive criticism! Please, tag along and let me know what I can do to make my creations something better. Or do you love it as it is? Let me know. I appreciate every word. 

Enjoy, 

Hales

Lake Erie 

Ferris Wheel - Cedar Point

Christmas Mountain - Wisconsin Dells

Sort:  

Extremely well written introduction. Something about the way you've written it makes for easy, fun reading. Simply put, bloody good effort!

Im sorry to hear you had to give up sports, i give up professional archery due to the situation in my country, i feel you there

I really want to see you posting about science, and your opinion about the scientific world of today

Welcome :)

Thanks! Definitely noted. I'm sorry about archery, it's so hard to give up something you love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75