An engineer and his bad jokes...

Hi there,

I want to begin by saying that this is not me...
profile.jpg

It's just a picture of me (badum, tss!).

After signing up for a steemit account a few weeks ago, I finally decided to write my first post. Partially because I couldn't decide what to write and because I wanted to finish a software project I was working on for someone else... what I first estimated will take a few weeks to complete ended up taking 7 months, but I digress.

You probably want to know a little about me

As you can probably deduce, I write Software for a living - aka Software Developer, aka Programmer, aka Nerd!! (Also my wife @luze mentioned that in her introduction a few days ago). The picture above was taken at a beach close to where we live in the Northern Suburbs of Cape Town.

I enjoy pretty much anything that has something to do with technology. Which is why I studied Engineering and why I code for a living (and for fun sometimes). I don't remember a time growing up that we didn't have a Computer in the house (yet oddly enough I had very limited internet access until I went to University).

I also like building things. It probably originated from watching my grandfather working in his garage while growing up. We lived pretty far away, but made a point to visit every year. And he was always making something. These days I don't really get to make stuff with my hands all that much. I usually blame the small apartment we live in, or the fact that I'm too busy working on my software projects (or other people's software projects). It might be that I've just lost some motivation. The 3D printer kit I took a year to put together and that still doesn't work properly might have something to do with that. It's one of those very old-school style reprap machines:
ecksbot-za-37-diy-reprap-kit.jpg





I've gone on a tangent again, haven't I...
Anyway...

Why am I here, what am I planning to do/write about on steemit

What I am hoping to do is get into making things again. I have some ideas which I will go over in future posts, but what I'm hoping for is that I get to discuss the projects that I'm working on. If all goes well, there may be a few people interested in what I have to say.

Just to wet your appetite a bit, here is a list of some of the type of projects I want to start getting into:

Coding/Software projects

This shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone reading this. If it does then....
FacepalmEmoji.jpg

Hobby Robotics

Because robots are awesome and I've daydreamed about building them since I was a kid.

Miscellaneous (I always have to use spellcheck on this word)
  • Making my own tools
  • Woodworking
  • Electronics
  • ...

And anything else I can think of.

Well, it was nice meeting y'all. Hope to type to you again soon.

Sort:  

Post a good post is not easy but this one I liked, continue doing good post.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Hello @hendrikcrause ! I'm glad to welcome you on SteemIt!
I follow to you and UpVote to you!
I wish you happiness! Respect!

Hello @hendrikcrause! Welcome to warm and welcoming Steemit community. Please feel yourself at home here. Upvoted and followed!

Hahaha , I see you are really doing great , keep it up

Welcome to Steem @hendrikcrause I have upvoted and sent you a tip

glad to see you Hendrikcrause I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Congratulations!

Nice! Your account seems new so welcome aboard. Here's an upvote from me and keep on doing you!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to recieve votes so you should try out Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Welcome to this platform. We wish a lot of things that you want here. I am Reza from Aceh, Sumatra wants to meet you. Please follow me on @elhakimi and I will give the vote to you. Thank you..

Welcome to Steemit @hendrikcrause, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70979.31
ETH 3711.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79